Ratings based on 598 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

First Time In Rome

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Pros: The staff was friendly and welcoming.
Cons: My only complaint would be the bed. It was a bit to firm for my liking.
I've been wanting to visit Rome for as long as I can remember. I decided to visit this last October and while not every single experience was great, my stay at the Merulana Inn was wonderful. It's less than 2 minutes walking distance from Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore which is absolutely stunning and I would highly recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Durham, England

Good base for exploring Rome

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: Good base location. Although fairly basic, the room was clean and comfortable.
Cons: Only minor- Free WiFi was available, which was good but had poor speed. No tea/coffee facilities in-room but that may be fairly standard here.
Location: Colosseum and many of Romes ancient sites in walking distance (20 mins). Metro station is 5 mins walk away. Loads of restaurants.
The hotel part was on the 3rd floor of an old'ish building ...only six rooms (I think). Our room was basic but nicely finished and clean. It had TV (which we didn't actually use), a small but clean and functional bathroom (shower only). The breakfast area was fine too with a reasonable choice (nothing fancy but provided an adequate start to the day). Free WiFi was available but it wasn't particularly fast. The staff were helpful. Quite a good location to start exploring some of Rome's historic sites ...the Colosseum and several other significant sites could be reached in 20 mins by foot and the metro system (nearest station 5 minutes away) was handy for going further afield.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ideal Base to explore Rime

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: Location, cleanliness and friendly staff
Cons: Only niggle was Road and drinks in room would be nice Tea and Coffee facilities
Location: 15 minutes from Colloseum, same for Forum, if you want to walk 30 > 45 minute walk to the Vatican, and less than ten minutes walk from main station
Remembering that this is not a hotel but an Inn, greeted with enthusiasm staff ensured you where welcome and free to come and go as you please. Room was very clean, beds comfortable, air con in the room was very welcome. Hotel/Inn is on a busy road so although the traffic didn't disturb us it may others. Would we stay here again yes but would request either rooms 1 or 2 at the rear of the Inn so quieter. To find Inn is a challenge just down from the AS Roma show before bank
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Professionally run, better than expected

Posted Oct 6, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Guesthouse manager is very professional and helpful, room is clean and comfortable, good basic security.
Cons: Breakfast is very sparse. Towels are only changed every two days. The lift can be annoying with its 2 manual doors.
Location: Conveniently near the station and quite a few conveniences nearby, restaurants, bakery. Pretty easy walk to Colosseum/Roman Forum/Palatine Hill.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2016 on Hotels
Great visit. Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Fe, NM

Great location!

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Loved our room! The hotel is just down the road from the Basilica Di Santa Maria Maggiore and the view from our balcony at night was magical. Many reviews mention the difficulty of locating the hotel. It's very straightforward. If coming from the train station, just take Via Gioberti until you see the Basilica and remain left on Piazza Di S. Maria Maggiore, then left on Via Merulana. Look for the first clock on the left side and, viola!, you are there. Five minutes from train station. Also I read many complaints about the hot/cold water inconsistencies. We never had a problem. Plenty of hot water, plenty of water pressure. Staff is great and room was clean and comfortable. Great place to stay with great restaurants and shops nearby and all the sights within an easy walking distance. Enjoy and Caio!
3 out of 5
by Mikaela

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 3, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Great little boutique hotel close to major sites

Posted Jul 27, 2016 on Wotif
A small little hotel within walking distance of the Colleseum, the Forum and many other popular sites. Breakfast is simple but satisfactory and the air conditioning very welcome on a hot Rome day. Very close to Termini Train Station it also means you have ready access to the airport from here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Renovated small inn

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Facility is on the third floor of an old building. Totally renovated , on the small side, but comfortable with one person. Close to termini station.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ohio

just a guest house

Posted Jun 10, 2016
Hard to find. But good location to Termini and Metro. Small elevator on 3X4 ft. Rooms Ok but no TV service as we asked the whole week? Fair breakfast. Shower had cold and then scalding water issues. Below the 4 star rating.