Ratings based on 1,842 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from west midlands

Excellent location

Posted Feb 25, 2017
A lovely hotel with staff who could not do enough for you to make you comfortable. Very clean everywhere! The location was brilliant very easy walking distance to all the tourist attractiins and metro station in the doorsrep! My only critism would be, very small room and got very hot, and the breakfast in my opinion wasn't great. There was a free buffet every night with sandwiches crisps and nibbles thathe was perfect! I would certainly stay again. Thank you river palace!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and clean hotel near main attractions

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Loved every minute of Rome and hotel added to the holiday's enjoyment
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Lovely hotel

Posted Feb 21, 2017
The basic rooms are small, we were offered an upgrade and it was fab. Clean rooms and bathrooms, staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was lovely and happy hour with free bar snacks was just what was needed after a day sightseeing. Hotel is placed in an ideal location for all the main attractions. Would highly recommend this hotel and would stay again if we return!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Nice hotel, friendly and helpful staff but standard rooms are very small, get an upgrade. Good happy 😄 hour at the bar.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Fabulous location

Posted Feb 19, 2017
We stayed 3 days and two nights at the hotel with breakfast included. I'm so glad that we chose the hotel purely on the basis of location, we are a family of 4 and we were able to walk to all the local site seeing hotspots. The metro is around the corner too and easy to use, children under 10 travel free also. The hotel needs some renovating, our room was a little tatty purely from age. The ceiling of he bathroom was crumbling away, the taps were old and well used. The carpet was worn. However the hotel was clean. The breakfast was great, good selection of a variety of things to have in the morning. The people in Italy can be abrupt and not very friendly, queuing is a bit of a fight. I was on the metro at least 5 times and I am nearly 8 months pregnant (very obviously) and was not offered a seat once and was pushed about many times that my husband would have to hold me to stop me from falling down. Hospitality is something to be desired. However the nicest, warmest and friendliest people we came across were the hotel staff. Very helpful and great English. I would recommend the hotel on the basis of staff, location and breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Location

Posted Feb 18, 2017
The hotel is close to the Metro, tram and other public transport. It's within walking distance of many of the historical sights. The choice of restaurants is plentiful and varied.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from yorkshire uk

Nice hotel close to all amenities

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Good staff, bat, breakfast very clean stay here again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York NY

Location

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Bigger rooms
Location: The hotel has an excellent location, walking distance to major touristic sites
The hotel has an excellent location, walking distance to major touristic sites The stuff is very nice and helpful, however the room is a bit small
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel!!

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Have to say - and I travel a lot - nothing
Fabulous accommodating staff - great location - hotel fabulous!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Elegant convenient location

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Pros: Public areas, décor, staff, service, room, cocktail bar, location, well-maintained
Cons: Milk for tea in the room (condensed milk was provided). Only one fire exit for top floors
Location: You can reach the main attractions on foot (coliseum, st Peter's). Nearer Piazza del Popolo.(cafes, shops), Pantheon, Trevi fountains, Spanish steps
This was our first trip to Rome and we wanted a comfortable hotel near the main attractions. Our expectations were surpassed. The hotel staff were welcoming and went out of their way to be helpful. The room was well appointed, elegant and quiet and although relatively compact was well arranged. Breakfast was comprehensive including a glass of prosecco if you wished! A particularly nice touch was the happy hour where bar cocktails were half price and free hors d'oeuvres were available. It brought life to the comfortable lounge area every evening. We were able to walk to all the main places in Rome (coliseum, St Peter's, restaurant and shops) and did not need to use the metro. We booked the shuttle service between the airport and hotel which made the transfer stress free. All in all a good experience!