Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2016 on Hotels
Frankly my experience living in Nazional Room was not good. SStaff was not cooperated. Lift of the Hotel is not working. Breakfast was very poor.
5 out of 5
by Juan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 14, 2015 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Do not stay here

Posted Nov 10, 2015
Pros: Central location
Cons: Customer service, new beds, plumbing.
Location: Central to most attractions but there are several other accommodation options on the same block and I would recommend you stay elsewhere.
The only good thing I can say about this hotel is that it is central. The beds are uncomfortable, breakfast is stale leftovers and rooms are noisy. When we arrived our room was not ready due to a plumbing issue, no worries ww will be back at 5pm. The staff member asked us to wait and she would speak to the manager. An hour later it was decided that the room would not be ready for us and another motel was organised by the manager. We were happy to relocate but it was obvious that we were never staying in that motel on our first night and should have been relocated via email or on our arrival. We were down for breakfast with our bags by 8am and headed out for the day. When we arrived back (8pm) at Nazional Rooms our room was ready and our bags had been brought across. We had a room opposite the reception area and were given keys. When we opened the door the smell was indescribable. I asked the reception staff if there was another room available "no", I asked if we could again be relocated "no". Trying to make the best of the situation I opened windows, covered the bathroom drains and asked for air freshener. The staff member brought in the air freshener and left the room coughing and gagging from the smell. We asked for a refund on our next night if there was still not a room available or discount "no". I travel regularly and things do go wrong, however, the manager had no consideration for his guests only that he was paid for a room. Do not stay here!
4 out of 5
by Leo from SDT

not bad value

Posted Mar 10, 2015 on Hotels
Very basic, but ok for the price. A lot of traffic noise from Via Nazionale. Breakfast was just a voucher for coffee, croissant and orange juice in a local bar.
3 out of 5
by Graham from London

Good location, basic but clean.

Posted Oct 1, 2014 on Hotels
Good location - 10 mins walk from Termini Station and walkable to most areas of the city you'd likely want to see. It took us roughly 20 minutes to walk to either the Forum area, the 'Old Rome' area, Piazza Barberini or Piazza di Spagna. The hotel is quite basic and has some interestingly shaped rooms - ours had an angled ceiling with lots of low beams which were difficult to navigate. However, the beds were comfortable enough and the place was pretty clean. The staff were pleasant and helpful. Breakfast is included, though only consists of a pastry and drink from a nearby cafe. Worth noting that there is a (small) elevator which does not operate between all floors, so climbing some stairs is inevitable. Not a problem for us but it could be a problem for those with mobility issues. For the price, compared to other hotels in a similarly handy location, this was a good find. If you're just need a basic, clean place to sleep, this place is ok.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Cheap and convenient.

Posted Nov 17, 2013
Pros: price, location
Cons: softer bed. more pillows
Location: we walked to everything we wanted to see. pretty central location
Convenient location at a cheap price. Travel lodge style where everything is adequate but nothing extra and fancy-just what we required for a trip where we spent little time in the room. We never tried the breakfast so could not comment. Its on the fourth floor so not suitable for anyone who struggles with stairs. I would recommend this hotel as for the price it is just what you expect, no frills but everything you need.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Samantha from Australia

Great location, basic but comfortable.

Posted Oct 10, 2013
Basic, but clean and tidy. Staff pleasant. Breakfast average, but good enough. Look for the sign above the wig shop. Go up the stairs to the fourth floor to find reception. Would stay again if in Rome.
4 out of 5
by StevenGP from London

Good hotel for price.

Posted Sep 15, 2013 on Hotels
The hotel is basic with spartan rooms but very clean. Though a tv is in the room and the hotel also offers free wifi which was great. Fairly good location and could walk to all the major sights except the Vatican though you are right by a the metro station that takes you to the Vatican stop and also the stops for Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps (though can walk both in about 15 minues and see some of the city). Would definitely recommend to people and would stay again when in the city. Also has a great roof terrace for breakfast and I believe that you can also use it during the day (didn't use it but another guest said they had evening drinks and snacks up there - they bought their own, the hotel doesn't provide this)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by rachel from Washington, DC, USA

No frills, friendly, small and clean.

Posted Mar 6, 2012
Pros: Location, price and friendliness of the people running it.
Cons: The wi-fi did not work while I was there. That is the only negative I can think of.
Location: Close to the terminal, center of touristy stuff. Walking distance to many sites.
It was tiny and clean. The people were very nice. I think the location was great for sight seeing and very close to the train station which was very convienient! The neighborhood was hectic and busy as you expect in a large city but i never felt unsafe. My room was tiny but as a single traveler i kind of liked that. It was also spotlessly clean! My only complaint is that the Wi-Fi never worked. Internet access is one thing a hotel MUST have for me. As solo traveler overseas it is usually my only communication with home and for any emergencies that come up. I was told there was a problem my first day but it never did work. Other than that, it was a very nice, clean and no frills place to stay in a safe and central location run by by very nice people. I would stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great location, but some definite problems

Posted Jan 9, 2012 on Hotels
I would warn anyone staying here that this place will look nothing like any hotel you've stayed in. It's a little hard to find because the door front is a wig shop, which is on the ground floor. Once you get up to the floor that is marked for NazionalRooms, it's still not all that clear you're in the right place. The "front desk" is literally a tiny desk crammed into the corner of a stairwell, and while the guys who work there are nice, you'll probably never see them aside from in the morning. If you're certain you won't need any service or assistance, I'd say great, stay here. But otherwise--forget it. You'll have to call one of the employees on a cell phone (listed in the hallway) in order to get anyone. The positive---great location, very cheap, and clean.