Ratings based on 500 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin, USA

Marcella Royal Hotel, Rome

Posted Jun 20, 2017
Pros: Friendly front desk staff
This was our first trip to Europe and our stay at the Marcella Royal Hotel was okay compared to other hotels during our travel in Italy. Our room was very, very tiny and needed updating. My husband also suffered some allergy problems when we were in the room and it seemed to clear up once we were out in the fresh air. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful in suggesting restaurants and ways to get around the city. The hotel is not right in the heart of Rome and away from the tourist areas. We ended up doing a lot of walking to get where we wanted to go.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Best hotel in italy

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: Everything and everyone.
Cons: One cannot improve on perfection.
Location: Everything one wants to see is nearby.
I adore the staff, loved my room, the roof top patio is a garden of Eden, the showers are a great size with lots of water pressure.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

Disappointed

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Every room in the hotel was completely different and not done to the same standard. We paid the same as many of our other friends who were also staying there and definitely did not get the same quality. Our room was so old fashioned and in need of a major makeover
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Superb hotel

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Absolutely everything about this hotel was great.
The Marcella is a super hotel. Although it's a bit of a way to the sites it's not impossible. The staff were amazing and extremely friendly and helpful. We had a wonderful time there and the restaurant across the way is first class. Ask at the desk to book a table it gets pretty busy.
5 out of 5
by Tara

Weekend break in Rome

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
Perfect hotel for a short city break in Rome. 10 minute walk from the Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps and the metro station. There were beautiful restaurants around the hotel where we eat every night. Everything was so convenient. Our room was clean, quiet and provided everything we required for the few days. The staff on reception were extremely helpful, providing us with tips on what to see, how to get there, where to eat etc. We'll definitely stay in Marcella Royal Hotel when we return to Rome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Ideal location

Posted Feb 25, 2017
On arrival we found the staff very friendly and helpful. The room was excellent. As a base to explore room it was ideal a it was only 20 --30 mins walk to most major sites. With beautiful buildings and places of interest round every corner Take a good pair of walking shoes as the pavements and cobbled road are in need of a lot of repair We really enjoyed our 5 day trip and hope to return !!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Celebrating my mum's birthday

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: Hotel is lovely, very close to getting around. Roof terrace a great touch to sit outside and look around.
Cons: Hairdryer in our room was a bit archaic so a few little things like that could be modernised!
Location: Trevi fountain easy to walk to. Metro station 7 minutes walk.
First time in Rome, loved it and very lucky with the weather.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

The perfect hotel to stay when in Rome

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: Terrace view is incredible. Location is perfect. Beautiful hotel. Great price.
Location: Restaurants, bouchers, train station, ancient sites.
This is a beautiful hotel 1km, walking distance, to the train station. It is in a great neighbourhood with lovely restaurants a few steps away and shops and bouchers and so on. It is short walk to all the sites of Rome. The rooftop terrace is really incredible. It offers a view of the dome as well as fabulous rooms all around. The breakfast is served inside or outside on the terrace so you can really enjoy. For the price I think you can't do better. A hotel like this is any other large city would be unaffordable. The decor inside is beautiful. Take a look at their website and you'll get the idea. The staff is a bit reserved but we are in a big city and the attitude is a little different. I've stayed here twice and when I return i will definitely stay here again. Oh there is a bar up on the terrace for late night drinks with a romantic view over Rome. Romantic!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great views and great location

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Superb views from the rooftop garden and breakfast room! Trevi fountain and Spanish steps within 10 minutes walk ! With comfortable walking shoes you can explore the entire city!!
4 out of 5
by Kathleen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Hotels