Ratings based on 1,733 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from GA

Within walking distance to the Spanish Steps

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: The cleanliness & the staff.
Cons: Only if rooms could be a bit larger.
Location: Even though it's a bit north it isn't far to the Spanish Steps. Trevi Fountain, Pantheon & Piazza Navona are within walking distance.
The hotel is just a bit north of Piazza del Popolo. The staff could not do more for us. Even at breakfast they remembered the type of coffee we drank & nearly everything you could want was available. The bar had a great variety of snacks in the evening. The hotel was very plush & fancy.....although the rooms were a bit small.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT, USA

Very nice hotel!

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: The staff,location and cleanliness!
Location: Great location, very close to the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, St. Peter's Basilica, Roman Forum, Colosseum and Villa Borghese!
The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful! The hotel was great, with good breakfast and fantastic location!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Excellent hotel close to all Rome's attractions

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Situated close to everything and has brilliant amenities
Location: Withing walking distance to The Spanish Steps, Trevi fountain, Pantheon and colleseum.
Second stay at the River Palace, brilliant hotel with excellent staff. The happy hour in the bar very night between 5 & 10pm is great, the free bar snacks are amazing. Great hotel all around, would highly recommend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Schönes Hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Das Hotel ist super gelegen, nur ca. 3 min bis zur Piazza del Popolo, sehr freundliches und hilfseeites Personal, sehr sauber, sehr gutes Frühstück, Standardzimmer klein aber ausreichend
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Great Hotel Close to Everything

Posted Sep 19, 2016
This wonderful hotel is two blocks from the Piazza del Popolo and easy walking distance to the Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon and Vatican City. Very nice bar right off the lobby and a breakfast with a great variety. Hotel staff were welcoming and very helpful with recommendations.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Lovely and convenient hotel

Posted Sep 17, 2016
The hotel staff were just wonderful from the moment we arrived through to check out. The hotel had a happy hour every evening from 5 which was great value and we enjoyed meeting other guests there before heading out to dinner. The facilities and room were good and after traveling for nearly 2 weeks, we found the bed really comfortable so slept really well. The location was great because it was 5mins from the metro station but we could also walk if we chose to lots of attractions.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C

Very nice hotel close to the Piazza del Popolo

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Perfect location for walking to the shopping district, Trevi Fountain, Pantheon and Vatican City. Great little bar and breakfast. Staff was very gracious and helpful!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice Hotel

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: Staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
Cons: The bed was very firm, continental breakfast was good but the "hot" options were very poor. Tea was self service from a flask which was lukewarm.
Location: Location is good if you don't mind moderate walking
Hotel is approx 10 minute walk from one of the main shopping areas and a 20 minute walk from the Spanish Steps (we timed it). We took the hop on/off bus on the first morning of our stay just to get our bearings, but after that we walked to all the main attractions (Colosseum approx 50 mins). Definitely consider getting the "skip the line" tickets for Colosseum as the queues were 2/3 hours to get in. There are numerous tour companies touting for business outside and as far as we could see they were all offering the same service and tour, we paid 30 euros each and that included the Colosseum and the Roman Forum opposite, together it took approx 4 hrs.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from alberta canada

Lovely place to stay

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: Old style charm, front desk staff, room was small but very well appointed, breakfast was good...
Location: Good location
Loved this hotel...nice breakfast and the happy hour is a real bonus The staff were really accommodating, helped us book tours, always greeted us going in or out of the hotel, and good suggestions for dining. The location is just on the edge of the Rome centre core. The good shopping district is very close, and you can walk to most sites easily. I would definitely return here.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Max and staff went above and beyond for us. From arranging taxis to pickups couldn't have been more accommodating.