Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great hotel close in the heart of Rome

Posted Dec 6, 2016
The hotel was amazing. Francisco met us before we even walied through the front door. He showed us where we should go, suggested ways to get around, and was overall really helpful. When we got to our room, it was very beautiful. High ceilings combined with modern bathroom design--very original. The room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast in the morning had a lot of variety and the staff made fresh coffee/cappuccino/hot chocolate to order. Everything was absolutely delicious. We would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, WI

Amazing location....Perfect stay!!!

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Location, location, location. Rooms were beautiful.
Cons: Bag service to your room. Not a big deal, since most hotels in Rome do not have a lift, the stairs can be difficult with many bags.
Location: Pantheon....less than 1 min walk!!!, Great food next door, great wine bar and shops all around.
The location cannot be topped. You are literally one building away from the Pantheon. Everything was within an easy walk. Great food right next door. Great Wine Bar right around the corner. If you are looking for a great place to stay in Rome, look no further. It's perfect.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
Great location. Very cozy. Room 1808 is the room to ask for.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location !!!

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Very central to everywhere we wanted to go and we could walk to just about everywhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Perfect Location!

Posted Jun 16, 2016
Pros: The location was within walking distance to many sites in Rome plus shopping, restaurants, etc. Nice property!
Cons: The Wifi was a little spotty and temperamental. I had to log in (i.e. partly to thru the set up routine) each time I used it and reception.
Location: The location was within walking distance to many sites in Rome plus shopping, restaurants, etc. It was fun exploring the neighborhood.
The Relais Maddelena was an excellent choice! Very nice staff, fantastic location, historic property that's been redone with many modern amenities. I would certainly stay here again when in Rome! Bear in mind that it's a guest house (like a B&B) and not a hotel though.
2 out of 5
by Michael from USA

So disappointed

Posted Apr 9, 2016 on Hotels
Not worth it. Had to walk up 23 steps to the hotel (no elevator). Room thermostat was not working or purposely turned off. Towels were old and fraying at the ends not to mention the white towels had become beige-grey. The soap in the shower was one kind for body and hair. No hair conditioner or body lotion. The window in the room would not stay open I had to find something to keep it open. The view was heating/ electrical boxes and food scents from the restaurant below and across the way. We stayed for four days, our sheets were not changed. I had to find cleaning personnel and ask them to change our sheets. The room was dated and the closet door on the dresser would not stay shut unless you used the broken wood piece at the bottom to keep it shut. Breakfast began at 7:30 and ended at 10am. It consisted of toast, cheese, ham, yogurt, fruit, old cake and tart that was brought out all four days. No eggs or warm food. The only good thing was the location. However I would not stay there again with so many other choices in the area. I'm a seasoned traveler my 5th trip to Italy. So disappointed.
5 out of 5
by Heather from Pittsburgh

Apartment-style hotel room steps from the Pantheon

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
This essay huge hotel room in a great location! The hotel room was more like an apartment with a huge bedroom with a large sitting room off the bedroom. The bathroom was very updated and clean. The hotel provided a very nice complimentary breakfast every morning and mini-bar prices were very reasonable. The hotel is in the center of the historic district and is literally steps from the Pantheon. There is a very good restaurant right outside the hotel and many others all within a few minutes from the hotel. All the major attractions are within a 20 minute walk. We would definitely stay at this hotel again in a heartbeat and would recommend it to anyone going to Rome!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good central location

Posted Mar 14, 2016 on Hotels
The location was great, and we were able to easily walk everywhere. Unfortunately the wifi was not good, you always had to start over each time you used it. The shower door leaked a lot every time we took a shower. The staff if friendly and cheerful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Quintessential boutique hotel

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Such a quaint beautiful hotel! The staff were super helpful and knowledgable. The breakfast was lovely and we couldn't have asked for a better location of the hotel. The room itself was a little hot, however, would not put us off from returning.