Ratings based on 252 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: Stone's throw away from St Peter's Square, room was clean and enough for my needs, gave me ticket for Papal Audience, very helpful staff
Great experience in this hotel as it is stone's throw away from St Peter's Square and because of that I was able to que very early at the security doors for the Papal Mass and other activities in St Peter's Basilica. The room was clean and enough for my needs. I was also happy that they gave me ticket for the Papal Audience. Staff at the reception was very helpful in pointing me to the right direction.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient for pilgrimage

Posted Nov 16, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is just opposite to St Peter's square. It is very convenient for pilgrimage. Staffs are all very helpful and speak good English. Highly recommend!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best price and location for Vatican Visit.

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent choice for Rome visit. Extremely close to St Peter's Sq. Hotel was safe and secure at night. They close the outside massive iron door to the street, in the early evening. The breakfast was bountiful and staff so very friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay again in my next visit to Rome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Location, Location, Location

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: The room, although not large, was very clean and quiet. I had expected the hotel to be further from St Peter's Square than it was. You could literally walk there in 30 seconds The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts, which were included in the price, were very tasteful with a good variety of food to choose from.
Cons: The street had been blocked off with barricades and so the taxi was unable to take us to the door. This meant having to walk in the rain for a distance of about 500 feet. When it came time to leave, however, we were escorted to the back door of the hotel and the taxi picked us up there. The evening meal was served outdoors in the atrium and was a bit of a chilly place. The ambience was wonderful. The food was very tasty but the selection was limited, pizza or pasta.
Location: The hotel was practically on St Peter's Square so you had access to all the places in the Vatican.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 7, 2016 on Hotels
Spectacular visit for first time in Rome. Visited Vatican Museums and the Borghese Gallery. Wandered around Piazza Navona -- great experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is just a few footsteps from St. Peter's Basilica. Great location. The only negative aspect is, there are mosquitos everywhere including the room although we were informed that Rome do have a lot of mosquitos everywhere. Bring mosquito repellant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Flushing, Michigan

Perfect for Vatican tourists

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: The location and peaceful surroundings.
Cons: Early morning coffee available
Location: St. Peter's Basilica is right out the front door to the left.
Very nice and pretty. The garden area esp. pretty to look at while having a drink and snack from the bar. Our room was a 2-twin room, very nice and small but we weren't planning to be in the room so weren't worried about that. The bathroom was tiny and shower the tiniest ever but we managed being small people. Thankful to the hotel for giving us the Papal Audience tickets, we had the ticket reservations but them having the tickets saved us waiting in line to get them at the bronze doors. They are also helpful with any questions you may have about the buses and metro. They also have city maps available from the tour companies. Beds were great and choice of pillows was good too. Keep a log of what you take from mini bar so there are no discrepancies. Breakfast buffet was nice all was yummy. Just wish we could've grabbed an early morning coffee when we had our early morning tours because the breakfast buffet didn't start until 7:30 except for Papal Audience day they open at 7:00 which was very nice. We had to leave the hotel a few days around 6:30 and cafes around weren't yet open either. We would definitely stay here again because the location was great for us, being most interested in the Vatican. It was right out the front door. Thank you PCC for such a wonderful stay :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel very helpful friendly staff

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Only one complaint and that is we asked the hotel to phone a taxi for the airport and they said it would be €48 but the standard charge to the aiport in romes taxi is € 30 this was a bit disappointing
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2016 on Hotels
I have stayed at the Palazzo Cardinal Cesi twice and will continue to stay there whenever I am in Rome. The location simply cannot be beat and it is an oasis of tranquility in the hectic city that is Rome.