Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bit disappointing

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Booked as thought looked beautiful and liked the look of the pool. Event on so were not able to use pool and music was very loud. Room very basic
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Great hotel,Outstanding view from lake view rooms.

Posted Aug 14, 2015
Pros: Everything.
Cons: The pool area seemed a bit forgotten but it was clean and we had it to ourselves most of the time.
Location: Castel Gandolfo town not too far away with its old quarter is nice with some good restaurants and reasonably priced gift shops is worth a look.
We loved this hotel. From room 405 the view is stunning out over the crater lake. The room was really clean as was the bathroom and we could not fault it. The staff were all great and as we had had our bank cards all stolen at a prevbious hotel they were happy for us to stay extra nights while we dealt with our cash flow problem. Really enjoyed this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Unexpected excellence

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Pros: View of the lake
Cons: 'wished A/C was cooler on an extra-ordinarily hot and humid summer like this
Location: Location is a perfect getaway.
I asked for an upgrade to have rooms that have a view of the lake. They obliged, and that made our stay the more perfect. We stayed for a night, but restaurant food was just as excellent at lunch, dinner and breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hookwood, Surrey, UK

Great location but lacking attention to guests

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: Its location
Cons: Attention to people actually staying in your hotel, don't ignore them!
Location: Summer residence of the Popes.Lovely old town with some excellent restaurants.
Clean and well appointed hotel in excellent location but as a normal hotel guest felt that the hotel staff were not interested in us at all, they preferred to concentrate on what is obviously their main business, the use of the hotel as a venue for weddings and other celebrations. At no point were we informed of eating options in their restaurant - because they had a big birthday party on that evening. The rooms were very clean and comfortable but the experience lacked that special something which should have gone with the location of the hotel!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

a disappointment

Posted Oct 22, 2013
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2011 on Hotels
Good for last night before travel home
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

A warm, friendly hotel with breathtaking views

Posted Aug 10, 2007
We hired a car, as we were going to drive to see our cousins several time during our stay. I would recommend car hire as the hotel is fairly isolated, however they operate a courtesy shuttle to Castel Gandolfo station. On the first day we had wonderful meals on the beautiful hotel terrace for lunch and dinner. The restaurant is very good. There's no light lunch or snack menu, though. The buffet breakfasts were very good by Italian standards, with eggs & bacon, fresh fruit, hams, salamis and cheese, breads, croissants, cakes. The swimming pool is lovely, with comfy sunloungers around the pool. If there's a function going on, access could be limited. There are also tables and chairs where you can sit and read. Castel Gandolfo is a sleepy, very pretty village. We also drove to the 'Castelli Romani', the hill towns. Demanding driving, but pretty. Visitors with children could make use of the 'beaches' around the north side of the lake. There are lots of restaurants and snack bars around that side of the lake. The room was pretty, comfortable, acceptable but not particularly well appointed, lacking drawer space and good lighting. It was clean but the floor hadn't been washed, so our feet got dirty. The views, however, over the lake, were sublime. The staff were very helpful and courteous, however they didn't offer us help up the stairs with our cases on arrival, and there isn't a lift. I'm sure we'll go back to the Villa degli Angeli quite soon; it is a special place.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Villa degli angeli castelgandolfo

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Pros: Panorama
Cons: Pulizia nella camera( polvere dappertutto)
Panorama mozzafiato unica nota lieta. Camera sporca e frigo non funzionante.C'è molto di meglio, mi sarei aspettato servizi migliori per un 4 stelle.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Elendig morgenmadsbuffet

Posted Aug 6, 2015
Pros: Beliggenheden
Location: Udsigt ud over den skønne albanosø,
Perfekt beliggenhed, men ikke en 4 stjernet standart. Ikke børnevenlig pool, dårlig betjening på restaurant. Så vælg at spise på en af de mange gode lokale spisesteder.
4 out of 5
by Francesca

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 7, 2014 on Hotels