Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belgrade, Serbia

Excellent place to stay

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: Very clean, centrally located, very nice staff.
Cons: Everything was excellent.
Location: All important sightseeing are close by.
This place has a great location. Once you settle, it is very easy to get to the best attractions in Rome. It is maximum 10 minutes walking to the very center of the city. The room was very clean and the lady who waited for us was so nice! She would wake us up in the morning with the coffee and fresh toast and cheese. Not the best possible meal, but more than enough to have before heading to the city. We stayed here for 5 days and we highly recommend this place. Even though the room was quite small, it was more than enough. We also had our own toilette, and the lady was changing the towels for us every day!
2 out of 5
by Kamala from New York

Stay at Roma CentrArte

Posted Dec 26, 2013 on Hotels
This is an one bedroom apartment with one bathroom. While the location is very good, the amenities are bare bones. Also they did not accept Credit Cards and had to go running to the bank for withdrawals. We went in December and I think there are better options for off peak.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2014 by lv, Hotel Management
Dear Mrs Kamala, we are very sorry you have had to withdraw, but unfortunately , as we have explained to you, the 26th (vacation day...) nobody was available to fix the credit card machine... Thanks in any case to be come.
1 out of 5
by CN from Marseille

Worst ever experience with "hotel" staff

Posted Dec 19, 2013 on Hotels
My recent booking of Roma CentrArte did not go as planned. After arriving in Rome, we went to the address provided on the hotels.com website. The building was not clearly marked but we eventually found the buzzer on the entryway that said centrarte and rang it for about 10 min. with no answer. Then, someone happened to exit the building and let us in. No sign of anyone who could help us. We tried calling the number provided on the site 4 times throughout the afternoon with no answer. Finally we had to book another hotel. To straighten things out I tried calling the number again at 10 pm and finally got an answer. The man on the phone asked me to call another number, which I proceeded to do. I spoke with a very rude lady that would barely let me speak. When I asked her to cancel the booking for the reasons I listed above she called me a liar and hung up on me. Having traveled to many places in the world, I've seen a lot of different hotels, but this experience is thus far the worst I've had with and service staff.
1 out of 5
by Mylen from Dubai

Worst experience

Posted Nov 4, 2013 on Hotels
They transfer us to the other hotel informing us that they made a mistake. But in the website it is the exact hotel that we book. They ask us to move on the next day but I was already in the train station to go to Vatican and my husband just went back to collect something. We ask them that we will talk to them once we are back. Then once we are back we saw our luggage outside the room and there are already new family in our rooms and they informed us the the management informed them they we are checking out but our booking is until 01st November. It was a very humiliating experience for us. We paid for that hotel and in the website thats the exactly hotel that we booked but in the end they put us on the other hotel just to give our room to the other family.
5 out of 5
by NG

Excellent welcome to Rome

Posted Jul 24, 2012 on Hotels
Basic but clean, quiet rooms within walking distance to the Trevi Fountain, Pantheon, Colloseum, Spanish steps and most Rome sights. The owner of the apartments is incredibly welcoming and takes the time to give you a map, recommend routes and restaurants and anything else you might need help with. Perfect for for a central stay on a budget.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Montana

True value in Rome

Posted May 15, 2012
We were given cream cheese, bread, milk, juice & more for breakfast in our room. Whatever questions we had, we emailed & were promptly answered. The couple renting out the apartments are so nice & really concerned about their guests comfort. We learned the Metro tho we were within walking distance of all the sights, including the hip section of Serpetini road where we will dine during our return the end of the month. For a really deluxe experience try the 1 bedroom apartment incl washing machine & balcony which my sister had. Near grocery store...only downside was that cleaning wasn't incl.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent Apartment in the center of the action!

Posted Mar 5, 2012 on Hotels
Very convenient location near the train station and a 10 minute walk to most of the attractions. Friendly treatment from management. In the apartment you are on your own and no internet is available, however internet can be obtained at a local business. 3 minute walk to a grocery store for that bottle(s) of Chianti and breakfast fixings. A teapot/coffee pot would be a nice addition. Would definitely return and plan to some day!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Recommended

Posted Oct 6, 2011 on Hotels
We stayed in the bed & breakfast part the first night and then transferred to a small apartment for the next nights. The 1st night was fine -- the bathroom was down the hall, but only for our use. The breakfast was a loaf of bread and some juice - no breakfast at the apartment for 4 people. However, the place was nice - especially the apartment - very clean and new. The proprietor was great. It is in a great location on Nationale - close enough to walk from Termini Station. Overall, a great choice and we would stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

not really a hotel. room 2 with steps is unaceptable.

Posted Sep 20, 2011
a 3 room only hotel which the room number 2 being very small and completely impracticle. the reason is that the ceiling might have been high once but now a mezzanine level has been built so the upstairs resulting room has a ceiling so low that noone can stand in it and the double bed placed there is placed such as one of the sleeper cannot sit upright in it and no reading light upstairs either. the metal narrow spiral staircase that leads up to the mezzanine level is very dangerous and so narrow a lugage cannot be hauled up it. breakfast is also unacceptable and made of a jar of nescafe, a UHT pack of milk and tetra pack of juice, a pack of slice bread which was not replaced in the many days there but no toaster and no plates, no butter), a jar of jam, a few packs of commercially plastic wrapped croissants which we were told could be warmed up in the microwave oven placed in the common corridor.... not a breakfast that you look forward to when you wake up in Rome . otherwise a good quiet position though access is difficult . otherwise friendly staff and the management does try to be helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Small but well placed

Posted Sep 16, 2011
Fab hotel to stay in and in a great location. Central to all of the sites. Owner is really friendly and happy to help. Only let down was that we got the room that didn't have an ensuite.