Ratings based on 724 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stoke-On-Trent, UK.

Fantastic Base to Explore Rome

Posted May 11, 2017
This hotel was absolutely fantastic for our adventure in Rome. It is conveniently located 40 minutes from the Airport and in the shadow of the Vatican. I stayed here with my partner for approximately 4 days and it was perfect. The small apartment was ideal and empowered me with the flexibility to both eat in and out. The room was clean, well kept and well fitted. The bed was comfy, the bathroom clean and fresh and finally it was secure with a sturdy safe embedded in the wall. In relation to the location it is around the corner from the Vatican Museum Entrance and a few kilometres from Ancient Rome's centre. This might put some off but I enjoyed the walk as it encouraged us to explore the labyrinth of streets that make up Rome. Additionally an added bonus was that I actually lost a few pounds in weight and thanks to the Medderitan diet felt fantastic. Finally there is a supermarket and pharmacy within 150 yards (In the direction of the traffic). I'd strongly recommend this hotel to anybody looking for a well priced base from which to explore Rome, particularly those that seek to support the local economy. FYI Brits this hotel does provide kettles but it does not provide Tea in the room!!! However the supermarket down the road as aforementioned above sells a wide selection for less than €2.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location and Staff were amazing

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: staff made this hotel. Apartments clean and tidy. Free parking
Location: 5 minutes walk to Sistine Chapel and Vatican Museum & Hop on-Hop off buses. Shopping, supermarkets and restaurants within 100m. Excellent location
The Candia Residence, is in a fantastic location if you are wanting to visit the Vatican. Less than 5 minutes to the Sistine Chapel and the Vatican Museum and hop-on/hop off bus.. Staff gave us lots of information on things to do. Our bags did not arrive in Rome, and the staff followed up with Alitalia to ensure our bags arrived before we departed for our cruise. Only niggle we had was we had asked for two double beds, which was an option when we booked, but got an apartment with a double and three single beds, however the apartment was lovely and clean. Great for those on a budget looking for somewhere comfortable to stay, We would definitely stay here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

pleasantly surprised

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: LIVED UP TO EXPECTATIONS
Cons: 0
Location: CLOSE TO EVERYTHING FOR SIGHY SEEING
We travelled as a family group to sight see. The self catering aspect appealed we weren't planning on an "eating" holiday. Read reviews and thought we might be lucky and the good ones were accurate ,they were.There were 5 of us we got a room for three and two both had private terrace, used the small space well, found it very comfortable and safe. Been to city a few times now don't know if I'll return but would definitely return to hotel if I/we did.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Bed horrible. Two twins is not a thing. Stiff and uncomfortable. Ac didn't work. Hot. Cleaning was loud in mornings. Current 4.1/5 is a joke
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Very convenient location near Vatican & Metro. Great little restaurant around the corner. Clean and quiet - great base for families.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 12, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Home away from home

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Residence Candia is like your own home. Spacious, clean, secure, friendly staff. Close to the main attractions in the Vatican and lots of restaurants and shops nearby. The only complaint we have was the noise from the room above where you can hear foot steps at night. The hotel should provide dishwashing liquid. Having laundry facilities (washer/dryer) with free detergent is a big advantage. Beds are not really comfortable but ok. Be aware of huge city tax as you will pay it at check out time. Above all, it was a nice home away from home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs, CO

Heart of Vatican City

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Updated, comfortable and close to everything in safe area.
Location: Vatican city just minutes away. Great cafes and restaurants near by.
This hotel was only blocks from the Sisteen Chapel and Vatican City. Excellent small apartment including a washing machine. Room was updated and extremely comfortable. Just a few blocks from subway and other tourist attractions. Staff was attentive and helpful with tourist info. Just loved this place.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay in Rome

Posted Dec 30, 2016 on Hotels
We had a great stay at Residence Candia. This is a good place to stay, during winter when it's cold. Only glitch was they assigned us a large apartment #222 on our first night. The apartment #222 seemed to be suitable for several strangers sharing the rooms, not for family; it looked like a dormitory, not a residence. Besides it had electricity problem.s. It shut down several times while we were taking showers, and I had to go to the fuse box and turn the switch on again and again. The apartment only had the air heat pumps in each room, and it felt really dry. I still don't get why the guy at the front desk assigned us to #222 when he had other more suitable rooms available. Next morning I complained and they moved us to apartment #242 on the 4th floor. 242 was smaller, but still had 3 bed rooms with 6 beds. It was better equipped and also had a lot of sunshine in the morning. Also it had steam heater, which worked much better than the air heat pump in #222. The sunshine and the steam heater kept us nice and warm for our remaining stay in Rome. Except for the first night, the overall experience was good. While the bed cover looked rather faded, the bed itself is comfortable. There is Carrefour open 24 hours about 400 meters away. It was convenient to get food items. The metro station is only 300 meters away (Cipro), and you can get on the bus within 50 meters. It's situated only 5 minutes by walk from Vatican museum.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Wonderful!

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: very helpful staff
Cons: the dampness
Location: the Vatican city was great!
The hotel staff was wonderful and very helpful. Our room was clean and always kept up. However, my daughter is staying in the hotel for Temple students- their area is very damp and I could smell the musty odor. I do think the hotel needs to address that area.