Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pretty setting

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Nice hotel for staying overnight before flying out next morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel in a nice area.

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Pros: The whole experience was very nice
Cons: The outside could do with a lick of paint.
Booked in nice and easy , receptionist very pleasant and welcoming. The room was very clean and spacious (the cleaners do a very good job). All staff very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thirsk

Handy for coast and New Forest

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Family time - main room with balcony overlooking woodland is delightful. Assistant Manager, Jessica, VERY good at complaint resolution. Thank you. Waiting staff accommodating and happy - dinner was excellent. Breakfast hot & cold buffet was very good. Third stay and we'll be back. Ring hotel to discuss room facilities & outlook - exp. is limited & misleading.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from midlands

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Breakfast, helpful staff
Cons: Soundproofing, room furniture, clock side of bed, better evening menu
Location: Good central position for local attractions
Breakfast good, evening meal disappointing glad it was not full board. Bath in room was not cleaned properly still had long hairs on bath mat when we arrived. During week we stayed bath was never cleaned properly, though rest of room was fine. Room was comfortable especially bed, but would not want to stay in winter as outside wall was very thin, and soundproofing was none existent every sound from next room could be heard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Comfortable

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pleasant stay with very attentive staff, would recommend it to friends. Good food
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from norfolk

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Nice hotel, friendly staff, evening meal really good, uncooked breakfast was not very hot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon

Close to Winchester

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Pros: Staff were all friendly and helpful and its location - close to Winchester. The evening meals were also very tasty.
Cons: I do feel that internally it could do with a new paint job and like most British establishments, the continental breakfasts are minimal.
Stayed here for a 3-night break. Would stay again, but with some reservations.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice people. Hotel looked tired in the inside.

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Restaurant was exceptional. The hotel needs decorating and updating in line with the restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Good value, comfortable bed, quiet room, helpful staf
4 out of 5
by martin

Pleasant, but nothing more

Posted Jun 13, 2017 on Hotels
Our room had been recently refurbished to a high standard. That being said, while it was pleasant and comfortable, we paid extra for a "best available" room and it was really nothing special, small and plain, a standard business-travel-type room. The "king" bed was two twins pushed together and your could feel the ridge between them and the dents in the centre of each twin bed. The area was beautiful and convenient to our travels, and the room very quiet with a pleasant garden view. The greeting by the staff was professional, but not warm. We did not eat in the restaurant or use any other facilities. As we walked down the corridor after going out to dinner (about 9:00 p.m.), we passed a room where a room service tray with dirty dishes and partly-eaten food had been placed in the corridor. It was still there, untouched, when we left the next morning at 10:00 a.m.