Ratings based on 732 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Okay Hotel, close to the Vatican.

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Air conditioner and proximity to the Vatican.
Cons: They could advise us that some of the rooms are really far from the main lobby along with many stairs.
Location: The Vatican Museum.
Overall good hotel, the bathroom was a bit dirty. Had cracked tile, and mildew in the shower located in the grout lines. But nothing too bad. It was quite an okay hotel, slightly overpriced but okay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Experience about the check-in

Posted Jul 15, 2017
I had to spend 2 hours for checking. I had booked apartment for 5 people and they gave me three perso studio and I have to out two people from my family to stay with my friend's 2 BR apartment. They charged 30 euro per night for three night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stoke-On-Trent, UK.

Fantastic Base to Explore Rome

Posted May 11, 2017
This hotel was absolutely fantastic for our adventure in Rome. It is conveniently located 40 minutes from the Airport and in the shadow of the Vatican. I stayed here with my partner for approximately 4 days and it was perfect. The small apartment was ideal and empowered me with the flexibility to both eat in and out. The room was clean, well kept and well fitted. The bed was comfy, the bathroom clean and fresh and finally it was secure with a sturdy safe embedded in the wall. In relation to the location it is around the corner from the Vatican Museum Entrance and a few kilometres from Ancient Rome's centre. This might put some off but I enjoyed the walk as it encouraged us to explore the labyrinth of streets that make up Rome. Additionally an added bonus was that I actually lost a few pounds in weight and thanks to the Medderitan diet felt fantastic. Finally there is a supermarket and pharmacy within 150 yards (In the direction of the traffic). I'd strongly recommend this hotel to anybody looking for a well priced base from which to explore Rome, particularly those that seek to support the local economy. FYI Brits this hotel does provide kettles but it does not provide Tea in the room!!! However the supermarket down the road as aforementioned above sells a wide selection for less than €2.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location and Staff were amazing

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: staff made this hotel. Apartments clean and tidy. Free parking
Location: 5 minutes walk to Sistine Chapel and Vatican Museum & Hop on-Hop off buses. Shopping, supermarkets and restaurants within 100m. Excellent location
The Candia Residence, is in a fantastic location if you are wanting to visit the Vatican. Less than 5 minutes to the Sistine Chapel and the Vatican Museum and hop-on/hop off bus.. Staff gave us lots of information on things to do. Our bags did not arrive in Rome, and the staff followed up with Alitalia to ensure our bags arrived before we departed for our cruise. Only niggle we had was we had asked for two double beds, which was an option when we booked, but got an apartment with a double and three single beds, however the apartment was lovely and clean. Great for those on a budget looking for somewhere comfortable to stay, We would definitely stay here again
4 out of 5
by Kasia

walking distance from Vatican Museum

Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
It was lovely to have a cup of coffee on the balcony an enjoy the view of St. Peter's Cathedral
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

pleasantly surprised

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: LIVED UP TO EXPECTATIONS
Cons: 0
Location: CLOSE TO EVERYTHING FOR SIGHY SEEING
We travelled as a family group to sight see. The self catering aspect appealed we weren't planning on an "eating" holiday. Read reviews and thought we might be lucky and the good ones were accurate ,they were.There were 5 of us we got a room for three and two both had private terrace, used the small space well, found it very comfortable and safe. Been to city a few times now don't know if I'll return but would definitely return to hotel if I/we did.
5 out of 5
by GERARD

low price but great place next to Vatican

Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Hotels
Much better than I expected because of low price. Much more room than we needed and extra beds and kitchen including refrigerator. They also had room for me to park my car with no problem and let me leave it for a half day after I checked out. Great location. One or two blocks from entrance to Vatican. Also very close to Cipro Metro station that got us to Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain in five/ten minutes and Colosseum also very fast. The only slight issue was that the person at checkin did not know much about where to eat in the local area overall very good place to stay...with my wife and two teenage daughters. Not sure what to expect because of low price but very much exceeded my expectations
5 out of 5
by Eric

Posted Apr 7, 2017 on Hotels
Great room but it was very hot and AC didn't work well enough to cool room
4 out of 5
by Cheryl

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
Good location for Vatican,
5 out of 5
by Deepak Kumar

Excellent for family

Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Hotels
Me along with my family and my dearest friend Azamul Haque family had a wonderful stay at Residence Candia, during our Rome trip.The initial standard rooms they have reserved for us were not appreciable on our part and immediately the staff helped us and provided the bset available rooms.Our families just enjoyed being there, a great appartment property for all families we recommed.Value for money.