Ratings based on 475 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from englewood, NJ

Close to pretty much everything in Rome

Posted May 27, 2017
I'd go back. Close to pretty much everything in Rome but not too noisy. All staff and the maid as well were very pleasant. Clean. Not overpriced. If there was a small balcony off our room or even somewhere outside to sit it would have been perfect. And they should redo the breakfast room! It's plain and they could make it so cute. Only thing I'd change, we didn't eat there much, not much variety. It was quiet and small. But like I said, I'd go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Small, central and perfectly priced

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: Location, cleanliness, polite friendly staff, comfortable, affordable, central accommodation
Cons: The shower shifts temperature while you're using it, but it wasn't a problem. The fridge needed a wee clean, but again, nothing major.
We stayed in Hotel Sonya for three nights while attending our friends' wedding in Rome. The lobby is lovely, the building and stairway are grand, and the rooms are wonderfully clean, comfortable, central and made for a perfect base. Yes the double room was small, but that wasn't a problem at all. All we needed was a clean, comfortable bed, a decent shower and a pleasant base, all of which were provided. We only grabbed a coffee and didn't eat breakfast while at Hotel Sonya as we had other commitments, but the breakfast room was pleasant, bright and clean, and the staff efficient and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel - Close to Metro!

Posted Apr 13, 2017
TV stations stink but overall it was clean, quite and clean!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bumped to another hotel

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: When a reservation is made, it should be honoured and if can't be accommodated, clients are to be notified, in advance, and offer to rebook or cancel
This is 2nd time to try to stay at Hotel Sonya, but both times we have been bumped to another hotel down the street. Unfortunately, I can't recommend this hotel to any one, for that reason. It's not likely I would reserve again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth Australia

Good hotel close to everything.

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: The staff were very helpful and spoke great English, very informative when we asked information or directions.
Cons: Brighter lights at bed side. Very hard to read maps or book. Also tissues in bathroom would not go astray. Has cup and saucer and kettle but no coffee
Just booked out. Hotel was nice - comfortable clean beds, bathroom small but had everything you need and room was very quiet. Like many small hotels in Italy just a sign at doorway giving name. The hotel is not modern but this is Italy most things are old. We just slept and showered. Breakfast was included in our booking which was very nice topical European breakfast - bread rolls, cold meats, cheese, boiled eggs, pastries, cereals and yoghurt. They do great coffee. Hotel is about a 5 mimutes walk to the trains and buses and hop on hop off busses. Good eating places around. Walked everywhere so ideal for us.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Good location

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Booked hotel sonia and put in hotel opera. Breakfast lady very friendly. Reception not. Food ar breakfast good. Location very good and room quiet. Comfortable bed. Very small bathroom but good shower.All very clean apart from carpet. Disappointed no tea or coffee supplied with the kettle. Overall good. Would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G

Clean and centrally located

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Very helpful and pleasant staff. Rooms clean, pleasant and practical. Lovely Continental breakfast with a wide variety.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rotherham

Small, clean hotel. Perfect location.

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Breakfast. Staff. Clean, modern rooms. Location ideal for exploring Rome on foot.
Cons: The hotel lift is in need of modernisation or adapatation so it can carry more people.
Location: Ideal for exploring central Rome on foot. Several high quality restaurants nearby. Opposite th Opera House.
If you want luxury facilities with pool, gym, restaurant and bar etc, do not book this hotel. This hotel is a small, no frills three star facility that serves as an ideal base for exploring Rome in clean, comfortable rooms that have had a recent modernisation. However, the breakfast could rival any five star hotel for quality. OK, the variety of food on offer is less, however the quality is excellent and the hotel staff are very friendly and willing to help. Sometimes smaller is better. My only criticism is the hotel lift. It looks like an original lift from the 1920s and has a maximum load of three adults, minus luggage. This meant that I had to walk up five flights of stairs on our arrival. However this is nit picking and, if I ever return to Rome, I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
by Robert

well worth staying here

Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastic hotel breakfast was excellent so much choice. The rooms are large spacious and very clean and a very comfy bed. The shower was huge. Central location would use again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto, canada

Would definitely go back

Posted Feb 8, 2017
This hotel is rated a three star....but more importantly....the staff was extremely nice and friendly. Answered all questions...gave suggestions of what to do and where to go...love all the advice!! The hotel was VERY clean and well kept and they provide a breakfast as well!!! Great location....walking distance to shops, restaurants and the bus/train terminal. The price was the lowest around I've seen. Glad I didn't waste more money on a four or five star hotel. Thank you Hotel Sonya