Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Benjamin from Montreal

Great little hotel near the Vatican

Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice,friendly staff,good restaurants nearby. Definitely a great find
5 out of 5
by John from Sheffield

Rome City Break

Posted Jun 12, 2016 on Hotels
Nice quiet location close to Vatican / St Pauls Square and walking distance to other attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, UK

Great hotel, great location

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Maybe a sausage, bacon and egg choice at breakfast.
Location: Very near to the Vatican, 2 seconds away from a metro station, great cafes, bars and restaurants all nearby...
Perfect place to stay, WOW factor from the front doors, then the lift and then the guesthouse, was made to feel welcome straight away, was perfect from start to finish, breakfast amazing and staff very helpful... Would stay again, worth every penny.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Good hotel, great location

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Small room, but great price. VERY clean and updated. Staff is super friendly, breakfast is good - croissants, meats and cheeses, yogurt, coffee, juice, etc. Great location - 5 minute walk to the Vatican - you can see St. Peter's Basilica if you're on the correct side. Small hotel, only five rooms - more like a bed and breakfast, with your own bathroom in your room, etc. If you're looking for typical Marriott-style hotel, this is not it. But great for laying your head at night!
5 out of 5
by anne from Istanbul

Great find in Rome

Posted Nov 9, 2014 on Hotels
Enjoyed our stay in this residence very much, the girl on reception was lovely and so helpful , she welcomed us with a coffee and helped with transfers /tickets as well as printing boarding passes and giving recommendations for dinner locally, the breakfast was very limited but was enough, it was a ten minute walk to the vatican and only five mins to the closest underground stop. The room was nice with matching furniture, plenty hangers, the bathroom had a wonderful shower, (would have liked some coffee making facilities but it was not a problem) the price for Rome was excellent and we were happy with our choice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Nice clean hotel close to the Vatican City.

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, good location, clean rooms.
Cons: Although we were very happy with the standard of the rooms and the helpfulness of the staff, I think it was a little costly compared to others.
Location: Very close to the Vatican City and St Peters Basilica. 30min walk to the Pantheon.
The rooms were not easy to find - the only indicator is a small title on a brass plaque on the door. Once up on the 5th floor (using a quaint old style cage elevator) we were welcomed to the rooms by the receptionist and shown the facilities and our room. The room was not large but was perfect for our needs, as we spent most of the time in the city. It was spotlessly clean, had a great shower, and was well decorated. Breakfast was good. On return on the 3rd day of our 3 night stay, there was a strong smell of drains in the communal rooms but thankfully this didn't persist in the room. We asked to have access to the roof to see the Basilica and Vatican. It had a great view of the whole city, and would be worth developing it to allow access for all hotel guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Fantastic location and very comfortable and modern

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: Location, comfort and staff
Cons: No
Excellent location, great cafe area and close to most attractions, very comfortable and contemporary rooms
4 out of 5
by Kirsten from Australia

A gem with great service in a great location

Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels
Had a lovely time in this new elegant boutique hotel - location in nice quiet neighborhood near Vatican with great restaurants but a decent walk to centre area. Rooms are small but lovely with nice view. Service outstanding and includes excellent recommendations and advice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Matt from Boston, Massachusetts

Superb Perfection!!!

Posted May 20, 2014
Marta and Fernando are awesome! They helped me plan my itinerary daily which allowed me to save tons of time and get the most out of my stay in Rome. Breakfast is great every morning as Marta makes and serves gourmet espresso and cappuccino to your table. The rooms are clean, comfortable and modern with all the amenities one could desire. The location is great, close to St.Peters Square and Vatican City in a leisurely 5 minute walk. Metro stop as well in a short walk. Great neighborhood with plenty of nice and more then affordable restaurant's which Marta and Fernando are also happy to recommend and reserve for you if needed. Overall the Residenza Scipioni could not be better! Bravo!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Patricia from Moscow

Wonderful place to stay

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: The hotel was truly a cut above regular hotels I have stayed in. Very tastefully decorated. a single room felt spacious.
Cons: The breakfast pastries should be downsized. The ones served were too large, almost double what you would expect.
Location: Close to the Vatican, metro, shopping on the Cola de Rienzo street. Good links on metro and buses to other areas of interest in Rome.
I have visited Rome on many occasions and this was the first time I stayed in such a nice private residence. Immaculately clean, and great location. Close to the Vatican, Metro stop, great shopping street and nice lively area. The hosts were very friendly, full of helpful suggestions and great restaurant recommendations so that you can experience life a la Romana rather than falling into tourist traps. The area felt very safe and lots of people around all the time. Very quiet as well. Enjoyed my time here and will return.