Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Rick from Carcavelos

Wonderful Location, Great Apartment

Posted Feb 17, 2016 on Hotels
Not a hotel.....so much more - it is an apartment with 2 separate double bedrooms, kitchen, outside eating area etc. You meet the owner outside, very nice guy, shows you around the apartment, explains where everything is and how to get there. Great location, very comfy, definitely recommend it, especially for 2 couples or a family.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks Rick for your stay and for your review! U have fully undestood the meaning of being in the heart of Rome in a charmy and typical apartment. See u soon. Francesco
3 out of 5
by Jeff from Jacksonville

67 STAIRS! HaHa

Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Hotels
I was aware of "the steps" so it is my fault; however, we were not prepared for 67 steps! 67 tall steps. It was a chore just to get up to the apartment. Once there it was great. But getting there took everything we had. It was 1 bedroom, with a loft bedroom (more steps), 1 bathroom a kitchen, living room and a terrace. The kitchen was not very well equipped so cooking even the basic meals you will have to be creative. The place is in a great location and central to quite a lot that Rome has to offer. The place is quite noisy with street noise and the sirens never ended. The WiFi worked great and we had no issues. The condition of the place is "rustic" and it is well worn. I believe that it needs to be taken off the market for a few months to make repairs to the windows, doors and refresh it overall. It is a great place, but for me, it was just too many stairs (thought my wife and friends were going to kill me for the forced climb everyday.) Once we were in, we dreaded going back out because we knew what waited us when we returned. If you are brave and in excellent shape...go for it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rome stepping up

Posted Sep 29, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely Up 5 flights of stars
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice apartment, great location, reasonable price

Posted May 29, 2015
Pros: Location and price
Cons: child safe locks on the doors to the balcony and on the French windows
Location: All the main tourist attractions are within walking distance
Had a great stay at Terrace Cancelleria, the apartment is in an excellent location, being walking distance from all the main sites. It is 100m from Campo di Fiori, which is a lively piazza so expect to hear the buzz of street noise late into the night and traffic 1st thing in the morning. Apartment is in a maisonette arrangement, with 1 double bedroom on the mezzanine, up a spiral staircase, above the lounge (my 8-year old daughter used this one) and the other double bedroom off the lobby landing; decor is clean and rustic, with exposed timber beams (below head height). Apartment is on the top floor, up steep steps, so expect to be a little out of breath when you eventually get up to the door (there is no lift). Email communications from the landlord Francesco before and during our stay was excellent, as were the reliable airport transfers he arranged for us. We arrived at 11:00hrs and were allowed to leave our bags in the room whilst it was being prepared. The only problem I found being, it is not clear which buzzer you press for the apartment from the street level door but I gave him a call and his friend let us in a 2 minutes later. Francesco arrived later in the afternoon and importantly explained that the hot water boiler switch is right next to the bathroom light switch (in the same fitting); be aware, it looks exactly the same as the light switch (don't switch the boiler off unless you like cold showers).
4 out of 5
by John from France

Great Rome location

Posted Dec 31, 2014 on Hotels
If a central Rome location is important then Terrace Cancelleria is the place, very close to Campo di Fiori and Piazza Navona. However, it is up 4 flights of steep stairs and isn't in perfect condition. It is spacious and well equiped and has a nice street view and a small terrace for outdoor eating - even in the winter!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best location

Posted Apr 13, 2014 on Hotels
Excellent service provided by Francesco in arranging airport transfers. Nothing was too much trouble to be taken care of. The location was central to all the sights of ancient Rome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Everything I Hoped for and More

Posted Mar 23, 2013
Really, the Terrace Cancelleria was a positive experience in every way - easy to get to, wonderfully located and great service from beginning to end. Inside, the apartment was spacious and comfortable (upstairs bed - best I slept in the whole 2 weeks trip, and HUGE, as far as European doubles go). Thank you gentlemen for an excellent experience, in every sense.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The Perfect Stay

Posted Nov 7, 2012
The location was perfect and central to everything. Security was wonderful and the owner was very friendly and helpful with advice and directions. Would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
by Trine from Farum

Super beliggenhed og fantastisk vært

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
Super sød vært. betænksom. lavede guide til os, så vi kunne finde gode steder. Sød og opmærksom. Skaffede transport da vi skulle til lufthavnen. Ikke helt rent. Især var servicet i køkkenet ikke ordentlig vasket, så måtte vaske det selv. Ligesom møblerne på terassen ikke var rengjorte ordentligt. Fantastisk beliggenhed. Stor terasse. Mange trapper op ad smal trappe det skal man være opmærksom på. god plads med to soverum og en opholdsstue
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks Trine for your stay and for your good review. Sometimes I should check better the work of the cleaning staff to have the best service. Hope to have u as my guest again. Francesco
5 out of 5
by Øyvind from Nittedal

Flott beliggenhet

Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
Veldig fornøyd med valget av denne leiligheten. Dette er ikke noe hotell. Fint å kunne lage egen frokost . Fin terrasse. 4 etg. uten heis ikke noe problem for oss. Hyggelig utleier. Litt dumt at oppholdet må betales med kontanter.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Nittedal, thanks for your stay and for your good review. In Expedia/hotels.com we always advertised our way of payment since we are a private apartment. Hope to have u as my guest again. Francesco