Ratings based on 256 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Posted Jan 18, 2018
Sublime experience- hotel was beautiful, staff was amazing, my daughter loved the stable and took classes two of the four days we were there. We were upgraded to a royal suite on the beach, which was spacious, updated and well-appointed. It was the cold weather getaway in a family-friendly, luxurious setting that we needed!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2018 by Lilly, Hotel Management
Dear LJ Thank you for this lovely review. We are so pleased to hear you and your daughter had a marvelous stay with us and that you enjoyed the activities at the stables and your beach front accommodations. Now you know, when the winter becomes grueling, you have somewhere to come home to!! Hopefully we will see you next year. Best Regards, Paula
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine and PA

Sybaritic, sublime and sumptuous

Posted Jan 5, 2018
Reservations with Racquel, Carole and Ashmiel in Concierge, Pat at the Front Desk, Bertram at the Seagrape Terrace and soooo many others made this magnificent property warm, friendly and user friendly for our Family.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2018 by Lilly, Hotel Management
Dear Nora, Thank you for sharing your Half Moon experience. We are pleased to learn that you had a great stay with us and that you encountered warm and friendly service from our staff, in particular, Carole, Cecile Ashmiel, Pat and Betram. We will be sure to share your commendations with them. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Best regards, Paula
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york.

Not feeling irie.

Posted Jan 5, 2018
Hotel and restaurants massively overpriced. Staff not half as friendly and helpful as they were at the Rockhouse in Negrill. Never coming back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2018 by lilly, Hotel Management
Dear Dan, Thank you for sharing your candid feedback about your recent half Moon experience. We are quite disappointed to learn that we did not meet your expectations ant that you found our staff to be unfriendly. We do offer an array of accommodation categories as well as meal plans to choose from that will best fit our guests needs. We are sorry that you were unable to find a suitable choice. Where you did mention you are not likely to return, we do hope you will reconsider and visit us again in the not so distant future. Best regards Paula ,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ

Food prices exorbitant!

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Pros: Pretty much everything except for the foopd prtices.
Cons: More reasonable options for eating at the hotel.
You'll see that I rated the hotel excellent in every category, yet I checked the box indicating that I would not recommend it. The reason is that the price of the food was outrageously high. My wife and I were in one room, and our daughter and her husband were in another. Together, our food bill came to more than $1500 for a five-day stay. And note that we ate two dinners and a lunch away from the hotel. We found the pricing to be unreasonable and recommend that the hotel reevaluate its price structure.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2018 by Lilly, Hotel Management
Dear Robert, Thank you for sharing your vacation experience and your candid feedback. We regret to learn that you have chosen not to recommend us due to the food & beverage prices. We do offer varied meal plan options which may be seen as more cost effective Your comment however, has been duly noted for review by the F&B principals. We are pleased to know that overall you were happy with other aspects of your stay. We do hope you will reconsider a second visit with us Best wishes and Happy New Year. Regards, Paula
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

A few days in the sun

Posted Dec 10, 2017
We spent four nights here in early December 2017. Our junior suite was large and very well appointed. Lots of space at the pools and the beach. Food excellent. Drinks are expensive. We had to wait until an hour after check-in time for our room, but were compensated for this. Will definitely return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2018 by Lilly, Hotel Management
Dear Nick, Thank you for sharing your Half Moon vacation experience. We are pleased to learn that you were satisfied with your Junior Suite accommodations. They are quite delightful and close to the beach. We do apologize for the wait time at check in, there are times where the desired time in which it takes to turn around a room is not met; thank you for your patience. We are happy that you had a great stay with us and that you will be returning. Best regards, Paula
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Great Getaway!

Posted Dec 9, 2017
Pros: Most everything
Cons: I strongly suggest that Half Moon do a better job of cleaning their beaches and removing the floating trash in the water.
Location: Great location, close to the airport and yet secluded.
Wonderful vacation and loved the views from our hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2018 by Lilly, Hotel Management
Dear Andy, Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. Half Moon is very committed to environmental practices and takes pride in being Green Globe certified and being the recipient of many environmental awards. Being on coastal shores, changing weather patterns, and rough seas can see debris coming ashore to our which our beach and environmental team tackles to clear as quickly as possible each day, throughout the day. We do apologize if this process appeared slow in expediting during your stay. We will definitely revisit our efforts and monitor this area closer. We are however, pleased to learn that you enjoyed your overall vacation with us. We do hope to have you visit us again in the not so distant future. Best Regards, Paula
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto

Very noisy

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Pros: The beach
Cons: Customer service
Location: On a beautiful beach
At check in we were given a room right bestie the lobby and bar. The room was lovely except in the evening we realized how noisy it would become. A band started playing till midnight. We could hear the people at the bar and in the room next to us.. we By 10:30 we asked to be moved and were moved to a beautiful quiet room at the far end of the r escort. this ruined our evening. Other wise a very beautiful resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2017 by Lilly, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thank you for your candid feedback. We regret to learn that the location of your accommodation was not to your satisfaction. We are however, pleased that we were able to accommodate you in a suite that best suited your needs. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and delay in getting you settled on your first day. I trust your overall vacation experience with us was delightful. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future. Best regards, Paula
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Check in was disorganized and not the pleasant. Other guests were given “goodie bags” and welcome drinks—not us! We sent quite a while trying to find a place to or
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2017 by Lilly, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thank you for your feedback. We do regret to learn that you found your check to be disorganized and unpleasant. Our process is usually quite seamless and engaging. We do offer a welcome drink to all our guests, we apologize you were missed and will revisit our standard in offering same so as to assure consistency. We no not give out 'goodie bags' to arriving rooms. There are times however, where wedding/incentive groups arrange to have their guest gifts given at this point. This could be where your saw this being offered. We do hope the rest of your vacation experience is going well. Best regards, Paula
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Very nice accommodations

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Pros: Everything, the room, the distance to the beach, the quiet..
Location: Located close to everything in Montego Bay and close enough to Ocho Rios
I checked in and my room was not ready for over two hours. However, after I was given a room, I could not be upset because the room was excellent and made up for the wait. I was also immediately offered a free spa or free dinner because of the wait. So, despite the wait my experience was excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2017 by Lilly, Hotel Management
Dear Rose, Thank you for sharing your Half Moon experience. We sincerely apologize for the wait at check in. We do aim to have our guests roomed as soon as they check in however, unforeseen circumstances can arise resulting in slight delays. We are however, pleased to learn that you enjoyed your accommodations and the good will gestured offered for your patience. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future. Best regards, Paula
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from usa

Great suite, on the beach, with beautiful scenery

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Pros: The ocean view from our suite was terrific, (right on the beach). Old world style in the architecture and commitment to service,
Cons: They need to improve the sound isolation between the rooms.The food was a bit overpriced
Location: The grounds are extensive, with more views. There was not a lot to do, nearby, other than a nearly vacant shopping mall.
We could hear conversations in the adjoining suite (every word, really) which was very distracting and a bit invasive. It made me feel uncomfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 12, 2017 by Lilly, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thank you for your candid feedback. Comments such as yours will only aid us in perfecting our craft and serving you better. We have taken note of the noise disturbance you encountered in the adjoining room. Not sure which accommodation you occupied but it sounds as if it may have been one with an interconnecting door. These rooms, like most interconnecting rooms, have a double doors which minimizes the sounds as well as offers security and privacy. We apologize for the 'loud' neighbours! Notwithstanding, we are pleased to learn you enjoyed your suite's location and décor. We have quite a few exciting off property options to experience near by such as shopping and site-seeing tours. Our Concierge would have been more than happy to arrange this for you; Next time! We trust you had a great stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future. Best, Paula