Ratings based on 802 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

elegant building

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: close to restaurants and places of interest
Cons: cost of breakfast 30 euros exorbitant drinks at bar very expensive Pillows stained
Location: near shops
spacious room overlooking trees near Borghese gardens Staff helpful
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by Vanessa, Hotel Management
Dear Mrs Gina, Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese. We thank you very much for your kind words pointing out our 'elegant building' as well as the central location. However, we would like to express our sincerest apologies for the pillow stained. At Sofitel Hotels & Resorts, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Kindly allow me to mention that we have aligned our breakfast offering to other five star hotels in the area. Nevertheless please rest assured that I have taken note of your comments and will review these with the F&B Director. We appreciate your sharing your concerns Mrs Gina, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Vanessa Lemonnier Quality Manager Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2017
Amazing hotel overall! Excellent staff and service.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by Vanessa, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. We do our utmost to enchant our guests and we are glad to hear that we have achieved our aim.Your satisfaction is our best reward! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Warm regards. Vanessa Lemonnier Quality Manager Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

4 Star Hotel, IMO, but Fabulous Stay

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: the bed was sooo comfy
Cons: TV, the only English speaking channels were news and CNN kept bugging out, so we had to watch Russia TV. It was pretty funny to hear that angle.
Location: there was a coffee spot, X One Coffee a block away that had yummy lattes & the fruit store across the street from it, had affordable, delicious fruit
This hotel is listed on multiple sites as a 5 star hotel, and for me, the room and facilities aren't posh enough for that rating. I'd rate it a 4*. However, I LOVED this hotel and I had a fabulous stay. I'd easily recommend or return. The Pros: 1. Location. It's a ten minute walk to the Spanish Steps or the Trevi Fountain or the Galleria Borghese, but it is far enough away from the city center that it was restful and quiet. 2. Ambiance. It's an older building, all the rooms are different shapes, the windows are big and open easily...we slept with the window open. It felt like boutique hotel. 3. The Bed. Probably the best bed hotel bed I've ever slept in, (maybe tied with the Four Seasons Las Vegas), but this one was amazing. Lots of down pillows, crisp bed linens. We had a king bed, 4. Connecting rooms. We had a king bed room and our kids had a twin bed room connecting. This was so nice, and I had a tough time finding connecting rooms elsewhere. 5. Service. We didn't need a lot of assistance, but the service was spot on: warm, welcoming and no attitude. The doormen and housekeeping were exceptional. I also made a request prior to arrival and the response was, "yes, and how else can we help you."
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice close to Spanishsteps

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Very nice hotel. Nice restaurant in the 7th floor with view over Room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017 by Vanessa, Hotel Management
Dear guest, What a pleasant feedback to read! We are very glad to hear that you have very much enjoyed your stay all throughout the hotel. We thank you for praising our very nice Boutique hotel and rooftop restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back with our undivided attention. Warm regards. Vanessa Lemonnier Quality Manager Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Brunswick Canada

Walking distance to Vatican City, Colosseum.

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: Location to all historical sites and great shopping and restaurants. Nice clean rooms with all the amenities expected. Nice terrace.
Cons: Parking. But this is a very old city and the small streets and alleyways are part of the charm.
Location: Vatican City, Colosseum, Spanish steps, Pantheon, shops, restaurants, Great location.
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese is a great location for exploring Rome. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to in Rome. There are lots of shops, restaurants, and historical locations near hotel. I would not suggest bringing a car to this locations or anywhere in Rome. We took a taxi to the hotel from the airport for the first 2 days and returned to the airport to pickup rental car for remainder of trip. It was cheaper and easier to take taxi to hotel then try to drive into downtown Rome and find and pay for parking. The hotel has a beautiful rooftop terrace which is a great location for viewing city sky line all the way to Vatican City. Just buy a cappuccino or beer as the terrace restaurant is a little pricey. We were able to find nice restaurants within 10min walking from hotel. We walked to the Colosseum, Vatican City, Pantheon, Spanish steps, and many other Rome locations. My wife and I walked over 40km in 2 days while in Rome and enjoyed every step. We then rented a car and traveled to the Amalfi Coast, Bari, and finally Tuscany.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017 by Vanessa, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We warmly thank you for sharing ‘your very good experience’ on Expedia. We very much enjoyed reading your positive review and your kind words are greatly appreciated. Thank you so much for staying with us! We look forward to your next visit. Sincerely Yours. Vanessa Lemonnier Quality Manager Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Pros: Front desk staff were extremely friendly and helpful
Cons: extra towels
Location: Villa Borghese Garden is within walking distance.
We asked for a room with a window view of Villa Borghese and, lo and behold, got it. We were ecstatic!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great location after long day of shopping

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Quality room and great service.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Shopping and sightseeing
The staff was very friendly and helpful upon checking and checkout. 10 minute walk to Spanish Steps and shopping. Bathroom was super clean love Hermes bath products. Beds was comfortable, sheets great quality and soft. I love staying at this hotel when in Rome.
4 out of 5
by Ahmad

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 18, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Roman Holiday

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Location: Trevi fountain, Spanish Steps, Galleria Borghese all within walking distance.
Great location for our Rome city break. Staff very welcoming and room very comfortable. Unfortunately we were moved twice during our stay, however, we were upgraded on both occasions and ended up in a beautiful suite with the most fabulous view of Rome. The terrace bar has a fantastic (and pricey) cocktail list and again - the view! My only criticism is the lack of coffee facilities in our room, usually there is a Nespresso machine in high end hotels - there was one in the suite but this should be standard. Overall, a most enjoyable holida, in a lovely hotel, with friendly and attentive staff.