Ratings based on 696 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good Location

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Easy walk to the ancient Rome sites. Several cheap places to eat in 400m. Others not much further away. Really helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boulder, Colorado

It is a small nice hotel at a great local location

Posted Dec 1, 2016
It was a great time. Hotel is in a perfect spot and staff is nice and helpful. It is clean and pleasant place to stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A hotel in the midst of attractions

Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Hotels
I enjoyed trips to Vatican City, Naples, Pompeii, to name a few. The colosseum was within walking distance as were a few other famous RomanA
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Knoxville, TN, USA

20 day stay at Hotel Tirreno

Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Location, friendly helpful staff and wonderful breakfast with great service.
Typical small economy European hotel. Small room but a great price. It was clean and comfortable and close to everything. The staff were so friendly and helpful and the continental breakfast was more then we could have asked for. Great coffee and plenty to eat and included in the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Great hotel in central area.

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: 4th floor rooms have private terrace and its lovely to sit outside and listen to church bells ringing. Small fridge with snacks and drinks to buy.
Cons: Kettle and cups in room would be really good.
Location: Fantastic location, bars and restaurants on same street, food and drink amazing and really reasonable prices. Bus stops round the corner.
Loved the hotel, fantastic location, round corner from bus stop and tour bus stops. Brilliant bars and restaurants on same street. Clean rooms, outdoor terrace garden area. Friendly staff. Continental breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Tirreno Hotel October 2016

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Good location
Cons: First room we had - toilet wouldn't flush properly. We changed rooms on day 2.
Location: Short walk to hop on/off bus.
Comfortable and clean hotel but somewhat dated. Breakfast is basic but adequate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hartford, CT

Safe, clean, reliable older hotel -no frills.

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness, sense of safety, breakfast, location.
Cons: European style idea of single person gets a twin bed, smallish room - not much else not to like.
Location: Tons: main train terminal, metro stations, walking dist to Colosium, major basilica is right a the square, great restaurants, shopping - all of Rome!
This is an excellent hotel for travelers on a budget who want to be near the Termini station. This was my first time in Rome. I am a single woman traveler who has a lot of experience in America not Europe. I can say that unless you have lot of money for cabs or extra help, you will want to be near the Termini train station. It is a key place but not an upscale area. This area however is quickly coming up and is getting trendy. I personally like the fact that it is not ritzy and has much more local flavor- the hotel fits that description too. It seems to be run by a family. The desk clerks are a series of kindly older men. Their wives run the restaurant for breakfast (no other meals). They will make you a cappuccino at the bar in the lobby, but otherwise I see no purpose for the bar. They were very helpful getting me a different mattress (softer) and extra pillows. Same with direction; a steady and reliable with 24 hour desk. The room was as spare as a monk's cell but clean as a whistle. The attached bathroom was all tile with modern fixtures. The plumbing worked great, water pressure fine, the works. Even a bidet. (if you have to ask- you haven't used one before!) The breakfast consisted of many choices of cold cereal, pastries, breads, cold-cuts, juices and coffee. A very complete continental buffet. No eggs. (Eggs are an American concept.). Main plaza has major streets on all sides with access to all of Rome , transportation, major basilicas.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 27, 2016 on Hotels
Reception staff was friendly and accommodating. We were given a "breakfast to go" for our early morning trip before the cafeteria opens. Location was great. Thank you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Convenient Location

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Location: Location very convenient. 5 minute walk to Colosseum and Train Station. Grocery store, Pharmacist and restaurants close by
Hotel was in a nice little laneway with 4 traditional style Italian restaurants within 100 meters. We tried them all and they were all great. Hotel is a little tired and in need of updating. That said if you don't intend on spending much time in your room then this should not bother you. It is not a long way to all major attractions. Would definitely recommend but would give a higher rating in the place had a fresh coat of paint and new furniture.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Hotels