Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved our stay, Carla is the perfect host

Posted Mar 22, 2017
At the top of a few floors of stairs is a quant apartment which oozes charm. Three separate rooms with a shared kitchen all en suite and all have their own personality. Carla provided a continental style breakfast every morning, Metro station a few steps away. Walking distance to the Trevi Fountain and lots of coffee shops and bars around. Bar next to the entrance door is small and welcoming with table snacks served with drink orders. Watch your belongings especially on the Metro, street sellers will drive you mad, if you have a selfie stick take it to stop 90% of the sellers approaching you Enjoy
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2017 by carla, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly, affordable and central place to stay.

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
We had a lovely stay at Carla's B&B. Booking was easy, and we had good communications prior to and following our arrival. A big bonus was having the extra space and small living-room and shared kitchen to keep some of the lovely cheeses and meats we bought cool and have easy access to plates, glasses etc for snacks and drinks. The location is fantastic, right next to a metro stop and many buses and just a few minutes' walk from some big sights. We really enjoyed having our breakfast in the room in the morning, it makes for a relaxing start of the day! WiFi worked and was very quick (netflix-streaming quality). It is up three flights of stairs, so probably not for everyone, but it was right for us!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your warm and detailed review and for your kindness
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient,quirky, homely bed and breakfast

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
The apartment is quirky and had plenty of room as we took our 2 kids with us. We felt as if we were proper residents of Rome for a few days! The view from the window into Piazza Barberini was great, watching the city pass by was fascinating. There were so many places to eat within a stones throw of the apartment, it made life easy. Also, 5 minutes to the Spanish Steps, 10 minutes to the Trevi Fountain, 15 minutes to the Pantheon. Carla was a fantastic host, wheeling a breakfast trolley into our room at a pre-arranged time, filled with warm pastries, and freshly brewed coffee.Even an awkward tea/soya milk drinker like me was not a problem for her.She was very obliging, with an early breakfast on departure day and phoning up an attraction for us, to help with a ticketing problem. There is also a well equipped shared kitchen. As the apartment is on the second floor, there are a few stairs to go up, and no lift, but certainly no hardship for us. Also, there was a bit of traffic noise due to being on a square in a city! To be able to open the wooden shutters and watch life go by the in the early morning sun, the noise was not an issue. The linen was spotless, and there were plenty of towels. Having been to Rome 3 times before, this was the most convenient location we had stayed in and the most comfortable. The building is very old, so it has its idiosyncrasies. If you like to feel at home rather than staying in a homogeneous hotel, then this is the place for you. Grazie Carla!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your warm and detailed review! I love my job because I can meet fantastic people as you are. I look forward to welcoming you again. Big kiss to your beautiful kids
5 out of 5
by Justin from UK

Great location - Friendly hosts

Posted Nov 26, 2015 on Hotels
Really nice place to stay. There are only three bedrooms but there is a kitchen and breakfast is made for you each morning by the friendly hosts. Very central, one minute walk to the tube station, ten to the Trevi Fountain, Coliseum is easily walk-able too. It's an old character building, up on the third floor with no lift and being this central traffic is a bit noisy, it was no bother to us, but if you're a light sleeper with dodgy knees then it may be a bit tricky!!! We would definitely stay here again, great value for money. Great location. Great stay. Thanks.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2016 by Carla, Hotel Management
Thank you so much. I hope to welcome you again
3 out of 5
by Brandon

Posted Oct 7, 2015 on Hotels
I would categorize this separately from "hotel". Probably more of a bed and breakfast/ hostile. Very old building with limited amenities. Owner is very nice and helpful, but little things like toilet paper we missing when we arrived, took us a while to find the electronic water heater controls to get hot water (power was out when we got there, so that didn't help, but not the hotel's fault). Hotel is also unmarked to the naked eye. It really is just a covered apartment with 3 rooms. Over seemed fairly expensive for what we got, but it was good enough.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2015 by Carla, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry about the problem of electricity. The toilet paper was in the bathroom but maybe it was not enough, however, I apologize. We are not hotel because there is no star marked near the name. Usually the bed and breakfast and the guest-house are located in apartments.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Beautiful and comfortable stay

Posted Oct 7, 2015
Pros: The hotel was spacious and rustic which we liked, just on the edge of the main attractions which meant we were a very short walk away from the sites.
Cons: The only thing that bothered me was the noise from outside but naturally being in a city this should be expected. And I am a very light sleeper!
Location: Perfect location!
We have just spent 3 nights at La Casa Del Capitano and are very sad to be back home in the UK. The hotel is perfect for what we were looking for and is extremely comfortable. It was very typical of the city with great views and in a perfect location. Carla was very accommodating and friendly and made us feel right at home.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2015 by carla, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your warm review!!! You have been good guests. Looking forward to welcoming again
4 out of 5
by George from Boston

Great stay in a great part of Rome.

Posted Jun 18, 2015 on Hotels
Terrific,spacious accommodations in a great location. No elevator in the building (but this was mentioned in its official description). Carla is phenomenally helpful and responsive. We definitely would stay there again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2015 by Carla, Hotel Management
Thank you so much George, I'm looking forward to welcome you again
4 out of 5
by Peter from Texas

Nice place, nice location, nice manager

Posted Dec 11, 2014 on Hotels
Nice bed and breakfast in a convenient location near Barberini metro station. Simple, clean and well-kept. Private bathroom and sitting area, shared kitchen is available. The manager isn't on-site, but was very nice and accommodating. Just be sure to let them know what time you will arrive and arrange a time for breakfast. And be prepared to pay in cash (it wasn't immediately required for us). It is up quite a few stairs and you'll get one set of keys, so plan accordingly. But it was a nice place to stay for us. You can walk to most of the central sights or hop on the (crowded) metro. There was a bit of street noise some nights (but they can't repave the plaza that frequently, right?). The neighborhood felt safe, and really, I felt safe walking all around Rome.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2015 by Carla, Hotel Management
Thank you so much, Peter, for your review. I look forward to meeting you once again
3 out of 5
by Dan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 20, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Wayne from U.S.A.

Good location

Posted Oct 11, 2014 on Hotels
Great B&B wish it had A/C, great Otherwise.