Ratings based on 135 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rome retreat

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
Had a lovely stay here. Very relaxed helpful staff. Spotlessly clean and well furnished.
5 out of 5
by roel from Atlanta, Ga

Awesome customer service

Posted Jun 15, 2016 on Hotels
The service was awesome!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon, England

A little treasure.

Posted May 25, 2016
You only get what you pay for, so wasn't expecting much. It was a lovely place to stay after a weary day on the busy streets of Rome sightseeing. Good wifi, safe and air conditioning in room. It was in a quiet little courtyard so got a good nights sleep. They couldn't do more for us. Breakfast is 3.50€, you will be lucky to get a cup of coffee in Rome for that price, it was enough to start the day for us.
2 out of 5
by Reda

Very basic hotel

Posted May 15, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel had a really good spot( very central) but it was very basic.... The room floor was cleaned every day however everything else had to be changed every 4 days..... Weird but true....
1 out of 5
by Bethany from U.K.

NOTHING LIKE THE PICTURES

Posted Apr 16, 2016 on Hotels
Absolutely nothing like the pictures, it isn't bright and airy as made out, it's dark and dingey and some rooms only have a skylight! No windows! The first room we were given actually made me cry, we had to stay the night and was located to room 6 the following day, this room was dark, the "patio area" as described was just doors and what can only be described as a cage to keep us in, the air con May aswell not have been there, the shower had a mind of its own, it kept losing control and soaking the bathroom, it also had a leak and would soak the floor every time we showered, the towels and bedding were changed every 4 days! When they wanted to change ours we were still asleep, we took the bedding and they said they would collect the dirty bedding when we left, the dirty bedding was left on the floor until the following day!! The reviews said the man on reception spoke good English, which is untrue, he barely helped with directions, would just highlight the road on the map, which meant nothing to us, he made his own hours up. The location isn't ideal, although close to the colleseum, it's down an alley and we were greated most mornings with urine and sick. The tv had no English channels so meant nothing to us! there's no breakfast included unless you pay €3.50 each and all you get is cereal and a bread roll, There's also a disgusting smell on the courtyard that whafts around constantly!
3 out of 5
by Kate from Evesham

Small hotel near Manzoni Metro Station, just OK!

Posted Apr 15, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is not far from the Manzoni metro station and about a 15 minute walk from the Colloseum. We arrived fairly late in the evening but managed to get into the complex after ringing one of the mobile numbers on the door. Check in took a while and we were shown to our room (Room 3) which was a double. I had requested a single which we explained to the staff, he apologised and arranged for another single bed to be brought into the room within 15 minutes. Room was adequate but the double bed creaked literally everytime you breathed - it was so loud it woke both me and my friend if I moved even slightly during the night. There weren't any Windows in the room, but there was a skylight with a fab blackout blind. Shower had a good pressure, but doors to shower room don't close fully and there is no lock. We asked to leave our bags in the hotel on our last day and were told they would be OK under the table in the lobby and were given a key to get back in the main gates in the afternoon. We got back to the hotel and our bags were not where we left them. It took us about 10 minutes to get though to the owner who came back into the building to speak to us. It turns out our bags had been put back into our room which was now allocated to someone else and their bags had been left in the lobby. Owner was very apologetic but I wouldn't stay again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 10, 2016 on Hotels
It's very close to the colosseum. (about 10-15mins walk) and very close to Manzoni metro station (about 5 mins walk). Hotel staff were very friendly and done their best to help however it's a tiny B&B and very very old. No kettle etc in the rooms, stone flooring in bedroom area which makes it very cold, so make sure to take a slipper with you. Bed waw horrible and it didn't have any duvet just a slim like a duvet thing if it make sense. :) Overall it's ok but I'd personally wouldn't stay there again.
5 out of 5
by Arshad from Birmingham

Close to tourist attractions

Posted Nov 26, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel is close to all tourist attractions, good service, good staff, we really enjoyed our stay in san jouan
5 out of 5
by Ki Hyun from Seoul

Would stay again and again!

Posted Oct 6, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely place! Had a little trouble entering the place (due to heavy security) but the place was quite luxurious inside. The room was very clean and modern and spacious. I would stay here again and again if revisiting Rome. Transportation-wise: very close to Metro and bus station that connects to main area within 20-30 min.
5 out of 5
by john from Sydney

Avoid the crowds but near the best places

Posted Sep 21, 2015 on Hotels
A small B&B that is good value and well located. After a Queen Victoria cruise in the Princess Grill San Jouan was a good change to simple , good value living.