Ratings based on 670 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Cons: A/C
Location: Right in the heart of the old town.
Only downside is no air conditioning, but the fan was enough for us. OTW it was a great hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Superb location inside the wall. Reasonable cost.

Posted May 15, 2017
Couldn't ask for a better location - right next to the town square on the main street in the heart of the old town. Building is a bit dated - lol I'm kidding - that's the whole point of Rothenberg, everything is hundreds of years old. Fixtures and fittings were modern.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lugano

Posted May 5, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: Everything
Very friendly staff. Exellent breakfast. Good location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington state, USA

A regal gem

Posted Apr 8, 2017
This was our second stay at The Eisenhut, my third in Roth OdT. From the amazing size of the expansive restaurant, to the meandering floors that house the guest rooms, this place is a wonder. Ancient, immaculate, and generously appointed. All our rooms (we had two this time) have been large and clean, well-lit and comfortable. Everyone is always nice and friendly, though I do want to give a special shout-out to a young lady named Alexandra M., who was especially friendly and helpful, and a great ambassador for a the hotel. I know I will only stay in The Eisenhut for all future visits here (and there will be many!). By the way, the town? If you're reading this review, you've evidently decided to visit. Good. This is Germany at its authentic best.
4 out of 5
by Sam Mak from Hong Kong

Well preserved hotel

Posted Jan 24, 2017 on Hotels
A very old but well preserved hotel, looks like museum inside Wooden floor and stairs that you can feel. Room condition is ok At heart of town, good for shopping and eating, but not near train station, 15 mins walk Many Chinese and Japanese group tours during my stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming, Unique Hotel!

Posted Jan 22, 2017
We spent two nights at this hotel in mid-January. A 3 inch snowfall made the entire town magical. We had the town pretty much to ourselves, so I'd recommend bundling up and visiting this time of year - avoid the huge crowds of tourists. Service was excellent. Décor unique. Buffet breakfast ($13.50 Euros) was very good.
4 out of 5
by Eva

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 18, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 1, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very pleased

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Great location in the middle of town. This is an older building, but it adds to the experience and should be expected in a medieval town. Our room was a good size for the two of us. Staff was very nice and spoke English. Breakfast at the hotel is worth the price. Parking around the hotel is limited and there is a charge.
4 out of 5
by Matthew

Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is at least two buildings. We were put in the guest house across the street. I would have preferred the main building. The hotel feels historic (because it is) with a lot of medieval-feeling swag. Our room was acceptable, though the bathroom was so dated with pink toilets and vanities that I think I heard it listening to disco. But who cares -- we were there to see the town. One peculiar note on the bathroom -- the toilet is wedged between the wall and the tub and I think a large person might have trouble sitting down. The breakfast is worth it. The hotel staff were friendly. They guarded our fragile Christmas ornaments after we checked out and were cheerful.