Ratings based on 118 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly and Helpful Owner

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Location: The location feels very safe, as there are armed guards just across the street at a ministry of defense building.
We stayed in Rome just a few nights, and the owner, who speaks English very well, helped with restaurant and sight-seeing recommendations. It's a modest place at a modest price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2017 by Rodolfo, Hotel Management
goodbye to his next vacation in Rome, hopefully soon. thank you
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean hotel and easy access

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
The place was very clean. The only problem I had was the shower room so small haha but overall v good. The staff are so nice and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire, UK

Great budget hotel

Posted May 13, 2016
Hotel Texas is a great budget hotel in a perfect central location. The staff is very nice and the room was very clean. The room was small and so was the bathroom (with the biggest sink which made us laugh) but we didn't expect a swanky big room for that price. Would stay again if we went back to room. But don't bother with the breakfast!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2016 by rudy, Hotel Management
thanks,we will wait for you nex vacation best regards
1 out of 5
by Brandon from Los Angeles

Don't stay here

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
Horrible experience at this hotel. There are hidden charges, they charged us $90 extra dollars because they said the price we had already paid on hotels.com was wrong and the lady working at the desk watched our every move- it was creepy. The hotel is dated and slightly dirty. The wifi basically doesn't even work. It was worthless.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 20, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Brenda Mariana from Texas

Close to everything!

Posted Sep 22, 2015 on Hotels
We had a pleasant stay at Hotel Texas. It is a 15 min walk from Roma Termini, and close to lots of restaurants, shopping, gelaterias, bus. The hotel is in the 3rd floor of a building besides the Ministery of Defense. It doesn't have A/C but they provide a fan.
4 out of 5
by razelleine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 14, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Budapest, Hungary

Basic Rooms, Great Staff!

Posted Jun 10, 2015
Pros: Staff
Location: Easy to walk to Piazza Barberini, Via Veneto, Spainsh Syeps, trevi Fountain.
Tourists used to more elegant and well-appointed hotels will not enjoy the Hotel Texas. The rooms are very basic, with small bed, nightstand, table and chair, standing closet and a fan. No tv, minibar, dresser, safe, shampoo, pictures on the walls, telephone. Everything is very clean and neat, rooms are serviced daily. Bathroom is very tiny, with toilet, bidet and shower area almost too small in which to turn around. Two windows with heavy shutters do not allow much light or view. It is very basic, BUT travelers will love it. It's reasonably priced, great location (near main train terminal, Via Veneto, Spanish Steps) and easy to walk to many sights. But all of what some people would see as shortcomings are easily overpowered by the amazing, friendly, helpful, welcoming, chatty staff members. Fantastic people. I was a solo traveler, but my daughter and her husband were there at the same time and had no complaints at all. Perfect for the budget traveler.
2 out of 5
by Anna from San Francisco, CA

Good location, terrible service

Posted May 28, 2015 on Hotels
The woman who checked us in was quite rude, we had reserved two rooms, one for three and one for two, but somehow that was not what they had on their records. Hotels.com must use a secondary booking site, because she kept insisting that we had booked on Expedia. The hotel itself was about what I expected for old Rome, it was clean enough. The shared showers were small. The website said breakfast was 3 euro, but at the hotel we were told it was 4. It was all pre-packaged toast with butter, coffee and juice. I would not stay there again.
4 out of 5
by Roha from Houston

Very good!

Posted May 10, 2015 on Hotels
The location of this hotel was perfect. It was walking distance to all major transportation stations. And to the major attractions. The price is amazing given how expensive Rome can be.