Ratings based on 297 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Hotel was very close to metro and within walking distance to the Vatican and the castle. The hotel room itself was small but clean and just fine for sleeping. One day there was no hot water for a shower. The staff is only there during the day so if there are some noisy guests there is no one to control the situation, which is unfortunate. The breakfast delivered to the room is a nice touch, something little but good enough to start the day! The room decor could definitely use some updates, it did look old and dingy although it was clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 5, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Great location, nice room, key didn't work

Posted Jun 4, 2016
Pros: Location, room, breakfast coffee.
Cons: Keys for the entry that work reliably. Better fan or AC.
Location: Close to the vatican museum and St Peters. Several restaurants very close. McDonalds across the street, but we never tried it. Metro station close.
Exterior door key didn't work for us. Staff showed that they could make it work, and expected us to be able to, but we were still unable to get through the door without 10-15 minutes of trying. Usually we waited until someone else entered or left the building. After 3 days of a one week stay they finally gave us a better key which worked within a few seconds of trying. Make sure you get a front door key which will work for you. The location is great, close to the Vatican Museum and with many places to eat nearby and just steps from a Metro station. The room was fine. For breakfast we filled out a form the night before to say what items we wanted and what time. Not a lot of choices but it was fine. Coffee was good. They brought breakfast on a tray to the room at the time we asked for. The front desk in the building was usually unstaffed. You need to call their cell number to get them to come to the building. We didn't have a european cell phone so we never did call them. We were able to catch them in the building from time to time. Some of the staff could speak some english, but if we had known Italian that would have been a big help. Make sure you contact them before your arrival to let them know when you will be arriving. We neglected to do that and waited for over an hour before we could check in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Posted Feb 3, 2016
The rooms were beautiful, clean and very comfortable and spacious. The breakfast in the morning was delicious and it was lovely being brought to you in the rooms. The area was quiet and safe Delicious restaurants a close walk by It was a very short walk to the Vatican city and easy to walk to the colosseum from. I have been recommending it to everyone
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from County Armagh

City Break in Rome May 2015

Posted May 17, 2015
Pros: The location and the friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: Air conditioning would be welcome.
Location: Lots of Cafes, Restaurants and market stalls in the surrounding streets. Easy access to the Metro and so to the rest of the City.
The Hotel is a short walk from the Vatican City (10 mins ), close to a Metro station and surrounded by numerous Cafes and eating places. Breakfasts were a choice from Croissants, Fruit, Yoghurt, cold meat and cheese. Coffee was excellent as were the staff. The facilities in the Hotel are limited but the rooms and bedding were clean. The Hotel provides a good base for exploring Rome and the Vatican.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milton Keynes

A nice friendly place to stay

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: Good location. Friendly staff. Nice and quiet.
Cons: Breakfast was nice but only continental style breakfast was on offer. Then again when in Rome...
Location: The Vatican and Castellated St Angelo are very close by and it's only a short walk across the Tiber into the very centre of Rome
Lovely little hotel with friendly staff in a convenient location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Felt At Home

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Felt as if we were at home. The staff were always ready to help.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Worcester/UK

A week in Rome.

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Friendly, helpful staff. Good sized bedrooms with high ceilings. Ample choice for the breakfast buffet. Nice and close to Vatican/centre of Rome.
Cons: A tea/coffee tray in the bedroom.
Location: Very close to the Vatican and only a short Metro ride away from the centre of Rome. Plenty of restaurants nearby.
Stayed at the Gattopardo for 6 nights. We arrived late (9:45pm) but were expected. This was a good B&B with ample breakfast, but no other facilities - however there were many shops/eateries within walking distance. Easy to reach all the tourist attractions either by walking or using the Metro. All the staff were friendly and helpful - would not hesitate to recommend!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Bolivia

Great little hotel!

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Great little hotel with very comfortable warm rooms and beds. Very, very friendly staff on the reception and for the breakfast. Great value for your money besides is right at the Vatican and its very easy to reach the downtown with the metro or the bus! Recommended!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Unusual hotel, close to Vatican City

Posted Oct 29, 2014
An unusual hotel, ll Gattopardo has only six rooms in an old and graceful building. Reception staff are friendly and helpful although the lady doing breakfasts was sullen. Hotel is close to Vatican City and in a nice part of town.