Ratings based on 2,821 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hote

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Close to train terminal, friendly staff, kid friendly, clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans, LA

BEST hotel in central Rome!

Posted Jul 19, 2017
I feel so blessed to have chosen this hotel for my week long stay in Rome for multiple reasons!! 1. I am very picky when it comes to where I stay and this hotel was clean and beautiful from the entrance to my room (daily) 2. Hotel staff: AMAZING! Very nice and accommodating. They speak English and we're very helpful with answering all of my questions. (I was even given a European outlet plug to charge my phone since they are different from American outlets) 3. This hotel is literally a 3-5 minute walk from the train/ subway station. Each day I went to a different city (Venice, Naples, and Florence) and it was so nice to walk 2 blocks up and 1 block over to my train each morning! 4. The neighborhood is super safe. Each night my mom and I got back around 1-2am after eating dinner and strolling and no one bothered us except nice men trying to sell items (which happens all over Italy). The doorman was always at the door or the receptionist was waiting to unlock the door when we came back. Restaurant directly across the street was really good and the waiters are so nice. The name is Est! Est! Est! There are also other restaurants up down the street and other streets. This is the place to stay people. If I ever return to Rome, I will only be staying at Star Metropole. Beautiful, beautiful hotel. Wish I could've stayed longer! Ciao!! Oh! Purchase a shuttle to and from your hotel. When you first arrive you won't know how to use the termini (train station) to get the the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Very Nice and Great Location

Posted Jul 17, 2017
We stayed twice between June and July 2017. The 1st time we were given a room on the second floor which was nice but on our second stay we were assigned to a 9th floor room. The 9th floor has been updated with new bathrooms and bedrooms nicely decorated. I would rate the 9th floor as very nice. Breakfast and location is good. Our only complaint is the service. Staff is not friendly especially front desk. We did not feel welcomed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AW

A unique location

Posted Jul 15, 2017
The location is excellent... the amenities quality is not good... room is spacious (2 adults 2 kids) ... two tvs... staff needs more interaction training...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carlsbad, California

One night in Rome

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: Clean, spacious, friendly staff.
Checked in to the Star Hotels Metropole with my wife and kids during our last night in Italy. We chose it due to its proximity to the Roma Termini train station. We walked directly from the train station to the hotel, barely three blocks, with all our bags and a stroller, no problem. The lobby was large, air conditioned, and clean. The staff all polite and solicitous. The check-in went smoothly, and within minutes we were in our rooms: two adjoining rooms with the door propped open in between. And breakfast included! The next morning we availed ourselves of the breakfast in the downstairs dining room, and we were very pleased. Full "American"-style buffet line available, with eggs and sausage and ham, as well as continental options and fruit, juices, cereals, pastries, cheeses, etc. Plus hot chocolate and coffee on demand from the waitress. A wonderful way to start the day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Nice hotel in good location.

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Location was fine and rooms was nice.
Cons: Gym fairly small and don't use the tour group recommended by the hotel when you check in, they're a scam.
Location: All of the big sites you want to see are nearby, no problem getting around. Buy tickets ahead of time though as the lines can be huge.
We stayed in the family room so our kids had their own place and both rooms were comfortable. Nothing fancy but nice. The location is convenient and you can walk to many touristy places and/or take a subway. Lots of restaurants nearby. No complaints, was a nice stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Great hotel - center city

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Very pleasant stay. Staff couldn't be friendlier or more helpful. Highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient to Termini Station

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Breakfast included in rate
Close to trains, metro lines, and buses. Good breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

The epitome of beauty and kindness

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: I loved the breakfast, room cleanliness, the incredible cappuccinos which were free and far better than any cafe we visited, and the pillow bar!
Cons: Nothing. This place was amazing and worth every penny
Location: The hotel is in a perfect location. Right near the train station, on the line for several tour buses, and blocks from all major sites.
I can't say enough about our experience here. The hotel was incredibly beautiful (especially during the holidays!), had the most stunning breakfast display and delicious cappuccinos (seriously, why can't I make them that good?!); and best of all, had the kindest of staff! I booked this hotel as a getaway for my mother who's health was failing. The staff, without knowing the details, had given my mother "the royal" treatment and made her last few days incredible for her. This meant a lot. I just cannot say enough about how kind the staff are. This is the only hotel in Rome I would ever go to after that last experience. Your staff treated us like family and that meant so much. Equally important though, is the location! The hotel is just walking distance from the train station (which stops at the airport!) and blocks from all major tourist sites. Ideal truly. If for nothing else, book for the cappuccinos, folks. And perhaps the kind staff and substantial breakfast. =).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel has gone downhill

Posted Jun 7, 2017
The hotel staff is very unfriendly and not helpful, was treated like a criminal when trying to get coffee at the bar, was told I needed to buy breakfast to get coffee. Have stay at starhotels in Rome two other times. I will not do it again, there are much better hotels at better prices. I'm done with the poor treatment