Ratings based on 779 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel in a great location

Posted Aug 19, 2015
What a wonderful surprise! Such a lovely hotel close to the Spanish Steps, Borghese Gardens and Via Veneto. The staff was very helpful and the room was comfortable and roomy. Very ornate decor makes you feel like you are in an old Italian manor. I would definitely book this hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Luxurious hotel with Stunning Views

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Pros: The luxurious feel of this hotel, makes me wish I was back there.
Location: The hotel is fantastic, it has beautiful views & is in a very calm and tranquil location. It's about a 5 minutes walk to the top of the Spanish Steps
The Hotel Splendide Royal was so much more than I was expecting. The room was so beautiful and spacious with beautiful decor. I loved getting back to the room after a long day of exploring and getting into the huge, comfy bed. The dressing gown and slippers were a nice touch as well which were laid out during the turn down service. The staff were so friendly and were always on hand to help. We booked a table at the restaurant and asked for a table on the balcony to watch the sunset, we were told that they only had room inside the restaurant but on arrival we were seated on the balcony and had such fantastic views. We had such a wonderful time and wish we were back there!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Suite with terrace

Posted Aug 12, 2015
Pros: Not a lot
Cons: Needs painting, washing and painting of the terraces and nit to promote a suite with a terrace
Location: Location was very good
We stayed in this hotel for 1 night as a surprise wedding anniversary and requested a full size suite with a terrace with a view. Unfortunately the terrace did not have a view just terrible backs of restaurants along with all black on the wall and the exhaust from I think the restaurant so there was also a smell. As well as thus the room was definitely not a full size suite it defiantly was a junior and as a 5 star hotel it is very dated and needs painting. Along with the lift breaking down twice and being stuck in it with my wife having a panic attack I certainly would not recommend this hotel for £400. I did address these issues to the management and Expedia by email but I still gave nit gad a response.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a good hotel

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: The doorman and the waiter in the restaurant.
Cons: The hotel needs a massive facilities re-build to stay competitive. It's time to invest to fix the problems.
Location: Villa Borghese and the park are great but it should be said we discovered this on our own. Hotel really promotes a mass tour agenda...very tacky.
The difficult thing to capture when writing a review is to reflect that there is always some good even when there is a lot of bad. The doorman was great, the waiter and manager in the restaurant were great. The rest....horrendous. The water leaks (yes plural), the middle of the night plumbing projects, the elevators that broke multiple times during our stay, the v. poor concierge recommendations make this hotel one to avoid. This is one of those hotels that has a five star rank based on....who knows what... but really should be listed as a three star hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel with ideal location

Posted Aug 9, 2015
The hotel was very nice but not to the 5 star standard. Need more facilities in the hotel. Great location within walking distance to Spanish steps and other major attractions. staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was cleaned twice a day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from a

Niec hotel

Posted Aug 8, 2015
I love it, great place , I will come back, thank you expidia
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent service and location

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Staff were very accommodating throughout and amongst the best we've encountered whilst the location is ideal
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Beautiful Hotel but no normal facilities

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Pros: Staff and general decor.
Cons: The items listed in above.
Location: Location opposite a large park. Walking difficult due to terrible state of pavements. Hills not appropriate for those over 70 even if fairly fit.
No food or beverage facilities other than a Michelin Star restaurant which was good but not for every day use. No room tea or coffee facility. No bar facility other than a mini bar in room. Only one comfortable chair in room. No pool or Spa facility other than in sister hotel which took over 30 minutes to walk to and required a two page A4 questionnaire to be completed before even a cursory inspection was allowed. Staff were excellent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from MI

good location

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: Location and
Cons: the Staff Attitude and to have access to the outdoor swimming pool and grant free transportation to it
Location: Spanish steps, most relevant historical sites
swimming pool is 15 minutes walking from the hotel and not always available for use
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful stay!

Posted Jul 28, 2015
We stayed 2 nights. Staff were excellent. Room was great but a bit dated. Restaurant was amazing. I'd stay here again.