Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Monica, CA

too removed from Rome

Posted Jul 26, 2007
The hotel is a little too expensive for what it offers. Unfortunately, the transportation from the hotel to the center of Rome is not convenient and easy. Even the train schedule isn't frequent enough. There aren't any restaurants nearby. The nice thing is that the hotel has a nice outdoor pool and poolside bar. This is hard to find around Rome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Exercise appropriate caution

Posted Jun 13, 2007
Our 17th European country. 3 star hotel fine. Room up to date, balcony, overlooked patio & pool. Lobby, restaurant, patio, pool area, better than expected. BUT ... location not the best. Room broken into first night while dining. Lost $4,500 worth of photo equipment, cell phone, binoculars, jewelry, & personal items. Management was cooperative. Covered meals,calls, & incidentals; moved to larger room (needing new wallpaper & overlooked parking. Informed by clerk Rome is known for pickpockets, robberies, burglaries, especially in Metro subway. Remainder of 5 weeks in Italy, including a later prepaid 4 days in same hotel, were superlative. Best trip ever.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Houston, Tx.

Fabulous restaurant in decor and food.

Posted May 19, 2007
This hotel does need some renovation in certain areas. My room was very nice indeed, lovely bathroom. Not very hot water however. Adequate closet space and dresser for clothes. This hotel is just outside of Rome, which is nice at night if you need peace and quiet from the noisy nightlife of Rome. You can walk 15 minutes to a bus stop or to the train to get you into Rome, and the hotel does also offer a shuttle at designated times to drop you off at a bus depot in Rome. The restaurant is nicely decorated, the food wonderful, and hotel staff were all very helpful and courteous.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Germany, citizen of the U.S.A

Truly Bad Location

Posted Apr 15, 2007
The location is awful. I did try to save money with the hotel and would have not minded the walk to the bus/train station. But it was in a very bad part of town. Running overs sewers grafiti and broken down cars everywhere. Hotel Condition was very bad. Bare wires hanging out of the Walls. Broken glass over fire extinguishers, awful smelling and old bed linenes. So bad it was laughable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Just came back from 3 day stay

Posted Apr 8, 2007
I should have listened to other reviewers. The hotel was way out of from the center of city. On arriving to Termini station from Fuminico, we took Metro B line and got off at Aurelia station. It costed 20 euro for cab ride. Second night, after we learned Cornelia station instead of Aurelia station, we had waited just outside of post office where the shuttle bus was supposed to show up after all days of walking in Vatican City. The shuttle bus never arrived. Listen up fellow Expedia friends, please stay away from this hotel unless you have made your own transportation arrangement. I'd suggest spending extra few dollars to find the one closer to major attraction.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 24, 2006
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Brighton

Perfect Place To Wind Down

Posted Sep 2, 2006
Before booking our trip we had read the reviews written by Expedia travellers. Despite some concerns, we went ahead and chose the Summit. We were more than pleasantly surprised. It's true that the hotel is a way out from the centre of Rome, but the hotel staff are at pains to give you all the information you need to get about. A shuttle bus takes you to the nearest Metro station, or you can order a taxi from reception. We did this a couple of times, costing us less than a tenner to get to the centre of the city. The room was comfortable and very clean, although some of the decoration was patchy. It all added to the Italian flavour. Food at the poolside restaurant was very nice. The menu offers pizza, pasta, meat & fish dishes, and great desserts, all at a comparable price to restaurants in the city. Best of all was the pool, where my 8 year-old daughter and I spent hours cooling off after a long day exploring the historical centre of Rome. I would recommend this hotel to any family as a great base to explore Rome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Hewitt, NJ

Great Pool

Posted Jul 10, 2006
This is a great hotel especially if you're traveling with a family. There's an Olympic sized pool that's nice to dip into after a day of running around Rome. There's also free parking if you have a car. During the summer they set up the restauant by the swimming pool which makes for a beautiful atmosphere. The food was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from UK

Affordable family accomodations

Posted May 3, 2006
On the plus side the service was magnificent and the desk staff spoke much better English than my pitiful Italian. The food was very good and affordable in the hotel restaraunt. Family friendly rooms with cots/extra beds for kids. On the down side, this hotel was a little bit off the beaten path. Nearest bus/train service was 500 meters away down a road without sidewalks or good lighting. Alternatively, they did offer shuttles about every 2 hours to the nearest Metro station and taxi's were available rather cheaply, about E15 to Piazza d Spagna. Our A/C never did work despite maintenance requests, but the nights were cool anyway so it wasn't really a problem.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Not impressed for what should be a 4 star hotel

Posted Apr 18, 2006
Had a wonderful time in Rome but was not really happy to go back to the hotel each night. I don't want this to sound like a rant but... The room was quite small and as someone has already written the beds are indeed hard, the plug sockets were hanging out of the wall and the shower looked like it had been fitted by an electrician and not a plumber(it leaked all over the floor). The walls seem to be made of paper as well, not only could i hear the toilet habits and conversations of the couple next door but also the goings on of the people across the hall. The restaurant is ok if you like a long wait for your food but it is good when it arrives.