Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the center. Despite the name

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Did the family 4 bed option. Good breakfast , beds tolerable. Great location. Despite name ,nobar , only a vending machine
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location.

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Good-sized room, by European standards, for 3 adults. Spacious bathroom. Very clean and modern inside a distinctly period exterior.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlantic Highlands, NJ, USA

Very convenient, nice staff, excellent breakfast

Posted Dec 17, 2015
The staff took care of parking my car, getting me directions and recommending the night watchman tour, which was excellent. I would stay here again, but driving a full size car in this town is a nightmare. Nice Christmas market,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for a family with children...

Posted Sep 12, 2015
We have a 7 and 5 year old. The hotel had a kids corner where kids can play while adults enjoy a couple of drinks. We stayed in an apartment in the attic that sleeps 5 and it was very roomy and clean. Beds were very comfortable, bathroom with shower box as well as bath tub was huge and kitchen well stocked. Great rooftop views out of the little windows around the room. Staff spoke very good English. Breakfast was a nice spread and very reasonable too. Lovely ambience. Only 5 minute walk to the town square. Will definitely return again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Cozy hotel close to the town center

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Cozy and pretty hotel close to Markt Plaz and main streets of the town. The owner was not very happy when I checked in late at night around 11pm due to train delay and refused some of our requests such as providing Wi-Fi ID and password, which was only active for 24 hours and we needed to request every day. Room was cozy and nice, but not air-conditioned.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint and well located

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Right near the central square and shopping street. Restaurants are all German and some Italian, we were able to find vegetarian food nearby. Big plus was underground parking at this hotel for a fee.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Wonderful hotel in city center

Posted Jul 10, 2015
Pros: Quaint, fit in with medieval town, breakfast buffet
Cons: Air conditioning would have been nice
Location: The town itself is THE thing to see! The buildings were either built in the 1400-1500's or were replacements of buildings destroyed during the war.
The hotel itself appears to be recently renovated and is quaint and fits in with the medieval town. The rooms were spacious and the large windows allowed maximum air flow, which was important because it was hot and the hotel has no air conditioning. Our rooms opened onto a balcony with tables and seating. The view of the old city and the surrounding farm land was spectactular and the smell of flowers was pleasant. The breakfast buffet was set up in a medieval room with arched, high ceilings and had everything you could want. If we ever go back to this town, we would most likely stay in this hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

excellent for families

Posted Jun 11, 2015
Pros: The hotel maintains the Black Forest feel yet is very up to date for access, modern facilities, and the extras like a play area.
Cons: nothing
Location: Only a block from the main street and maybe five minute walk to the center of this absolutely beautiful town. Don't miss nightwatchman tour at 8 pm.
Can't say enough good things about this hotel....great location close to the center of Rothenberg, parking onsite, breakfast was terrific, staff was helpful, play area for young children, our room was lovely and spacious for our two college girls.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Germany

Very nice hotel in the centre of Rothenburg

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: Location. Clean and comfortable. Pleasant staff (and sweets at the reception desk).
The Altes Brauhaus is very well located for exploring the ancient walled city of Rothenburg. It has an underground car park (for an extra charge) and very clean, comfortable rooms. Ours was a large family room. It does not do meals in the evening, but is a short walk to a variety of restaurants. Breakfast was very good and the staff were very helpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Awful staff

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Very little apart from the location.
Cons: A change of ownership. Wifi in the room AC Maintenance service for at least the daylight hours.
Location: Irrelevant as there is a beautiful town a little way away with everything you need.
The staff were clearly having a bad day and decided to take it out on me. When I arrived the safe in the room was not working and I asked for it to be fixed. I was told that was not possible, I couldn't move rooms or leave valuables in the hotel safe. When I eventually got the manager to do something she then accused me of breaking the safe which just needed new batteries and being reset. As I say she was in a very bad mood and determined to take it out on somebody. A stand-up row ensued as I insisted that I had done nothing wrong. She never apologised even though she knew she was wrong. A very grumpy old woman and daughter receptionist who really didn't care about any sort of customer service. The room was OK but had old furniture and a hard bed. it was clean though. No AC and the wifi didn't work in the room. There are lots of other hotels in this lovely town and I would advise you to pick one of them unless you want to take a chance on the staff being in a good mood.