Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

The room was cold

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: The staff were very helpful and friendly
Cons: The room was not what we expected
Location: The hotel setting is ideal
We booked a superior room which we found cold and had to complain to get the fault rectified. The staff were very helpful and made you feel welcome. The hotel is under new management and they are making every effort to get the hotel up to first class. The food is excellent with a good varied menu which is well presented. The room lacked a welcome pack with all the hotel information.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Ross on Wye

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Pros: Location is ideal for travelling around the area and an ideal base to explore the area
Cons: On suite was a little small
Location: Simmons Yat and the walks In the area are very good
Lovely hotel in the process of having a lot of work done to update it. Grounds were nice and the staff very friendly. Would recommend it for a weekend or long break. The hotel as some nice amenities and the walks in the area are very pretty
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Business stay over

Posted Oct 2, 2015
Just stay the one night, very pleasent experience and one that will happen again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from uk

Manor House in the country with great views

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Pros: Large tidy room with garden view.
Location: Near Ross on Wye and several nat trust locations.
One night stay and evening meal very good.old Manor House but very tidy with large room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Nice hotel, in a quiet location

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Nice hotel in a quiet location. We had a room in the main house. It was very comfortable & clean. A nice bathroom,although an obvious leak showed on the ceiling and could have done with redecoration. Very good food in the hotel restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Very pleasant stay, attentive staff and good food.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Devon

Country Manor House

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Pros: Location was goof for Hereford where we were visiting. Breakfast was okay.
Cons: General decor could be improved. The room we were in could be furnished better.
Location: Located in open countryside. Didn't appear much to do near by.
Put in a ground floor courtyard room away from the main house. Bathroom was a wet room designed for the disabled. Would not have been out of place in a hospital or care home. Main room had electric portable heaters which were ok but bathroom had not been heated. Had to switch on the heated towel radiator to warm up the freezing cold bathroom. Room facilities, although basic, were functional. During the night you could hear the occupant above us everytime they moved about. Unfortunately for us the were up about 6:00 am !!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hants

Tired hotel in beautiful area

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: The breakfast was good and served in a room with lovely countryside views
Cons: The fabric of the hotel needs to be improved and facilities should be available as advertised
Location: Great location for visiting the Wye Valley and Forest of Dean
The booked this hotel looking forward to a relaxing overnight break and a swim in the advertised outdoor pool. Disappointingly the pool was closed for repair and other facilities like a putting green had long disappeared under long grass and weeds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Karl & Sally from Surrey

Dog Friendly Hotel

Posted Oct 13, 2013
Pros: Positive attitude to dogs and quality of the food.
Cons: Bigger bar area and double bed for the room.
Location: Only stayed one night so not applicable.
The hotel was situated in lovely grounds and there was plenty of space to walk our two dogs. The room was spacious enough for both our dogs and the shower etc was fine but it was a shame that there were two single beds instead of one double bed. Dinner and breakfast was of a good standard and our dogs were made to feel very welcome in the bar area. It was very good that we were able to choose from the same menu that was offered to diners eating in the main restaurant. Overall it was a lovely stay and we would stay here again. We would definitely recommend this hotel for dog owners.