Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from reading

Nice looking but don't stay in rooms 1-4

Posted Sep 4, 2017
I stayed at the hotel for a wedding I was attending elsewhere in Ross on wye. Check in was nice and easy and we were givin our room just at the top of the stair case to all the rooms. The bedroom was ok but the bed was noisy and uncomfortable. Any slight movement and the bed would creak very loudly. At night the door to the landing let in a lot of light as the door and frame were so out of line which also kept me up, add in the fact I could hear every one who walked past my door and went up and down the stairs at night with the very noisy floor boards, it didn't make for a very good stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel in lovely grounds, staff very helpful and friendly. Hotel could do with decor update perhaps but it was a very comfortable and pleasant stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wales Uk

Ask if there is a Prom there on your stay! Noisy!

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Nice room apart from the noise
Cons: Honesty when taking bookings
We stayed at this hotel hoping for a nice quiet evening in ou hotel room after a long day out. Unfortunately the staf failed to let us know that there was a school prom on the Friday night that we stayed. The noise was horrendous, I am all for kids having fun but the hotel should have informed us because the sound was so loud in our room that the wardrobe doors were banging. When we complained they did offer to move us but at 9.45pm we felt that it was to much added disruption. The next morning on leaving and time to pay the only thing they said was sorry no mention of a free room in future or money off.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Coventry

Not brilliant for the disabled

Posted May 2, 2017 on Ebookers
Nice traditional hotel but I didn't realise it had no lift. Also, shower was over very high-sided bath - impossible to step in if you have mobility issues. Hotel grounds were very pleasant, and staff seemed nice.
5 out of 5
by Anthony

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good location near centre Ross on Wye

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Immaculate hotel. Lovely features. Ample Car parking. Staff friendly. Good food. Up-graded to Room 6 - a REAL Superior Room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wales

Good restaurant, comfortable hotel

Posted Feb 9, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: Convenient, quiet location
Cons: Softer pillows, bigger bed
Location: Ross on Wye is a historical town
The hotel is conveniently situated near Ross on Wye town yet you feel like you are in the country. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The food was good though very rich. It would have been nice to have a choice of some plainer food as the menu would not suit all tastes. Overall a comfortable stay, though the pillows could have been softer.
1 out of 5
by Chris

Extremely Disappointed!!

Posted Jan 5, 2017 on Hotels
As a frequent visitor to Ross-on-Wye I must say that I was extremely disappointed with my stay at The Chase and I will not return! Surprisingly as you had been recommended as the premier hotel in Ross by local people and businesses from previous visits. Although having read the email notification of the wedding that was taking place, I also took note that I would be located away from the function room where it was taking place and took solace at this fact. I was therefore extremely disappointed and somewhat surprised to be put in a room which was directly above the disco. Whilst appreciating and fully understanding the fact that I was unable to get to my room due to photographs being taken on the stairs, for over an hour, I was extremely disappointed in the room that I was allocated. Due to lack of sleep, from the disco and wedding guests going to various rooms after the wedding finished until the early hours, the second day of my visit to Ross was spoilt especially for my daughter who was too tired and slept some of the afternoon. The bed was also very hard and uncomfortable! With regret, I would be very very hesitant to book another night at The Chase and will instead return to Penyard House or The Kings Head where I have had much better experiences.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient

Posted Dec 15, 2016 on Hotels
Room was tiny n no space to put the bag
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
Terrible service on reception and no wifi signal in room