Ratings based on 266 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malta

Only good as close to shops

Posted Dec 1, 2015
Pros: Location and some of the décor.
Cons: The heating, the wifi in the rooms, the bathrooms.
Location: Close to he Spanish Steps and the shopping street.
There was nobody to at reception at our hotel, when someone finally arrived we were told they were refurbishing and moving us to another of their hotels which apparently was better. We had to pay for the taxi to move there and only got it reimbursed when we asked. The second hotel was also undergoing refurbishment and the restaurant and lobby were not in order. The room was comfortable but a little cold, the bathroom was old, very cold as the window did not shut properly, the show was either boiling hot or low pressure. Having said this our children who had a room on the top floor had a good room with a new bathroom but no shower curtain so they flooded the room when they used it. The hotel is quaint and well located next to the Spanish steps and I would recommend in the warmer months.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place but avoid the antique shop nearby

Posted Sep 15, 2015 on Hotels
The guy in the antique shop across the street is an old grump, but if you don't stop there to ask for directions or anything, you'll be fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

EXCELLENT!!!

Posted Nov 15, 2014
The staff was by far the most pleasant! The room very clean! Enjoyed staying in this not too busy streets, was able to sleep with windows open! I would most definetly recommend this hotel!
4 out of 5
by Amy from New York

Uncomfortable bed

Posted Oct 24, 2014 on Hotels
My husband and I started here 5 nights on our honeymoon. The location is the best thing about it. We walked everywhere from this central location. The room was big which was nice but the bed was UNCOMFORTABLE. The springs poked us and we woke up with sore backs. The bathroom had a mildew smell and the shower head had no mount on the wall. We had to hold it up to shower or sit in the tub. The shower definitely needs a modern update. The staff was kind. The breakfast was a little strange. If I went to Rome again, I'd look for a hotel in the same neighborhood bit with a more comfortable bed!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Excellent location, lovely hotel, wonderful people

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: location, room, people
Cons: OK, there isn't a conventional shower, but the tub is set up with a hand held shower with marble surround that allows for a great European shower.
Location: Vatican, Piaza di Fiori, restaurants and just 20 minutes by foot to everything in Rome!
We stayed at Relais Group Palace hotel for 4 nights. We scored! Amazing location in the middle of a Roman neighborhood and devoid of some of the flocks of tourists in Rome. There are at least 50 restaurants within a 15 minute walk - we had excellent food every night. This hotel is 7 minutes to Vatican on foot, and maybe 8 minutes to Piaza di Fiori and its daily fresh market. The hotel itself is very small (7 rooms), quiet, and wonderfully historic - so a pleasant and intimate place to stay. From the circular elevator which accommodates just 3 people, to the wood shuttered windows, wooden ceilings, marble bathrooms....all just lovely. This hotel would suit those who want to experience Rome, not those looking for a chain hotel and all the American comforts. We particularly appreciated Bashir who served as doorman, concierge, breakfast maker, housekeeper, and man-who-makes-your-stay-perfect, and Madame (also an owner) at the front desk, who was fluent in English and Italian, and so helpful in providing us with sites, directions, and always a smile. Thank you Relais Group Palace for an excellent stay in Rome.
5 out of 5
by happy travelers from canada

great location

Posted Sep 8, 2014 on Hotels
This is an old world hotel with plenty of charm. Huge rooms, beds are a bit hard but fantastic bathroom with plenty of hot water. Great breakfast served by the nicest person. But best thing is it's location. Walk to so much.
4 out of 5
by noel b from Los Angeles

Good hotel and location, great price.

Posted Jun 3, 2014 on Hotels
The staff is extremely helpful and pleasant, the rooms were very spacious (the biggest we had in Europe), and the building is kinda cool because its built in 1507. Breakfast was included and was better than the breakfasts we'd paid for at other places. My only complaint was that the hot water was very difficult to use. In the sink and more importantly, the shower/tub, it was VERY difficult to get hot water. Cold water, and barely warm water would come out, but even when we had someone come to the room and "fix" it, it still wouldnt turn hot when we showered 20 minutes earlier.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by karen from Blue Mountains Australia

Heritage building in ancient Rome

Posted May 22, 2014
Pros: central location
Cons: breakfast laid out in same room as dining. Better tea making facilities in room
Location: Close to Vatican and river walks. Many other sites near by.
central ancient Rome and close to Vatican. quite close to good shopping and red bus (hop on Hop off) route. Older property but lots of Character.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice friendly hotel

Posted Jan 12, 2014
It was a pleasant experience and very quiet.
2 out of 5
by CÖY from İZMİR TURKEY

PINK PLASTIC TRAYS

Posted Nov 7, 2013
Pros: Location,all touristic attractions within at most half an hour's walk,we didn't need any kind of transportation during our 4 days.
Cons: Hangers for trousers,some tv channels in English,cold tea & coffoe & omelet for breakfast,not having a breakfast table
Location: Great
On a tiny street full of parked cars and motorcyles,a bar next door makes noise during late hours.Just 7 rooms and saw 4 workers during our 3 days accomadation,Problem of the safe was solved by the receptionist,TV has hundreds of channels but not CNN or BBC or Euronews,we tried to translate Italian teletexts.The cupboard didn't contain hangers for trousers,the bathtube didn't have a water seperator.Breakfast served to room as there wasn't a room in this tiny hotel,while expecting 4 star quality we had pink plastic trays with tepid bread and tea and coffoe and omelet,thanks to wife carrying lots of teabags for the room's hotpot.I had to remember my dormatory days and put our suitcases on other's top to have a breakfast table.Not for this price.......