Ratings based on 635 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alaska

Nice birthday surprise :)

Posted Jan 11, 2017
We were upgraded to a Jr Suite for my birthday... it was amazing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Think hotel Budapest Rome style!

Posted Jan 8, 2017
The staff were lovely and gracious, made us feel incredibly welcome and we're always warm and accommodating. The décor was classic Italian, stylish bold but tasteful. The hotel is a short walk from the Trevi fountain and is right next to the biggest central park in Rome. This means the views from the roof terrace and dining areas are exceptional. We were given free access to the spa and baths at the hotel's sister hotel, which is just a short walk through the beautiful park. All in all a lovely stay and would definitely recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Brilliantly situated - Highly recommended

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing
Location: Brilliant location, very close to Spanish Steps and about 20 minutes taxi ride from both the Vatican and Coliseum. (Take Roma City taxis only)
A warm welcome, lovely traditional hotel, excellent restaurant with wonderful views and exquisite food. (This is a Michelin Starred restaurant, so quite pricey, but well worth every Euro!) Staff were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble - we will definitely use this as a base again. Cannot praise enough!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location and great service

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: Location, breakfast & service
We had a great experience. The hotel location and facilities are outstanding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York,

Nice hotel centrally located.

Posted Dec 12, 2016
I enjoyed staying at this boutique hotel very much. The location is great, the staff are excellent and the room I had (a superior room) was very comfortable and had the standard suite of amenities required. The breakfast, which I purchased with the room, was very well done. It's a fancy sort of place and treats guest well. I definitely recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boulder, Colorado

Great hotel near Spanish Steps

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Pros: See above.
Cons: No major complaints
Location: See above
The Splendide staff and hotel made our stay in Rome an outstanding one. I would say the three top things about the hotel were the location, the comfortable beds and the great restaurant (both for breakfast and dinner). The location was directly across the street from the Borghese Gardens and it was also a short walk from the Spanish steps. We walked all over Rome with this as our base. If you don't choose to walk, most venues are a short cab ride away. Although we did not have a view from our room, the view from the restaurant provided a spectacular view of the city skyline. The rooms were large and although the ornate baroque decor took some getting used to, it was fine overall. The bathroom was large and shower was modern and the water pressure great (which sometimes can be is a problem at older hotels). The staff was very helpful and friendly throughout our stay. It was a very memorable trip and the Splendide was a big part of it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Great hotel. Close to all major places of interest

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Free breakfast buffet was the best I have ever seen. Food excellent but very pricey. $50 room service hamburger was a surprise. Service was very friendly and all spoke English. Great views from breakfast on 6th floor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

A nice small high quality hotel

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Their breakfast in the morning, their very attentive staff, their lobby
Cons: The WiFi was a challenge from time to time. For a five star hotel, it was a little disappointed that I had to go to the Lobby to get connected.
Location: Great restaurants all around the hotel, a nice walk to the Colosseum (we are good walkers) but a taxi will get you there as well.
This is a five star hotel with five star service. This means that when you arrive by taxi (strongly recommended if you come from Fiumicino ... 50 Euros for the cab), staff will make sure everything will go well. They will pick up your luggage and they will find their way to your room. Their basic room is fairly small comparing to American standard but nicely decorated. Their bathroom is NOT your typical italian bathroom (large, well lit, etc.). Two services a day (expected in five star hotel). Breakfast is included (and if you have to pay for it, PAY for it), the view of their breakfast room is as great as the food served. A wide variety of items from hot to cold. You'll get the traditional eggs, ham/bacon, sausage, but you will also find smoked salmon, Prosecco and many other things more or less Italian. I also recommend their Cappuccino and double espresso... The location is perfect to walk anywhere, you don't need to buy a public transportation pass unless you don't like to walk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Beautiful old world charm.

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Beautiful hotel with old world charm. Walking distance to almost all the sites, shopping and restaurants. Yet tucked on a quiet street. Hotel staff was very attentive and helpful. And the restaurant attached to hotel was wonderful. The view from restaurant terrace was unparalleled.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reigate

Delightful weekend break

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Location: Fab location, right by the Spanish steps, Villa Borghese, easily walkable to the main centre and ten minutes taxi to Coliseum and Vatican.
Great staff, really helpful with where to eat, organising taxis, also a light switch failed and was mended super quickly. Wonderful breakfast and drinks at the Mirabelle bar with the splendid view just delightful. Thank you for a great stay.