Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton, UK

Friendly, clean B and B

Posted Sep 25, 2015
Arrived late due to flight delay and power cut at FCO. Owner not living at site and had difficulty contacting him, but arrived and checked us in without any problem. Room was clean but quite noisy area. Not too far to walk into city or getting metro at San Giovanni. Generally enjoyed our 3 nights here.
4 out of 5
by Mike from Los Angeles

Nice affordable in Rome.

Posted Sep 17, 2015 on Hotels
My host was very nice and spoke English really well. She was so helpful with any questions I had and I really appreciated it. Thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ireland

nice B&B style hostel

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Everything excellent, only issue with finding the place - there is no large sign, just a small plaque beside a doorbell on the gate, so it took us a few minutes to work it out.
1 out of 5
by Andrew from Toronto, Canada

Not So Roma-ntic

Posted Oct 1, 2013 on Hotels
To start, our "private" bathroom was not attached to our room. Instead we had to cross the kitchen/common area. We literally had to step over someone's tied-up dog to get into our bathroom one of the days. You also need keys to lock/unlock every door. We had 6 keys in total. Don't expect any quick trips to the bathroom in the middle of the night as you'll be trying to figure out which keys open what. The breakfast consists of a few packaged gas-station quality snacks (crackers & cookies). There is also stale cereal and milk but no bowls anywhere. I ate my cornflakes out of a teacup. The proprietors are never there so if you have any issues you're directed to "leave a note" for them to see the next day. They show up sometime in the day to make the bed but will not wash dishes (there is a sign over the sink strongly directing you to wash your own dishes. If you don't wash them, they sit there for days). Our sheets or towels were not changed even once. Our bathroom was so grimy we had to wear flip-flops while showering and there was a strong smell of urine. For the bed, there are 2 flat pillows. The air conditioning described is also very misleading. There is no way to turn on the unit unless you agree to pay an extra fee. It's a small fee but another insult when you are lead to believe it's included in the cost of the room. There's a hospital nearby and ambulances drove by constantly. This was our worst experience in Europe by far.
2 out of 5
by Daniel

Close to attractions, but noisy

Posted Jun 2, 2012 on Hotels
Caty B&B is located fairly central in Rome compared to many other hotels in the same price range. You have a 20-25min walk to get to Colosseum, Forum Romanum etc. If you’re not keen on walking there are buses leaving right outside the gates to the place. It’s a little difficult to find since it’s in the middle of a residential area. The keeper Davide drives a cab as well so he’s normally not there. He provides a cheaper trip to the airport however (40euros compared to 60). It’s a sweet deal since going by train and metro to wherever you want amounts to 15 euros per person. There are some eateries around that area. We even got a free bottle of wine the first night since we liked their local brand and also since they didn’t understand us. Aside from that I would say that the bed is too small lengthwise. Normal length people will find themselves shifting upwards during the night to not hit the frame with their feet. The breakfast is pretty bad with pre-packed things like croissants and biscuits with jam and honey. There’s a communal kitchen where you can have milk and make tea. The main disadvantage with this hotel is the noise at night though. It’s located next to a big road and if you’re going there you will need earplugs or be a heavy sleeper. All in all the place had a pretty good location and taxi service to the airport, but the rest we could’ve lived without.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Australia

Charming and Friendly

Posted Oct 1, 2011
We were very happy with our stay at Caty. We arrived late at night after a delay at the airport and Simone was there waiting for us and was very understanding. We had access to everything we needed - internet, private bathroom, airconditioner, small kitchen with stove top. The place was very secure and about a 10 minute walk to a Metro stop. Our room was cleaned each day and food was provided each day for breakfast. We enjoyed our stay at Caty, Simone was extreamly friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Caty - great b&b but a bit out of the city centre

Posted Sep 23, 2011 on Hotels
A bit difficult to find the hotel so make sure you read up on how to get there. Lovely big room with ensuite. Also had the use of the kitchen in the communal area. Staff were nice and helpful. Towels are not replaced and ensuite bathroom isn't cleaned daily - we stayed 3 nights. Also rubbish wasn't emptied. Bed was made though. We did not realise we'd have to pay in cash which was a bit annoying due to cash withdrawal limits on our debit cards. It's on a busy road and you hear sirens and cars all night - we used earplugs. About a 10 min walk to the nearest metro station. Breakfast was a generous spread of packaged sugary foods! Good to take bits with you on a daily excursion though.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MORENO VALLEY, CA, USA

NOT WHAT I EXPECTED.

Posted Jul 11, 2011
This hotel is not the church that is shown in the picture on the website. It is located in a gated apartment area across the street from the church shown. When we arrived to check in, the manager was not there, and the gates, and all doors were locked. It took an hour to finally catch someone who knew the manager's phone number so we could call him to let us in. The room was nice, and included access to a separate shared kitchen area with stove and refrig. so you could prepare your food. Unfortunately, the room had no dresser or table to put our suitcases on, or our clothes in. There was a small closet to hang up a few things. The breakfast was all packaged snacks. The young man who was managing the rooms, only came once a day, so it was very difficult to arrange taxis, find information, etc. Also, he wanted us to pay cash in Euros for the room. He said he would take a charge card, but it would cost more. The final price was more than the amount quoted on the website. We had internet access for awhile, but on our last 2 days, the connection was cut off, and we could not confirm our flight reservations.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

B& B Caty. Rome

Posted Jun 20, 2011 on Hotels
Excellent location, just away from main centre, good restaurants and a lovely park near by. The owner Simone was very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from London

Great location

Posted Apr 21, 2011
Caty B&B was very accessible, 10 minutes (approx) from the centre and Termini station. 3 buses connected to the main attractions, Colosseo, Fori Imperiali and San Pietro. Very easy to locate, the host was frendly, instructions were clear, the room was clean and we had our indepence. Very simple and accessible, price matched the standard of service. We were very happy to have found this B&B and certanly recommend it to others and possibly rebook it if back to Rome.