Ratings based on 86 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Room-Nice, Location-Perfect, Bathroom-NeedsUpgrade

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Location was great, room was nice and well maintained.
Cons: Bathroom could be upgraded.
Location: Vatican City is walking distance!
We were charged 10 Euros for late check-in (which we weren't made aware of until we told them about the arrival time after the booking) and the 1st night, we were given a smaller room and the next day we were transferred to our actual room. Rooms are decent sized and location is perfect near Vatican and Subway stop as well. Bathroom needs a little upgrading. Shower is pretty small and toilet seat was broken.
3 out of 5
by Kiet from Orange county

adequate.

Posted Jun 29, 2016 on Hotels
the room are small, which seems to be the trend in europe, but this was especially small. I stayed in room 4. the window opens to the inside a courtyard with nothing to see. no person on service at night after a certain time. however I didn't book that last night in Rome and they were able to refer me to another hotel nearby in a short notice. that was very considerate and I am grateful.
5 out of 5
by fernando from Michigan; USA

love the place

Posted May 13, 2016 on Hotels
Very good hotel. Friendly staff. They help me to set up a Taxi from Airport to the Hotel, Breakfast not the best.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted May 5, 2016
Lovely people running it. Good location to piazza navona
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Soutg Wales

Great budget guest house

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Great location- a few streets away from Castel S'ant Angelo and 5 minute walk from Vatican City. The guest house is not a hotel- it does not have a manned reception which may put people off, but if you want a good price, great location and quiet nights sleep it's great!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great on a budget

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Pros: For my budget and my needs, I liked everything and would stay there again without question.
Cons: Better lighting on all the steps. Perhaps light strips. These steps are dangerous.
Location: Very near the Vatican. I would say less then an easy 10 minute walk.
This hotel has great location very close to the Vatican. It definitely is for the budget minded. If you are looking for luxury, this is not the place for you. Everything in the room was functional and for the price satisfactory. The staff goes out of the way to help. There are only about 5 or 6 rooms and is located on the first floor of a building. Breakfast is self service. By this I mean there is a small nook where prepackaged crusty bread and croissants are available along with jams and drinks. You can actually take what you want when you want and eat in your room. You can even take it for a midnight snack if you with, there is no one around.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 28, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Alexandria from Toronto Canada

Piccolo Imperiale: A big heart and a cosy home

Posted Jul 15, 2015 on Hotels
Thank you for 5 wonderful days in Rome. The location was ideal and the neighbourhood was very safe. Not only were we close to Castel Sant'Angelo and the Vatican but three blocks away from some great shopping. Our accommodation was outstanding and very clean. The hospitality from the owners was fantastic. I will highly recommend il Piccolo Imperiale to all my family and friends.
4 out of 5
by Sarah from England

Hotel Imperial Piccalo June 2015

Posted Jun 18, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel was more of a guest room hotel than hotel. Not posh but clean, functional and friendly. Excellent value for money and fantastic location. We had a family room and it was cleaned daily. Breakfast is help yourself to drinks and crossants on a tray in your room (no dining room etc.) but you can have this all day long which was good. We had a problem with the air conditioning which dripped water onto the carpet and wasn't fixed during our 3 day stay but did seem that it was being sorted out and they were awaiting a replacement part. I would visit this hotel again as it was a good base.