Ratings based on 168 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the Vatican

Posted May 30, 2017
Staying here was more than just a place to sleep. It was an experience. The terrace was just fantastic we had a view of the pope giving his Sunday blessing without any crowds. The staff were amazing, so helpful and friendly. We plan on going back and we will not stay anyplace but here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by SL, Hotel Management
Dear Dee, We would like to express our sincerest thanks for your kind words observation you sent us regarding services at our hotel. Your suggestions, appreciations and trust in our staff and services makes us very proud of our daily work and urge us to do our best. Thank you again for being our guests and we really look forward to welcoming you again very soon. Kind regards from all our staff, Residenza Paolo VI
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Simple, yet comfortable. Location is phenomenal and breakfast was great. Excellent staff and what it lacks in room size is more than made up for by the location to Vatican City. I've stayed there 3 times now and wouldn't stay anywhere else in Rome.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Inspiring atmosphere

Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Hotels
Everything was wonderful. The only small defect I found was the food. They evidently do not have the facility to provide fresh Italian food - a shame. The view from their terrace made up for this.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Uk

Brilliant Location

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: Terrace, location and food
Cons: More sockets
Location: The edge of St Peters square is 30 feet away!! It's Rome,mid you can't find something to see or do.. well !
Perfect location for St Peters Square, great value in that respect. Room was on the smallish side for two, but functional. Power sockets were limited so bring a double adapter for all those devices that need charging. Food was lovely and the terrace has amazing views. Staff were friendly.
4 out of 5
by Nicole

Awesome!

Posted Mar 16, 2017 on Hotels
The staff is very nice and our room was cleaned everyday we were there which was 12 days. It was nice to have breakfast served every morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Excellent location

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: The terrace to be open for the customers
Location: St Peter's Square is so close, lovely to be so near to the Vatican. You can walk to all the main sites from the hotel.
Wonderful hotel, friendly staff, quiet and superb location
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Location, Tight RoomPoor Service & Management

Posted Dec 30, 2016
We chose this place because of the images showing a high class restaurant at the door step of the Vatican. We paid £170 /night for Bed and Breakfast. The location wasgreat, the breakfast was reasonable.There were no facilities to make hot drinks, the small bathroom had no heating and the TV had 2 channels in Italian, on our first night we had 2 English Channels which subsequently disappeared. On the night of Christmas Eve, we started queing at 5.00pm for Mass at St Peter's.When we returned it was about 11.30pm, we were told the bar was open, only 1 lady was doing everything for about 20 people. there were no tables free, she could not attend to us so i left, she shouted after me as i left. My husband managed to get some hot water after putting up with her ranting and raving. I told reception she was alone and could not serve us, his answer was - what do you expect me to do, it is her job. Next day we were speaking with a friend of ours in the reception as our room was too small when the day receptionis shouted out that we should go to the bar where Francesca was waiting. She said from her desk I heard all about what happened yesterday. I was so totally embarassed I did not know what to do, my husband excused himself and went off to our room. We felt our privacy was compromised. Indeed a very bad business, fortunately my guest was polite and did not pry. It is up to the management to retrain their staff. I do not like being shouted at by hotel staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient but hard to get in & out

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
I was actually disappointed in this hotel. The hotel is a 4 star rating but felt more like a 2 or 3 star. The location was great if you want to be next to the church but it was very difficult to get picked up & dropped off for cabs and tours since the streets are closed off to the public due to safety for the pope.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

This is the best hotel in Rome!!

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Location: The hotel is across the street from Vatican Square; restaurants are walking distance away.
We had an absolutely wonderful experience at the Residenzia San Paolo VI. The rooms were furnished with high quality furniture. The bathroom facilities were modern and very clean. The atmosphere was serene; the staff friendly and helpful; the morning breakfast was excellent; the location was absolutely the best.. no need for a taxi. We have been to Rome on three other occasions but this hotel was better than all the rest!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient & but not easy to get transportation

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
My overall stay was just ok, extremely hard to get cabs, dropped off or picked up for tours and cabs due to the popes/mass schedule. The hotel is a 4 star but felt more like a 2 1/2 maybe 3 star.