Ratings based on 609 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Preston, Lancashire

Good hotel not too far from JFK

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: The Roslyn provides a really good breakfast buffet, both hot and cold food. Coffee and cookies in lobby all day.
Location: Excellent restaurants within easy walking distance. Not too far from Teddy Roosevelt's home at Sagamore.
We chose the Roslyn as it was not too far to drive from JFK and we were exploring Long Island. It's a great little hotel. The room was clean and tidy and a good size. Unfortunately our room was on the ground floor at the back. The 'view' was of a solid soil embankment next to the road, but we were only there a couple of days so it wasn't that important. Our coffee machine didn't work, which we mentioned twice, and which was supposed to have been fixed twice, but wasn't. A minor niggle.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but some tired features.

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Excellent breakfast buffet. Room had a number of live fruit flies and they were also in lobby.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Aug 8, 2016
Nice staff however bar and lounge area filled with gnats had to take our drinks and food to our room to get away from them
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Overpriced room, poor service, such a rip off.

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Full complimentary breakfast, was nice.
Cons: Too many things to just mention a few.
Location: The hotel is located on the side of the road in Roslyn, Long Island, NY. Nothing around really. Roslyn is a little old town, that is quaint, and quiet
DO NOT STAY HERE. IT is a RIP OFF! The place decor is guady, like something out of the disco era. Case and point, there is a life size mirror ball baby elephant in the lobby, that is just out of place. When we arrived, the guy behind the desk was rude. Gave us our key and sent us off to our room, which was located on the first floor by the kitchen, that was just closed off from the rest of the hotel with a dirty looking drape. We proceeded to request a different room. He said he was fully booked. We looked on expedia and it said they had several other rooms to offer. When we told him this, he finally agreed to give us a different room. This time on the third floor. It was an adjoining room. meaning that there was a very thin door between our room and someone else's. We could hear everything they were saying, and they could probably hear us. We didn't get any sleep because they were so loud. Other observations, they advertise high speed internet, which is a complete lie. The internet kept going in and out. I had to use my hotspot to get on a video conference call for work, which ended up costing me more. They also advertise having a business center. This is FALSE. They have one measly computer located in the lobby on a tiny, rickety table, and an old printer next to it. Check out is at noon, the next day at 12:00 pm, as I was exiting the room, I received a call from the front desk to remind me that I was late for check out! I travel a lot, and had never experienced that before
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Average over priced

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Breakfast selection and quality was very good.
Cons: See above comments
The room window was below ground level looking up to a pedestrian side walk. Had to keep the curtains closed at all times for privacy. Many steps at front entrance after arriving and carrying luggage up these steps I discovered a lower parking level with access to an elevator. Should be more soap/shower wash available. Bed was too soft for my comfort. There was no fridge in the room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Boutique Hotel in Rosalyn

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: Uniqueness and breakfast were memorable. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Lots of parking.
Cons: The AC didn't quite function well; fan speed was problematic and a bit noisy.
Location: There were a few good restaurants within walking distance.
Hotel was unique, a "boutique" hotel in the village of Rosalyn. Although a bit dated, rooms were clean and nicely decorated. The staff was attentive and friendly. The breakfast was great, hot items and fresh breakfast choices. An omelette station was available on one morning which was a treat. Coffee and cookies also offered in lobby.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great quick paceful gateway.

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
we stayed for one night and the hotel met my expectation. However, the room was kind of small I expected it to be bigger. The cost of one night was definitely too pricey.
3 out of 5
by louis

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2016 on Hotels
There was an issue with the plumbing and we had dark, brown water coming out of the faucet any time we went to use the water. The water needed to be ran for about 2-5 minutes in order to get clear water. We were very leery to brush our teeth or shower in this water.
5 out of 5
by Ivy from San Fransico


Posted Jul 4, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel should beef up its security. There was no security guard and counter staff was not there in late night when I returned to the hotel. No one was there. I walked right through and not seeing any body. There should be a security guard inside the main lobby.