Ratings based on 131 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Co. Wicklow

Surf break with kids.

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: The rooms are comfortable and the food and wine very satisfactory. Plenty of power in the shower.
Cons: This is nothing to do with the hotel but the local council need to provide better public waste and toilet amenities on such a beautiful beach.
Location: The view from the hotel and room across Rossnowlagh Bay is incredibly beautiful. Donegal has lots to offer, sightseeing, food, bars and hospitality.
What a location. We Took the kids here for a surf break and to compete in a surf rescue competition. Beautiful beach, good waves, crystal clean water and life guards on duty. If you want either a romantic break or a place where you and/or the kids can spend hours in the water doing whatever you do, then this place has got to be on your list. Straight from the water, run up the beach to a comfy hotel room, jacuzzi, steam room, and gourmet dinner. What more need I say. It might not be in everyone's budget but if you can treat yourself to even one night here you won't regret it. You have to be over 18 to use the jacuzzi and steam room which the kids( 13 & 14) weren't pleased about. I don't know if that is an insurance issue or hotel policy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Georgia, USA

Nice Hotel!

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: Nice view of the ocean! Very pretty area to stay and quiet as well.
Location: Good location if you want to be in a quiet area.
Very nice hotel to stay at. Comfortable bed and the room was clean. The breakfast was good as well.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bellissima posizione ma un po vecchio

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Bellissima posizione sul mare ma appare un po vecchio anche nella gestione. Nel complesso però vale la pena andare!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Geneva, Switzerland.

Great location.

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Great location but the restaurant closes really early.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Belfast

Location Location Location

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: The views, the great breakfast and the staff.
Cons: Some of the bathrooms could do with a little updating.
Location: If you're a surfer you'll be in heaven.
The Sandhouse is a great hotel we have visited on many occasions. Most of the rooms look out to the beach and sea ( it's definitely worth paying for a seaview room) The rooms are big and perfectly clean. Breakfast is really good with the beautiful view as a backdrop. All the staff are lovely, very welcoming and helpful. I think it says a lot about the management if you see the same staff year after year. Rossnowlagh is such a beautiful spot and a great base for discovering Donegal and Sligo.
5 out of 5
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 10, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Christian

Trivelig

Posted Jun 8, 2016 on Hotels
Litt slitt hotell, men veldig trivelig betjening i stille og rolige omgivelser. Flott utsikt mot sjøen. God mat.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Posted May 27, 2016
This hotel sits right on one of the prettiest beaches in Ireland. The room and view from it were terrific. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The best part of the hotel though is the food. Probably the best food we had in all of Ireland. We can't wait to go back!
5 out of 5
by robyn

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Stephanie from Melbourne.

amazing views!

Posted Mar 25, 2016 on Hotels
the room was a little bit tired and needed some tlc. the shower was not great. the View was spectactular and the beach was beautiful- and the breakfast was amazing. the decor was charming and cosy. it was a little tricky to find the place and arriving at night would have been difficult.