Ratings based on 310 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Classic hotel

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: The public areas, decor, grounds and the comfortable beds.
Cons: A smile from the male reception staff would be nice!! Increase hanging space (too shallow to hang dresses), provide some drawer space and a kettle!
Location: 10/ 15 min walk from Metro station Cornelia and another 10/ 15 min into Rome City Centre.
After a slightly dodgy start, the hotel quickly reacted to some concerns I had about my room and assigned me a superior room which gave a view over the lovely grounds. This traditional hotel has superbly decorated public areas with some beautiful sculptures and other artefacts. There was a reasonable selection offered for breakfast and the pastries and bread were divine! The hotel is like an oasis in a busy area on the outskirts of Rome, not too far away from a Metro station (Cornelia).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford

The Best Yet

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: Think I've said most of it, the stunning building, the rooms, the staff, the cleanliness, the breakfast, the location (for me anyway).
Cons: Struggling here really am!!!
Location: Perfect, not slap bang in the middle where its too busy & often too expensive, metro near makes it for me!! Great restaurant nearby, Lo Zio Frankie!
As an experienced traveller who has taken in all the major capitals in Europe & stayed in many hotels, this is by some stretch, the best yet!!! A perfect location for me, outside the centre but near the Vatican, two metro stations close by to allow easy unhindered access to the hub of Rome & all the historic sights. On arrival, you enter up the tree lined drive, beautifully lit up at night & you wonder, as the grand building of the Church Palace appears, is this as good as it looks? Well, on entering the hotels foyer, you're greeted by 4 star luxury, tastefully decorated in dark marble style with artefacts in abundance. The first appearance is jaw dropping, am I really staying here? I've read several negative posts regards hard beds, stuffy rooms, poor internet, even small pillows, well I didn't experience ANY of this. All good here, super choice for breakfast with the staff friendly, cleanliness excellent, if I ever return to Rome, this will definitely be my one & only choice, how could it not??? Perfect, it really is!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2016 by Silvia Solano, Guest Relation Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Tim Thanks for your Amazing review and for having shared the atmosphere we breathe in our hotel, the elegance and the design of every corner is something we care a lot, together with the attention to details. We are happy you had a nice stay in our hotel and that you will prefer us whenever you decide to visit Rome again! We’ll be pleased to welcome you again and let you enjoy the services we can propose! Kindest Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Secluded hotel from the busy Rome

Posted Aug 2, 2016
The location of this hotel is convenient, especially if you are driving into Rome. We appreciated the free parking. We were there during the hottest summer days and the air conditioning was struggling to keep us cool.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2016
The rooms were very clean. Hotel staff at the front desk and bar were very nice. Hotel staff in the breakfast area were extremely rude. Need to lean customer service. Did not like the Halloween like decorated lobby. Looks kind of spooky.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel ok

Posted May 26, 2016
Pros: The bar area.
Cons: The rooms
Location: The location was in the suberbs and not in a nice area.
Hotel is in nice grounds but its location is not ideal for a city break. Although close to the metro it was a little too far for us to travel everyday of our trip to see the sights. The standard room was small and needed a facelift.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 6, 2016
Pros: the location was great and the treatment from trhe staff met my expections
Cons: the TV be able converted to English when needed
Location: the bus and metro were all nearby..Which made it easter to get around
the staff was ery friently and helpful. The service to the airport was excellent.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Good location / Incredibly poor hotel standards

Posted Nov 6, 2015
Pros: - Breakfast was good - Hotel lobby/grounds nice
Cons: -Hotel staff attitude -Room cleanliness
Location: Good location to nearby metro. Would not recommend being out in this area in the late hours - unsafe feeling.
For those potentially looking to book this hotel, I would strongly advise against for following reasons - - Hotel staff rude and unable to deal with simple requests (no ironing facilities, room cleanliness) - Rooms were very very dirty. Small insects found in corners (pictures will be uploaded). Staff then attempted to cover mould with paint when we left room rather than clean mould (clearly visible). - Bathrooms dirty / broken tiles / weak shower - Room size small (little room for big luggage) Despite the above, the lobby and grounds of the hotel are very nice although do not let the professional photos convince you into booking. The rooms shown are nothing like the rooms you will be given.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel, stunning surroundings.

Posted Oct 11, 2015
For a 4 star, the bathroom was tired and the beds really hard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire

The Hotel is beautiful on the inside and out!

Posted Oct 4, 2015
Cons: Room could have been slightly bigger, as was a delux double, and would have been nice to have a number of English speaking Television channels
Location: The location of the hotel wasn't great, however the metro isn't far, and it was easy to catch taxis.
From the moment we arrived we were blown away at how pretty and well kept the hotel and grounds were! Staff were all extremely friendly and helpful! Breakfast was filled with many choices from cakes to bacon and eggs!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Posted Sep 19, 2015
This hotel is indeed a palace, set in its own beautiful grounds. You have to take the Metro to Cornelia Station on Line A and walk the short distance from the station to the hotel. The accommodation and breakfast are excellent. It is extremely good value for money. (It even includes a church within its amenities.) My only niggle is that the tiles in the shower could be cleaned a little bit better. Overall, I do not hesitate to recommend it.