Ratings based on 946 Verified Reviews

2.3 out of 5
25% of guests recommend
2.4 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis,MN

Not the greatest

Posted Jan 16, 2018
Poor tv reception. Had to call down to the front desk to have the shower head replaced. Breakfast area was a total mess.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Posted Jan 12, 2018
Staff was not friendly. There were only 3 towels in a 4 guest room and no pool towels. I asked for an extra towel and was told no. The hot tub was closed for maintenance and had been for a long time. They had no amenities. Breakfast was a joke. Low water pressure in the bathroom. There were exposed cables running along the halls, very unprofessional looking. It was a very sketchy place. Fire alarm went off in the middle of the night. I wasn't expecting much for the price but I've also gotten much better for the same price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice for 1972

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Pros: Location, near mall with shopping and restaurants. Right off highway.
Cons: Everything - overpriced for conditions!
Location: Movies, restaurants, shopping are within walking distance.
Stayed in a jacuzzi room. Don't think jacuzzi had been cleaned in a while. Bottom of jacuzzi was gritty and bottle of shampoo left on jacuzzi was used. Housekeeping took dirty towels but didn't leave clean ones. No remote for tv when we got to room. TV reception was poor. Parking was bad. Appeared to be several abandoned cars in parking lot and several cars took 2 spaces. Had to park on opposite side of motel and walk around to entrance in -15 degree weather. Breakfast bar had 2 bagels left when I got there at 8:30.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MN

Terrible get away!

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Pros: I didn't like it at all. The service was terrible and the rooms were disgusting.
Cons: First of all, hotel cleanliness! The whole building was dirty. The rooms, the halls, the elevator, the lobby etc. Also the staff, terrible service!
Location: Location is nice cause you are near the Roseville mall and such.
My experience at this hotel was not a good one to say the least. It was not clean at all! Who knows when the last time they actually cleaned that room. Dirt and stains all over the room. The bed had a sheet that was too small (kept coming off at the top), not to mention they sold it as a QUEEN but it was actually a FULL. We had only TWO pillows, one each person. (Old and flat pillows) My back is still sore. I am not one to complain, but really? I couldn't believe it! I will never be staying here again if I don't have to. We both were extremely displeased. They either need to step up their game, or give the appropriate rates for what they are offering! I will not be recommending Norwood Inn to anyone, sad to say. The staff was not nice at all, with that being said I think they could have SMILED and been a lot more welcoming! That could have impacted my stay a lot. They didn't seem to care how my stay was or anything upon check out. I work in the hotel industry so, this was hard for me to see. NOT TO MENTION : they require a $100.00 cash deposit on top of a CC on file that you will be paying for the room with. I was unaware of this being policy (which I have never heard of) and after carrying in all of my bags and what not. I had to carry everything back to my car and go and get cash. Again the man was rude about it. I was overwhelmed with anger at this point. Guest satisfaction is not a priority at Norwood Inn. Disgusted!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great deal for the money

Posted Dec 31, 2017
Pros: It was quiet other than the fridge
Cons: Fix the refrigerator or replace it
Bed was comfy, room was clean, only complaint is the fridge was a little noisy. The breakfast and coffee were good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to mall

Posted Dec 28, 2017
Close to the mall,alot of eatting places. Price not bad for what you get.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 15, 2018 by Sam B, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 28, 2017
Disgusting! Looked like a scary movie, staff very rude!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Don’t Stay Here!

Posted Dec 19, 2017
Absolutely AWFUL experience. I wasn’t expecting the red carpet experience by any means with a budget hotel, but this was atrocious. The pictures online certainly don’t do this place justice — and in the worst way. If it hadn’t already almost 10pm by my time of arrival (with hotels in the area already booked), I would’ve left the place immediately. First off, the room I’d booked WASN’T CLEANED. Bedding was strewn about the bed and the room had bits of trash left from the previous stay. The guy at the front desk shook his head in disgust at the sight, blaming housekeeping for messing up “again” this week. He arranged for another room, which thankfully was clean. I jumped into some swim trunks and headed for the pool and hot tub. There was no sign indicating the pool area — I wouldn’t have known had a couple people not walked out in their suits nearby. The lights were off, the pool was so full that cold water was spilling off the sides, and the hot tub was closed off for maintenance. I’d called ahead a day before to confirm my reservation and availability of the pool/hot tub without a concern raised. With respect to Hollywood, this had the makings of an award-winning horror show. I got back to my room, tried to turn on the TV — NO connection to cable. Tried all inputs and got nothing. Walked to the front desk — around 10:30pm — and there was a line of disgruntled folks raising a number of concerns to the front desk staff. At that point I acknowledged reality and gave up.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Paul, MN

It is what it is

Posted Dec 19, 2017
Pros: Staff, rates
Cons: Beds are a joke. Must have new mattresses. These look and feel as if they were recovered from a garage sale or that they've been there since opening.
Location: Close to Hwy 36 & 35W so quick access to both downtown Mpls & St. Paul. Several restaurants from Red Lobster to Wendy's nearby. Close to Rosedale Mall
I needed a cheap hotel quickly for an emergency and this is exactly what I got. This place is old...really old and you can tell when you walk into the lobby. The elevator was a dead giveaway. Still I thought that the room would be somewhat comfortable and I was right - the chairs were comfortable. The saggy, lumpy mattress let you feel and hear every spring. It was not comfortable in the least which was a HUGE disappointment. I mean one of the main things to do in a hotel is sleep, right? Then we wanted to order food from Davanni's across the street and were told that they do not deliver to the old Red Roof Inn. That let us know that this place was somewhat undesireable in the community as well. Well, it's not all bad. I can say that I've officially stayed at a no tell motel now.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Not worth the savings

Posted Nov 24, 2017
I was over charged, the hotel is extremely dirty. The customers look very shady and the room was dirty and the shower was broken.