Ratings based on 432 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from montreal

No-frills hotel with all the important amenities

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: Awesome rooftop Nice rooms
Cons: Pool on roof
Location: Close to train station
No-frills hotel All the important amenities Awesome terrace on the roof with amazing views Only thing missing was a rooftop pool!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Great hotel, if only more central!

Posted Jul 23, 2016
As part of our honeymoon, we stayed for 3 nights at the Independent Hotel Rome. We had booked the classic double room but on arrival, the greeting was lovely and welcoming and the staff acknowledged that we were on our honeymoon. As a result, they had upgraded our room and also included a complimentary bottle of red wine for us to enjoy to celebrate us staying with the hotel as part of the honeymoon (with a nice note included). The hotel was in a great location to the station, just a few minutes walk away. It was however, at least a 30 minute walk to any kind of Rome tourist attraction (which were the closer ones!). However, the hop on hop off bus stopped only a few streets away and as we bought the Roma Card, this meant that we could get back to the hotel relatively easy. The terrace view where we had breakfast, had views of the city, and the selection of food at breakfast was very good. Service here at breakfast was good. Of an evening, you could also enjoy the night-time view over the Rome, which had a few nice views. The minibar in the fridge was also complimentary, (except for the alcohol) although we would have thought that this would have been updated each time the rooms were cleaned. Would definitely choose to stay here again and recommend.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Super lækkert morgen mad, fantastisk tagterrasse hvor man kan nyde noget koldt at drikke om aften, og samtidig få en fantastisk udsigt ud over Rom
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Schönes zentral gelegenes Hotel mit einem schönen Blick von der Dachterrasse
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Excellent hotel.

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: The roof terrace and the very relaxed atmosphere.
Cons: Cant think of anything.
Location: We purchased a two day bus ticket which allowed us to tour around the main sites of interest choosing when and where to get off and back on again.
We stayed three nights. On arrival we were greeted by a very helpful and cheerful receptionist and were offered a free room upgrade. The location was conveniently situated close to the train station and its central position made accessing the main sites of interest easy. The hotel was modern, clean and stylish. We loved having breakfast on the roof terrace and relaxing there early in the evening before dining out. All of the staff were excellent and couldn't have been more welcoming or helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Hotel was good, location is not the best as close to train station - but easy to get to taxi stand and metro. Hotel is below 4-star quality though - breakfast buffet is rather poor quality and while they say on arrival the water in the room is free, it is not replenished for free.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dunfermline

A lovely hotel, good location

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Pros: Liked that the hotel was clean, comfortable and central. Staff very welcoming.
Cons: Everything was fine.
Location: Great location for site seeing. Hotel close to the main station. Metro easy to use. Plenty shops and cafes nearby.
My husband and I were there for 3 days to celebrate my 'special' birthday and were very happy with our choice of hotel. Friendly staff and good service. Lovely views of the city from the rooftop bar/restaurant. Great breakfast. Our spacious modern room was spotless and comfortable and had all the facilities we needed. The hotel is close to the main station, great for the metro and we felt very safe wandering about in the area. It was a great choice, and Rome was amazing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2016 by The Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mrs Agnes, thanks for the review and for choosing The Independent Hotel to celebrate your special occasion. We are really happy to read good news from you regarding your stay with us. We really hope to have the opportunity to see you again. Best regards
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Sehr freundliches und zuvorkommendes Personal. Im achten Stock auf der Terrasse super Ausblick.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2016 by The Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thanks for the review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the hotel, especially the roof terrace and the staff. We hope to see you again Best regards
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Traumhaft

Posted Jun 8, 2016
Wunderschöner Aufenthalt, tolles Service, nette Mitarbeiter, Dachterrasse ist traumhaft
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2016 by The Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Lieber Gast, Vielen Dank für diese Bewertung. Wir freuen uns, dass Sie alle unsere Dienstleistungen genossen. Wir hoffen, dass Sie wieder zu sehen. Gruß
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great hotel with superb staff!

Posted Jun 8, 2016
Pros: Staff and cleanliness
Cons: elevator
Had a great stay at the Independent! Staff are super helpful and location is key as you can walk to all destinations. Fantastic views of Rome from their rooftop terrace.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 12, 2016 by The Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mr Vik, thanks for writing this review and for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Of course we would be happy to see you again. Best regard