Ratings based on 261 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Close to everything!

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Easy check-in. Cozy little hotel. Nice staff. Clean rooms. If you're used to a lot of big hotel amenities, this is not the right place for you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2016 by Customer Care Department Residenza Frattina, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your nice words, we are glad you enjoyed your experience at Residenza Frattina. Delivering a great and warm service is one of our biggest ambition and we are really happy when we see that our efforts meet our Guests satisfaction. We are looking forward to have you here with us very soon. Warmest regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Paisley, Scotland

Don't waste your time looking elsewhere 😃

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Location and services. Friendliness of staff.
Cons: Not much!
Location: Literally just minutes from most places you would want to visit.
If you are looking for a centrally located place to stay in Rome this is the place for you. My wife, 2 girls and I booked the quadruple room for three nights. Breakfast was included as was free minibar, and free tea/coffee and baked goods in the afternoons. Just what you need after a long morning sightseeing! We were made very welcome from the moment we checked in and the staff were very helpful. We booked transfers to and from the airport which as first time visitors to Rome I would recommend. The hotel did all that for us. The room was comfortable and the free WiFi kept the girls amused in the evenings. The location is minutes from the Spanish Steps and about 10 minutes walk from Trevi Fountain. We walked everywhere. It's about 20 minutes to the Colosseum and maybe 30 minutes to the Vatican...and that is just at strolling pace. We tossed a coin in the fountain so we are destined to return. When we do I would definitely come back here!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 30, 2016 by Customer Care Department Residenza Frattina, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We thank you so much for your nice words regarding your stay! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us, both for our location and our services. We hope to see you again in the next future. Best regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great little guest house, centrally located.

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: Not part of a chain so had a charming and independant character all of its own.
Cons: Not for some people as it is 2 flights of stairs up from the street, though not a problem for us.
Location: Less than 10 mins to Metro and Spanish steps, easy walk to Trevi fountain & Pantheon, other attractions a bit further.
We were absolutely delighted with the guest house having chosen it as much for its reasonable value than anything else! We (2 adults plus 18 and 16 yr old kids) stayed in the quadruple room, ours was on the second floor between reception and the dining room. The room was a good size, the loo and brilliant shower were separate which was an unexpected bonus. With a 6ft 2" son, I was worried the kids would be on the small single roll out style beds, but theirs were full size singles and ours was the sofa bed,all extremely comfortable and firm. Rooms were spotless, supplied with fresh towels each day, minibar in our room was restocked each day with complimentary soft drinks and water. We also made good use of the lounge/dining room. Breakfast was a generous continental style, (Pastries, croissants, rolls, toast, cold meats, bacon, scrambled egg, fruit salad, cereals, juices, yogurts, coffee and tea) and throughout the day there were croissants and sweet biscuits available should you decide to pop in for a break from the heat or for your feet! Some reviews were negative about noise, our room faced courtyard so no noise from street. Only noise we had was inconsiderate guests who forget they are walking past peoples rooms on the way to theirs, that could happen anywhere! The other noise was the sound of hoovering in the daytime, you can't complain about staff cleaning, so no negatives about noise from us!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rome

Central Rome Hotel

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: The location was the best thing.
Cons: The wifi in the room wasn't great, but it worked very well in the lounge.
Location: Right in the centre of Rome so you can walk to the main tourist sites, Vatican, Colosseum, etc etc.
The hotel is small, the rooms are bijoux. The staff are welcoming & friendly so all good so far. The very best thing about this hotel is its location. My wife and I walked everywhere we wanted to go to as the hotel is so central. This allowed us to enjoy the Rome sunshine and to take in so much more of the city than if we had been in taxis or used the Metro.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Staff very helpful & friendly. Right in the heart of the shopping centre & next to the Spanish steps. If u want to experience how the Italians live then this is the hotel for u. The hotel is in an apartment block so very quiet. However only has repetition staff until 7pm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Australia

Location

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: Its location
Cons: There is no elevator which makes it difficult when you have luggage. There is a porter but we left at 6.30 in the morning and reception was closed.
Location: Close to Spanish Steps and walking distance to every other attractions. Metro nearby, great restaurants also close by.
Overall a lovely hotel. Close to all attractions. Metro nearby. We took the metro to the Vatican. Hotel provides free coffee/tea and cakes throughout the day and free barfridge which is stocked everyday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We had a very nice stay.Best location.

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Great experience.Breakfast was great .Staff helped in providing information regarding metro .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good hotel, excellent location

Posted Aug 16, 2016
The location is excellent, could easily walk anywhere in the hystoric area. Great shopping around, hundreds of dinning options within 10 min walk. You will be practically in the heart of the old city of Rome. No car access (special access permit required) but there are very good access options. The room was comfy enough for what was needed since we were only there to shower and sleep. Good breakfast included and excellent hotel staff. Thank you!😀
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Canada

excellent location

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: somebody work the desk 24 hours
Location: Trevi fountain Spanish steps Pantheon all very close within 10 min walking distance.
central to top tourist sites, hotel part of residential complex as well, felt strange at first lobby is on the second level and rooms are spread out through the building. Did not like when we ended on the 3rd floor mixed with residential rooms as did not feel secure. We moved to second floor around the lobby area on the second night. The hot water furnace for our room was not working on the 3rd floor and no shower curtain very strange. The morning breakfast offerings where okay service was excellent for breakfast. Wifi was good along with AC
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Great Central Location

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: location and staff. Room size was good. Leisurely attitude to guests - no pressure. Friendly staff made us feel very welcome.
Cons: air conditioning
Location: Spanish Steps, Trevvi Fountain and most things easy to get to on foot. All Rome sites - Collosseum, Vatican etc
Town House - ideally situated to get to local sites easily (central location). Room spacious and well apportioned. Only down for us was air con could have done with a bit more output (sure fine for most visitors) given the temperatures. Located in fairly busy street so prepare for some noise 'till late evening but nothing too much of issue. Breakfast was usual fayre but well presented and varied to our tastes.