Ratings based on 1,010 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Classy and hospitable with great comfort

Posted Nov 13, 2016
our last stay here was in 2010 and even after 6 years it remains classy and elegant. However there was some wear in the loveseat cushions. That was the only noticeable lack of elegance. The dining room is comfortable and food quality high. We were just disappointed that we were not able to dine at Le Pergola again since it was fully booked for a month. Reserving some spots for hotel guests would be appreciated in future. The staff is accommodating and pleasant. The quiet of the rooms Is appreciated. The free Daily shuttle service to Barberini is an excellent feature for accessibility to the city sights.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2016 by Roberta Rossi, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for writing a review about your recent stay at the Rome Cavalieri Waldorf Astoria. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed the location, hotel and service. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Roberta Rossi Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Amsterdam

Fantastische uitval basis

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Ruime kamer, balkon, uitgebreid ontbijt buffet, buitenzwembad.
Cons: De conciërge zei dat we na uitchecken nog gebruik konden maken van het buiten zwembad. Na 2 uur werden we er echter door een hotel medewerker gewezen dat we 18 euro moesten betalen om nog verder gebruik te maken van de ligstoelen rond het zwembad.
Location: Op een heuvel met uitzicht op de binnenstad. met het shuttle busje (gratis) in 20 min. in Rome
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2016 by roberta rossi, Hotel Management
Dear Eva, Thank you very much for writing a review about your recent stay at the Rome Cavalieri Waldorf Astoria. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed the location, hotel and service. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Roberta Rossi Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Excellent Hotel & Service

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: location, staff and service - rooms are very very spacious, especially for European rooms
Cons: location -double edged sword since it's further out from the City center BUT it's also great because you get away from the insanity of the City Center
Location: this Hotel is located out of the City Center and in a residential area, so, you can't step out and go to a local restaurant unless you take a taxi.
everything you'd expect from a Waldorf Property - it's located in a residential area, which is a double edged sword. It's a beautiful property and has a few restaurants on site. The restaurants are pricey in relation to the cafe's and such located in the City Center, but the service is top notch as if the food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 28, 2016 by roberta Rossi, Hotel Management
Dear Susan, Thank you very much for writing a review about your recent stay at the Rome Cavalieri Waldorf Astoria. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed the location, hotel and service. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Roberta Rossi Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco Bay Area

AHHHHHHHH-Mazing! Best night sleep on vacation!!!

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: The beds were amazing!
Cons: Pricing for the bar was a bit high but your at the Hotel Cavalieri ... it seems to be within reason.
Location: It is a bit out of city center. They have a shuttle that can drop you off by the Spanish Steps. Alternatively you can take a taxi.
What is not to love about the Hotel Cavalieri in Roma? NOTHING! The hotel is a bit out of city center which we personally liked. They offered a shuttle service almost hourly that took you a few miles walk from the Spanish steps. When we did not use the shuttle, cabs were always nearby and the average cost was under $15-20 Euro day or night with or without traffic. The hotel offered great dinner recommendations and made reservations for us when we were busy on tours during the day. The rooms were so comfortable that we wanted to buy the mattresses. No seriously. It was like a perfect min vacation at the end of a wonderful walking tour of Rome. Would recommend it and would definitely attempt to stay here again. It looses a star only due to the fact theta we had a do not disturb siogn on our door and they came in the room anyway.... they rearrange all of my personal toiletries' and made my negligée into some sort of design on the bed. Little odd for us ..... Other than that, the room was super comfortable. I wanted to stay one more day!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 30, 2016 by roberta rossi, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this great review! All of the Rome Cavalieri team are happy to read that we exceeded your expectations with the hotel and the service received. We appreciate your kind words and hope you will come back soon. Yours sincerely, Roberta Rossi Front office Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel, great amenities, but pricy

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Great experience overall and would recommend. Certain amenities were overpriced, but the staff was excellent. A distance from the city center but the free shuttle was very easy, other than the 3 hour siesta period in the afternoon.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2016 by roberta rossi, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for writing a review about your recent stay at the Rome Cavalieri Waldorf Astoria. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed the location, hotel and service. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Roberta Rossi Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Fantastic hotel with a beautiful pool. A little far from Vatican but overlooks whole city.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2016 by roberta.rossi@waldorfastoria.com, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for writing a review about your recent stay at the Rome Cavalieri Waldorf Astoria. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed the location, hotel and service. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Roberta Rossi Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Excellent Hotel

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Cons: Really need on site self serve parking.
Location: Great view. The hotel is in the suburbs about a 25 minute shuttle ride into city center. There are a few restaurants within walking distance.
Lovely hotel. Our 2nd visit and we would not hesitate to return. This is a luxury hotel and priced accordingly. If you can book a promo sale, do it and spoil yourself!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2016 by roberta.rossi@waldorfastoria.com, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for writing a review about your recent stay at the Rome Cavalieri Waldorf Astoria. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed the location, hotel and service. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Roberta Rossi Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Puglia

POLVERE DI STELLE

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Personale della reception cortese, preparato e disponibile. Servizio navetta utilissimo. Camera ampia e luminosa anche se con qualche defaillance.
Cons: Materasso della camera da sostituire. Servizio manutenzione poco efficiente. Da rivedere totalmente la politica del ristorante L'Uliveto.
Location: Albergo situato praticamente fuori Roma ma il servizio navetta risolve più di un problema.
Albergo un po' decadente soprattutto per quanto concerne gli esterni. Personale della reception valido e efficiente, però nessuno ci ha accompagnati in camera, pecca gravissima per un hotel che"dovrebbe"essere un 5 stelle!!! Camera pulita, ampia e luminosa, letto grande ma devo evidenziare un materasso da incubo che sembrava praticamente un terreno a zolle e lo scarico del lavandino intasato per cui l'acqua ristagnava. Esperienza al ristorante L'Uliveto da dimenticare....personale fuori controllo e direi piuttosto accelerati...chi lasciava cadere posate, chi faceva a gara a riempirti il bicchiere di vino bianco che nel frattempo si riscaldava il tutto evidentemente finalizzato al consumo di un'ulteriore bottiglia di vino....roba da osteria di bassifondi dove bisogna uscire ubriachi! Inoltre ci hanno servito una sottospecie di olio extravergine(??) di oliva che sapeva di morchia francamente immangiabile(fatto notare al maìtre); chiesto il conto, dapprima mi arriva un portaconto vuoto(pensavo fosse uno scherzo!!) poi, finalmente, mi arriva il salasso che avrebbe fatto impallidire un due stelle! No, così non va proprio bene, proprio non va. Colazione di ottimo livello, decisamente abbondante, di tutto di più e location all'aperto carina. Eccellente e funzionale il servizio navetta per il centro di Roma, autista molto cortese, educato e disponibile. Da segnalare in negativo che a qualsiasi ora si trovano bottiglie, piatti, bicchieri e quant'altro fuori dalla camere...ma perché???
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2016 by roberta.rossi@waldorfastoria.com, Hotel Management
Gentile Michele, Ci dispiace apprendere del suo disagio, ciò nonostante le siamo molto riconoscenti per la recensione su Booking in merito al suo soggiorno nel nostro albergo. Siamo rammaricati di leggere che i servizi offerti dalla nostra struttura non siano stati all'altezza gli standard a cui gli Ospiti Waldorf sono abituati ed apprezziamo il fatto di essere informati circa le lacune emerse nel servizio. Accogliamo i suoi preziosi commenti che verranno esaminati a fondo e speriamo di poterla accogliere nuovamente al Rome Cavalieri. Cordiali saluti, Roberta Rossi Capo Ricevimento
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Luxurious

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Top hotel. Good & drink expensive & need to get shuttle into Centre. Rooms very comfortable with fabulous views.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2016 by roberta.rossi@waldorfastoria.com, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for writing a review about your recent stay at the Rome Cavalieri Waldorf Astoria. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed the location, hotel and service. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Roberta Rossi Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto

Great Hotel

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: Clean all over. Professional staff. Great views, great food.
Cons: not much all.
Location: It was on top of the hill over looking the City, and their shuttle service was all you needed to go downtown.
If I go back to Rome, I would definitely stay here, Great view, Great staff, Great room, everything you would asked for is at this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2016 by roberta.rossi@waldorfastoria.com, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for writing a review about your recent stay at the Rome Cavalieri Waldorf Astoria. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed the location, hotel and service. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Roberta Rossi Front Office Manager