Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was a terrible experience. A nightmare!!!.

Posted Oct 20, 2014 on Hotels
It was a terrible experience. A nightmare!!!. There is party place just in-front of the hotel. There was loud music from that place until 3 am. I left the hotel after first night of stay (although i paid for 2 nights). There was no person in reception after 10 PM. Horrible experience..I am happy that I left it after first night.
5 out of 5
by Gary from Auburn, NY

Over and beyond...

Posted Apr 18, 2014 on Hotels
The airline had lost our luggage and the caretakers were very helpful in getting our belongings back. Beautiful scenic surroundings easily accessible to Rome. A bus stops in front of the hotel and brings you very close to train which is unbelievable since hotel is so isolated. It's a little hard to find so have GPS, or just find road and stay to the right and continue to very top of the hill across the road from the church. They have an outside terrace that overlooks the countryside and is very peaceful free of the city noise and lights. The caretaker does everything to make you feel comfortable, from serving you breakfast to giving you directions to Rome. Not a five star facility with all the indemnities, but very enjoyable and peaceful. We will never forget their hospitality. We wish them the best.
1 out of 5
by jamie from italy

Posted Apr 8, 2014 on Hotels
It suck. The power went out all the time. We sat in the room for three hours before someone came to the front desks. The rooms dont go w the pictures. They lied about breakfast. The managers was a jerk and had attitude with us bc of the electric kept popping. And everytime we used the shower there was a puddle of water on the floor. It was a nice location just a bad services and hotel.. I wasted my money and time.. I will not send any of my friends or co workers to this hotel..
3 out of 5
by Bill from Hebron, Indiana USA

Far Out

Posted Jul 3, 2013
Pros: It was quiet and the clerk was very helpful and spoke English well.
Cons: Room furnishings could be upgraded.
Location: Location is far out. We didn't have time to go exploring.
The hotel was so far out that the taxi drivers didn't know where it was. Thank god for GPS. it was an 80 euro ride there and few places to eat as the restaurant across from the Hotel was closed. The clerk was very helpful and contacted her boss to arrange transport to the airport. That was another 50 euro and we missed the free breakfast as we had to leave before it was served in the morning. The hotel itself was adequate, but certainly no frills. The manager was nice and took us to athe airport without any problems. It took a half hour.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Diran & Monique from Virginia, USA

Affordable, great view, just a bed

Posted Apr 19, 2012
Pros: The View. It was really nice. The bus right outside hotel was convienent. Remember to have exact change of $1 euro. They will not take anything else
Cons: No food. We were starving and had to go to the grocery store to get water & snacks. Problems is that things seemed to open/close when they wanted.
Location: Was far but take 32 bus to train station. Its about 20 min & then take train into center about 1hr. Bus exact change. Train credit card can be used.
would rate hotel a little higher but the toilet ran most of the time, the resteraunt was closed the entire time which was one of main reasons we selected the hotel, & the two twin beds pushed together with very flat mattress that kept separating all night sucked. Staff did not speak English but they tried their very best which was nice but very frustrating. Please remember to bring outlet converters/adapters. The posted reviews were very helpful. The views are stunning, the rooms clean, but really you get a bed & a washroom, nothing else. There is not even a phone in the room & if you are use to washcloths, bring your own because they do not have any. There is a small 13in TV but there is only Italian channels. They will tell you that there is English ones but MTV only has English sometimes. Breakfast was toast (the size of crackers) tea & coffee. No drinking water-if you dontt want club/seltzer water remember to say flat/still water. Best feature is that the bus is literally right outside hotel & runs until 11 on most nights. There is nothing, I mean nothing to do locally so be prepared to use the bus often. Even the resteraunts that were close had sketchy hours and was hardly open. Load up on drinks and snacks at the grocery stores that the bus can take you to. Its the 32. We did finally catch the Le Isle resteraunt but they spoke no English and the menu was in Italian. Needless to say we ordered French Fries. lol. Oh and one day they do not serve meat so be sure to check.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Tempio di Apollo

Posted Sep 14, 2011 on Hotels
This was our first time to Rome and we absolutely enjoyed our stay. The rooms were quite large and had a beautiful full length window that opened up onto a balcony. In the mornings I would go down to the desk and ask for a cappuccino which Simon would bring up for me. Sitting on their deck in the morning was a real treat. The view is amazing. The only down side to breakfast was that it was very limited. I would have liked a more well rounded breakfast especially since it took about 20-30 minutes to get into Rome. By the time we would get there I was VERY hungry. The staff was friendly and they all spoke good English. The surrounding town was very lovely. After walking around the tourist attractions of Rome it was nice to come back to our hotel where it was nice and quiet. You got a feel for how real Italians live day to day. The bus stop is right outside of the hotel and it's not hard at all to get into Rome. There's also a restaurant down the road about 300 yards or so on the right and the food there is AMAZING. The wine is quite nice too. It was really relaxing to just wander down there after a day in Rome, have an amazing meal and then wander back through the town to the hotel. The people that run the restaurant don't speak English though but they do what they can to help overcome the communication barrier. It's well worth it :) I would definitely recommend the Tempio di Apollo to anyone going to Rome.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

The Tempio di Apollo Hotel

Posted Jun 14, 2011 on Hotels
We stayed at this hotel for a week. It is outside of Rome's centre and in a charming countryside setting, a bit like being in Tuscany. It's a good choice if you want to have a longer holiday in Rome instead of a rushed few days just seeing the sights. It takes a while to get into central Rome but the transport links are very good, a bus stops in front of the hotel and takes you to the train station where you can be in central rome within 30 mins by train. The bus is very frequent we never had to wait, apart from on Sunday when it comes every 50 mins, otherwise its there around every 10mins. The hotel has a lovely large terrace and a small garden area overlooking the countryside, which is great to have a drink in the evening after a busy day sightseeing in Rome. There is a restaurant just next door that can be a bit noisy sometimes but overall the area is very charming and you feel you are experiencing the real Roman life. There is a great restaurant just 10mins walk up the road called 'Isola che non c'e' which is well worth a visit aswell as the restaurant opposite the hotel(though it is a bit pricey) There are a few supermarkets on the way to the station when you take the bus, and also a great pasticherria called 'Le Dolcecassia' which serves great fresh pastries and cakes, also well worth a visit. We enjoyed our stay and its worth to go to this hotel if you are not rushed for time and want to experience the sights of Rome and be able to come back to your hotel to relax a bit aswell.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Posted Apr 19, 2011 on Hotels
Despite being...rather far from Rome's center, the Tempio di Apollo was a great hotel for me and my travelling partner. The small town it is in is quiet and quaint, and has many stray cats that are affectionate (and flea/disease free). The room was comfortable, but not overly clean - the shower was a bit dirty and everything was a little worn out from use. The internet started working in our room on the second day - which we had not expected, and was good internet. The wardrobe was nice and roomy and the views were absolutely spectacular. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to visit Rome but had already seen it once, or has a lot of time to journey around. It's a beautiful location, but it's also a bus ride and eight stops on the train away from the Vatican - further to get into the center of Rome. A tip - print out the directions to the hotel! We lost our directions and no one we found spoke good enough English, or knew of the hotel, to tell us where to go - until we found the bus we were supposed to take by mistake! The bus stops, literally, right out front of the hotel - it's the last stop, and the train station is the first stop. Anyways, the location was beautiful, if far. The room was comfortable, if a bit worn. The staff were helpful and friendly, despite a language barrier.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ingolstadt

Ländliches Hotel, nur 30min (Zug) von Rom entfernt

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: Der Besitzer hat sich stets sehr schnell und unkompliziert um unsere Wünsche gekümmert. Das Hotel liegt in einem ruhigen kleinen Dorf.
Cons: Dauerhaft warmes Duschwasser sollte vorhanden sein. Jedes Zimmer benötigt einen Kühlschrank und eine funktionierende Klimaanlage oder Ventilator
Location: sehr ländliche Gegend mit jedoch ausreichend Lebensmittelläden für Selbstversorger. Viele schöne Gassen laden zum Wandern und Fotografieren ein
Unsere Reise war für 3 ÜN und 4 Tage Rom geplant. Wir sind von Süddeutschland mit dem Auto über den Gardasee angereist. Die Unterkunft haben wir etwas ländlich gewählt um dem lauten römischen Städteleben zu entkommen und mehr vom Land zu sehen. Es war unsere 2.Romreise (1.Reise mit Unterkunft nahe Villa Borghese über 3 Tage). Gemeinsam mit meiner Frau und ihren Eltern (beide 64) haben wir uns den Vatikan und die Sehenswürdigkeiten des Zentrums von Rom angesehn. Das Hotel liegt ca. 1 Stunde (mit dem Auto ohne Stau) von Rom entfernt. Per Bahn benötigt man von der Bahnstation "La Storta" nach "Roma San Pietro" nur 30min (für 1€/pro Einzelfahrt). Danach sind es noch ca. 700m (10min) Fußweg zum Petersplatz. Nahe dem Hotel gibt es eine schöne kleine Kirche und eine alte Burganlage (Privatbesitz). Im Außenbereich gibt es viele Sitzmöglichkeiten und Erholungsmöglichkeiten. Wer Ruhe sucht und mit einfachen Verhältnissen klar kommt, kann sich hier sicherlich wohl fühlen und etwas Geld sparen. Wer jedoch direkt nahe der Sehenswürdigkeiten wohnen möchte und mit dem Flugzeug anreist, sollte eher im Stadtzentrum buchen.
4 out of 5
by Pavel from Oslo

Muy buen hotel y barato

Posted Jul 14, 2016 on Hotels
Buen hotel. Esta afuera de la zona centro de Roma. Sin embargo con automóvil es fácil fe acceder. En la noche fue difícil realizar el check in. La calidad por el precio fue muy bueno.