Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location for sightseeing nice b and b

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Very good base for sightseeing shopping and restaurants metro and taxis all close by an excellent base to stay in rome to see as many sights in a short time ie our 3 day stay we enjoyed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic location

Posted Nov 25, 2016
We came to Rome for my 40th Birthday, we had a fantastic time and would love to come back
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Worcestershire

Basic but good enough.

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: being able to help yourself to breakfast is good and the beds are comfy
Cons: The rooms are very basic. There are no drawers. It would have been nice to have had a toilet a bit nearer to the room.
Location: It's in the middle of Rome...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridgeshire

Room Clean but that's you can say about this place

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: The room was kept very clean.
Cons: Everything. Also, we felt the website was very misleading.
Location: Location was great. Very near to the Hop On/Hop Off bus tours, very lively street, nice bars, restaurants, in walkable distance to Colosseum & Forum.
We arrived late and had to buzz for the owner as there is no reception. We had booked a twin room and were given a double, when I said that this was wrong, the owner said he would change it the next day. We never got a change, but he did put an extra bed in the room. The Bed & "Breakfast" is a bit of a joke. There is a very small area where there is a fridge and a counter. From here you have to make your own tea & coffee and there are only pre-packed croissants (jam filled, flavour only) and in the fridge there is a choice of 2 yoghurts and bottled water. That's your lot!!! There is no reception, so no one to speak to and couldn't get hold of the owner very often; my friend and I had to leave written messages on the counter if we needed anything. The pictures on the website look great, but we had to ask the owner where the lovely lounge area was, as we couldn't find it. He did eventually show it to us, but we couldn't access it, as it was in a different part of the complex and our keys didn't fit the door for this area. I definitely would not stay here again or, indeed, recommend it. Definitely "No Stars" from me
3 out of 5
by Robert from Tarzana, CA

Not my style.

Posted Aug 2, 2016 on Hotels
Bathroom down the hall. Breakfast sparce.
5 out of 5
by Mark from Porter Ranch.. CA

Excellent location, excellent hotel and stay!

Posted Jul 6, 2016 on Hotels
Matisse B&B is a nice gem located in a large building with several other hotels. There are several levels of security/locked doors which I appreciated. The hotel is located just steps from a bus stop and about a block from the metro in a location the I consider ideal for accessing all of the Roman sights. Roberto was a great host and accessible to my needs at the push of a button. There is a communal refrigerator stocked with juice, water and yogurt which can be accessed anytime. There are also croissants and coffee available. Our stay also included a daily free continental breakfast at a restaurant across the street. Our room (the one closest to the refrigerator) was spacious and a had a moderately large en-suite bathroom (for European standards).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stockport, England

B&ab in the heart of Rome, what more do you want?M

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Matisse B&B is ideal for people that want a comfy bed, a shower and an unhurried continental breakfast,it's clean and you are pretty much left to get on with it, in a fantastic location so you can walk to nearly all the sights and if you don't fancy walking the metro and buses are a minutes walk away, would book again if/when in Rome again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Great location, comfy bed

Posted May 4, 2016
Nice basic hotel, staff friendly and explained everything well, especially the cryptic door lock. Ended up in the adjacent Matisse hotel, which was slightly off via Nazionale, no issues though. Had no water one day, but was quickly sorted. Nice little hotel for the price
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel is In a very good location

Posted Feb 22, 2016
It was a nice stay at the hotel. The room was clean and warm.
4 out of 5
by Lewis from St. Louis

An unpretentius gem

Posted Oct 25, 2015 on Hotels
Friendly, helpful staff. Incredibly well located for seeing sights of Rome. Very quiet at night. Clean well kept rooms and public areas.