Ratings based on 451 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Very informative and helpful staff. Perfect location to explore Rome. Breakfast was very good with lots of options for both Europeans and North Americans.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

2 Last Days in Italy

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: Staff are pleasant but usually only one person available at the desk and one more for breakfast hours.
Cons: Annex needs to be published to warn visitors that if they can't do stairs, they shouldn't book. WiFi needed. Staff need to help visitors into here!
Location: Location is close to great shopping, a local market and historical sites within walking distance!
We were not even located in the hotel but in rooms around the corner on the top floor with no elevator. Having heavy bags, thankfully, the desk receptionist helped us with them. It was a struggle with locked doors in different sections and narrow stairs winding stairs. Some people would never have managed all these stairs and we were not even asked when booking if this was okay! They call these rooms which is full of private apartments, the ANNEX and there are no signs indicating this on the outside. Met a couple checking in at night, who were sent out to find their room in the Annex who we met helped by showing them the way! Found out that WiFi was not available in the Annex and only in the main hotel and it didn't work most of the time at the hotel either. When traveling, this is getting to be the standard for us and we depend on it. Our room did not have any typed information about the WiFi, checkout, breakfast hours, bar hours and the Reception phone no. It meant going up and down stairs every time we had a question. This was frustrating as well. The lounge is tired looking but adequate and the location is great for getting around. Breakfast was included and simple. Special coffees or tea were offered.I asked if they had an iron and none were available.Our room was spacious and the bathroom small but adequate. After 5 weeks in Italy, this hotel was rather a disappointing finale but we still love Italy!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fine hotel in the heart of Rome

Posted Mar 4, 2017 on Hotels
The best thing with this hotel is its location! It is just some minutes away from all the main sights in Rome. The staff of the hotel are very nice and friendly. The breakfast was all right. We stayed in the annex building that does not have WiFi, which is a drawback.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

a wonderful part of busy Rome

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
A great stay in the Hotel Teatro di Pompeo, which actually has some of the remains of the theater in its basement/grotto breakfast area. Loved staying here. The fellow at the front desk was great, welcoming and helpful. The room was wonderful and the shower heavenly. For being right off Vittorio Emanuele, not far from the Torre Argentina, it's a wonderfully quiet area that sports that backstreet Rome feel; great little streets with independent bookshops, boutiques, restaurants and bars. Can't wait to go back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, great room!

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
We chose this hotel for it's location in Rome, walking distance to many sights (Pantheon,Forum, Colisseum, Trastevere neighborhood, etc.) and it was perfect! Very helpful staff. Breakfast was awesome. Loved that we could get a drink in the lobby. Room was super comfortable (great bed!) and cute. Nice street view but very quiet. Bathroom was clean and well-appointed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet hotel in a very cconvenient location

Posted Nov 12, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was situated in a quiet area, yet was very near to the Campo di Fiori and to good bus routes. There were two good restaurants a couple of minutes away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Silver Spring, MD

Location, location, location!

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Location: Campo di Fiori, Piazza Farnese, the Pantheon, Piazza Navona, Piazza Argentino are a short walk. Also near the Forum, Coliseum, and the Trevi Fountain
The major selling point of the hotel is the location. It is an easy walk to most of the major sites in Rome Centro and a longer walk or short bus ride to the Vatican. Our room (for the Expedia rate) was on the ground floor and, therefore, perhaps noisier than the standard room when other guests were checking in or out. While not a luxurious room, we had plenty of room to move around easily. The staff is extremely accommodating and will make dinner and other reservations for you. The hotel is a bargain given the location. And what fun every morning to walk downstairs and have breakfast in the ruins of the Teatro di Pompeo. The Campo di Fiori is literally around the corner. While it is very touristy, take any of the side streets and one can find terrific restaurants.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

a superb breakfast buffet with everything desired

Posted Sep 23, 2016 on Hotels
as well travelled seniors we have found this hotel absolutely superb in all categories necessary to our well being and comfort.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Room was spacious and clean but nothing great. The wi-fi barely worked our entire stay. The last night we were there they were supposed to have someone come fix the internet but it didn't happen. Wasn't the worst hotel experience I've ever had, but definitely wouldn't stay there again or recommend to friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice quiet hotel located close to sites

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: size of rooms, location, breakfast
Location: The hotel is located close to Campo dei Fiori, a bustling square with a popular market. The location is within walking distance of most major sites.
Stayed here in July and had a great experience. Rooms are large, hotel is quiet and conveniently located, and breakfast was delicious. Would stay here again.