Ratings based on 75 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Super Nice Hotel

Posted Dec 27, 2016
The hotel is strategically located in the city center of Rome. I only need 6-8 minutes walk from Rome Termini Station. I booked this hotel in last-minute as I arrived in Rome. It was 11pm and my book went through. They helped me with late check-in really smooth. Everything is fast yet comfortable. I got super nice room for my stay. Everything is neat and clean. I had a great experience there. The staff also helped me navigate Rome through map they provided for me.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No like localitation

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Even is close to the Station around is not nice. The entrance look wear and acarie when you get.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Hotel close to main attractions

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Location, close to main train terminal
Cons: No safe or coffee making facilities in room, had to cross the road for breakfast
Location: Close to main train terminal
Good hotel within walking distance of main attractions, hotel staff friendly and helpful
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what I asked for.

Posted Aug 31, 2016
The hotel did not provide what I asked for which was a double bed and 2 singles. Instead they gave me accommodation behind the building with a kitchenette, 2 singles and an uncomfortable pull out couch bed. The reason they gave me this room was because I have a small pet and they will not have small pets close to other guests. The small apartment had no screens and therefore was infested by mosquitos.Obviously they had no other rooms to offer so we left the hotel and were not refunded.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Delaware

Didn't get the room I paid for!

Posted May 2, 2016
The hotel has some perks, like location close to train station, good food nearby, but the problem we had was that we paid for a private bathroom en-suite. Shared bathrooms are quite common in Rome hotels so we made sure we paid extra to get private. Our bathroom was private (which means no one else shared it) but we had to walk out in the hallway in front of kitchen/dining to get to the bathroom, unlock and lock it every time we use. There goes the privacy!!! Esp with a child, you are now stuck in the hallway or bathroom while your kid is using it as we can't send the kid alone out and he is not independent. We taled to front desk who didn't believe it's an issue and told us, "this is what a private bathroom is". This made it a disappointing experience. Otherwise, the hotel is OK.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cornwall

Family room close to everything.

Posted Feb 19, 2016
It was nicely decorated and the beds were very comfortable. The hotel is a short walk from the main bus and train terminal which was handy for getting around Rome. Great value for money, we would recommend it to any family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota, US

Great staff

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Pros: Location, staff,price
The Place was perfect for our needs. The location was a few minute walk from Termini station. All the sites were accessible on foot, if you don't mind a bit of a walk. The staff, Giorgio and James(sorry if his name is not James) took ample time explaining anything we needed to know, they were great. The price was nice. It is a budget hotel, but perfect for me as I wanted a decent bed and good location. I will be staying at "The Place" again. Thanks
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Generally Good Hotel

Posted Oct 30, 2015
Pros: clean
Cons: Staff to be more friendly and speak a little English. It should be rated more of a guest house than hotel
Location: 30 minutes walk from central attractions.
A clean hotel - very quiet and our rooms were either side of the small reception desk. Very clean and quite good. All staff did not speak hardly any English except Giorgio who really tried to help with anything. It was not clear if breakfast was included which it was and was very adequate - lovely croissants. A good basic hotel but if better English was spoken it would have been rated very good. Giorgio was an excellent member of staff who went out of his way to help and understand.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Nice but area a little dodgy

Posted Sep 16, 2015
Pros: Giorgio
Cons: Signage
Location: Not too many good restaurants nearby. Better to get Giorgio's recommendations.
Giorgio on reception is the best thing about the place. We had a four person room, which was actually across the road. Hotel is actually a couple of groups of rooms with a vestibule. Very hard to find, but they were tearing up the road when we were there, so access was difficult. Comfortable room, small though, as is common in older buildings. Service was excellent and breakfast was nice, very Roman. If you walk the wrong way at night it is a little sketchy, but not too bad. Walked to the Colosseum, but taxi back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel close to Termini station

Posted May 12, 2015
Giorgio was a great receptionist who helped carry our heavy bags up 3 flights of stairs and smiled through it! You can really tell that he takes pleasure in his job and loves to help visitors anyway that he can. He was also extremely accommodating along with the rest of the staff. When Giorgio wasn't there the next morning, the other receptionist let us use their printer to print our train tickets which was very sweet of her! Another great thing about the staff was that they all spoke english fairly well. The breakfast was delicious and the self-serving latte vending machine was quick and convenient! The lovely woman who cleaned our room also served us the breakfast... Overall a very homey experience. I would definitely recommend The Place to anyone visiting Rome for the first time. The only semi-negative thing I can say is that if you are staying by yourself, be aware of the bathroom door lock since ours locked from the inside and couldn't open it from the outside. But other than that, very happy with our stay!