Ratings based on 519 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Uk

Great location for old town

Posted Aug 21, 2017
We booked a one night stay to break our journey, on the way to Rugen Island. Lovely hotel. Nice big spacious room and bathroom. The beds were very comfortable and everything nice and clean. Our room was at the front and because we had to open the windows (very warm) it was a bit noisy. Other than that we were very happy. Underground car park Euro 15 for the night. We didn't try the breakfast as it was Euro 19 each and we don't have big breakfasts so went to a local bakery for croissants and bacon and egg roll and coffee- cost us Euro 12 for both of us.I All in all a great experience
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by Sonja Höppner, Hotel Management
Dear Alij, thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely Sonja Höppner Guest Relations
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rostock quality

Posted Jan 26, 2017 on Hotels
I have stayed at several hotels in Rostock and this is the best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Great location

Posted Sep 18, 2016
In the heart of the city across the street from the tram line and farmers market.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2016 by Juliane Hemmann, Hotel Management
Dear Paul, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely Juliane Hemmann Steigenberger Hotel Sonne
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great views over Neue Markt.

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Position, room size, views
Cons: Housekeeping, some refurbishment
Location: Old town, shopping, harbour.
Hotel very centrally placed with underground parking available at extra cost. One of two lifts out of order and housekeeping replenishment of consumables had to be prompted twice. Very large comfortable room. Breakfast prohibitively expensive but plenty of bakeries nearby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by Juliane Hemmann | Steigenberger Hotel Sonne, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely Juliane Hemmann Steigenberger Hotel Sonne
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Hotel was 4 star. Choose not to add more. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice midtown hotel , but needs to ramp up

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Nice midtown location, nice facilities .... but you don't wanna sleep there : lumpy , tired feather bedding makes a summernight in those no a/c rooms a nightmare. And the additional bedding in the DeLuxe suite's living room ( a sleeper couch ) makes a good torture bench . You literally sleep on the metal springs with that thin, tired mattress on top. Staff is North-East-German friendly as expected through my experience . And hey, decoraters, get rid of all those awful plastic flower arrangments all over the public areas .... one simple fresh bouquet at the reception would be it .... less is more sometimes, right ?!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Definitely not a Steigenberger!

Posted Jun 8, 2016 on Hotels
This is definitely not worth a Steigenberger Hotel. Although the room was clean and quiet, breakfast was not part of a way above normal rate; not even a coffee maker, not to mention iron or ironing board was included. The free internet disconnected every 15.0 min so that one had to login again several times. And upon my return to the hotel in the evening there was a crowd of smoking right-wing fraternity members in front of the lobby who seemed to have their annual ball at the hotel. Less money can buy you more in this area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted May 25, 2016 on Hotels
Very comfortable; extremely friendly, helpful and courteous staff. Central location, yet peaceful and quiet. We loved it.
5 out of 5
by David from Prestatyn

flying visit to Rostock

Posted Mar 15, 2016 on Hotels
very obliging staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2016 by CJ, Hotel Management
Dear David, thank you for your kind words. It's a pleasure to me to share your feedback with my colleagues. Kind regards Carsten Jaeckel General manager
4 out of 5
by Lesia from Barcelona

The best hotel in Rostock

Posted Mar 13, 2016 on Hotels
My favorite hotel in the city, and surely the best one, but it is getting a bit old, maybe it needs some renovation...
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2016 by CJ, Hotel Management
Dear Lesia, thank you for the evaluation of our hotel. We take your feedback serios and we'd like to welcome you again to Rostock. Kind regards Carsten Jaeckel General manager