Ratings based on 593 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

A haven of peace and calm.

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Our second stay in this hotel. A former convent in the Trastevere area of narrow cobbled streets. Lots of bars and restaurants close by. Easy walking distance to all the areas of interest. Great views over Rome from the roof top terrace. Staff very helpfully.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautifully restored convent in quiet neighborhood

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: The staff, the architecture, the amenities, everything.
We really felt lucky to have found this hotel. From the minute we walked in, the staff was tending to us beautifully, welcoming us, taking our bags, being extremely nice and friendly....They also automatically upgraded us to a King Suite. The room was lovely, the bathroom AMAZING, and we loved the hotel's rooftop terrace with a 360 degree view of Rome. We had a free welcome glass of wine and enjoyed the huge buffet for breakfast with all its variety of hot and cold items, cheeses, meats, white bean salads.....The staff was excellent all around, and we hope to stay there again someday! It was pretty incredible to be staying in an old convent that looked like a palace. There is even a small chapel attached to the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto Ontario Canada

Great location in Tratesvere!

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: Great location in Tratesvere - minutes walk to all shops, restaurants, main tourist attractions, etc.
Cons: The pillows. They were about 3" thick & hard as bricks. I actually rolled up my down filled coat & used that as a pillow instead. WIFI was weak.
Location: Amazing location and walking distance to everything. Coliseum/Forum, etc is about a 30 minute walk & many restaurants as the foot of the hill.
Great location. If taking the train, would recommend taking a taxi (about $10-$12euros) as the hotel is on a slight hill, cobble stone street. With luggage can be a bit challenging. Fernando greeted us upon check in and was very friendly and helpful. The hotel has a lot of character and charm from being converted from a convent. The roof top terrace has an amazing view of Rome. Breakfast buffet was the best we experienced during our stay. Had everything from fresh fruit, eggs, bacon/sausage, cakes, quiche, variety of fresh juice, tea, etc. There was even a section for vegans as well as gluten free bread selection.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Romantic place with awesome breakfasts

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Very pretty, great breakfast, a great view from the roof, and nice restaurants within walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

Good, comfortable hotel in Trastrevere

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: Large comfortable room, quiet location, discrete service.
Cons: The only complaint was that they played music in the morning, in the restaurant.
Location: The location was good and we walked to some of the major attractions in the city.
We stayed for four nights in December and had a great time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bethesda, MD

Quiet luxury hotel in Trastevere

Posted Nov 22, 2016 on Orbitz
Charming former convent beautifully converted to a gracious, comfortable retreat just steps away from the bustling center of Trastevere. Garden courtyard, rooftop view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Front Royal, VA

A tranquil oasis in Trastevere!

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: Being a former convent, with an active chapel still attached to it, it has a charm and beauty you don't see in other hotels.
Cons: The only improvement I could suggest is in regard to the flat panel television in the bedroom, which could have had better cable reception.
Location: Trastevere is a very ancient neighborhood in Rome, walking distance from the Vatican and the historic center of Rome.
As a priest, I've had the good fortune of visiting Rome around 70 times in my 40 years of priesthood, but this is the first time I've stayed at the Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel, and I am so glad I finally discovered this gem in Trastevere! Upon check-in, I was a bit disappointed with my room since it had a window too high for me to see out of, but immediately my concern was addressed, and I was given a terrific room with four windows, and a modern up to date bathroom. The bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever had in a hotel in Europe. Each morning, an extensive breakfast is offered at no extra cost. In addition to typical Italian items, you are offered pancakes with bacon and sausage, along with eggs made three ways, a variety of juices, pastries etc. All areas of the hotel are immaculately clean, including the bedrooms. While there, they were putting up decorations in preparation for Christmas, making the public areas even more attractive than they usually are. The staff, most quite fluent in English, were very helpful and thoughtful. In fact, I was there on my birthday, November 14th, and returned to my room that evening to find a complimentary bottle of wine waiting for me! Though a bit of a walk to the closest public transportation, I found that a taxi ride to almost anywhere I wanted to go, cost between $5 to $12, each way. A unique feature of this hotel is to have a complimentary smart phone provided for free local and long distance phone calls!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Amazing hotel in the heart of Trastevere- walking distance from lots of great bars and restaurants. The area wasn't too touristy and the hotel grounds were beautiful! The breakfast was fantastic as well. Will definitely go again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 14, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Calm Beautiful Historic Property in trendy area

Posted Oct 8, 2016 on Hotels
LOVE this hotel. Calm historic oasis in a fun and friendly area. Rooms are large, property (old nunnery with chapel) is stunning, ample courtyard lovely...just the kind of place we like. Only quibbles would be tepid water and some slowness to courtyard service (breakfast coffee and apetitifs).