Ratings based on 640 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming, Unique Hotel!

Posted Jan 22, 2017
We spent two nights at this hotel in mid-January. A 3 inch snowfall made the entire town magical. We had the town pretty much to ourselves, so I'd recommend bundling up and visiting this time of year - avoid the huge crowds of tourists. Service was excellent. Décor unique. Buffet breakfast ($13.50 Euros) was very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very pleased

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Great location in the middle of town. This is an older building, but it adds to the experience and should be expected in a medieval town. Our room was a good size for the two of us. Staff was very nice and spoke English. Breakfast at the hotel is worth the price. Parking around the hotel is limited and there is a charge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent stay in a wonderful little town!

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Pros: I loved the feel of the hotel, it was warm, welcoming and was neat feeling like we were staying in a place that was straight out of a fairy tale.
Cons: I have no complaints, honestly.
Location: The hotel is in the perfect place, right in the city center. You can walk down all the many little streets to discover what lies on the other side.
The hotel was wonderful. Perfectly located, easy to find, and such a cool antique/historical/magical feel to it. The staff was amazing, friendly and so very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel in beautiful medieval town

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Pros: - very fitting for the town you are in: feels very medieval and historic - staff was excellent ! they responded promptly to my email before my stay and followed through with what they said they were going to do. - breakfast buffet was separate, but definitely worth it ! - location was great and room was clean and comfortable. Cons: - not really a con if you go in knowing that you're going to a hotel that has multiple buildings and is very old .......layout of the bathroom was a bit awkward and definitely felt like it needed to be upgraded. Our room specifically seemed a bit more "80's" than medieval....l believe it was because we were in the building across the main building ?? Overall, had a very pleasant stay and would highly recommend to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

.Excellent hotel, with a super friendly and helpfu

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Pros: The staff and the location. Both were excellent
Cons: No comments here, just keep it the way it is!
Location: Directly across from Katie Wolfahrt and the Christmas market. Very close to good restaurants. Less than 5 minutes away.
This is an excellent hotel. It is very conveniently located right across the street from the Christmas market, The staff is super friendly and helpful. We liked it so much that we decided to stay again at the end of our trip
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nevada

Grand hotel in center of Rothenburg

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Wonderful hotel in center of medieval Rothenburg ob der Tauber. Large room, excellent bathroom, comfortable beds. Breakfast was outstanding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth TX

The place to be during the Christmas Market

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: The public areas are very nice. The staff is attentive and knowledgable.
Cons: I was in the building across the street. The room was comfortable and large but was dated in terms of bathroom fixtures and TV.
Location: The Christmas market is all around the hotel. It is in the middle of it all, but at night it is quiet.
Rothenburg ob der Tauber is the Christmas card of Germany with its medieval history. The Hotel Eisenhut is next door to the largest Christmas decoration stores in the town and is in the heart of the Christmas market which begins just before the first Sunday in Advent. Parking is difficult, so book your garage, something I had not done. To drive up to the hotel is challenging during the market time because it is a pedestrian zone, however, there is no other way to reach the hotel. Once there, the bellman took my suitcases and showed me the room. I had left my car in front of the hotel, while we both walked about 3 blocks away to get a parking spot, he waited there while I got the car, got the parking sticker and then parked in the spot he held for me. Three others had tried to get the spot. He got a generous tip of course, but I doubt this level of service exists in many places. The next morning he and other staff people greeted me by name!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
nice pace to visit
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't stay anywhere else

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
We lucked out with this hotel! Incredible location next to Kathe Wolfahrt store and about 50 meters from the amazing Christmas Market! The hotel was a very traditional, slightly creepy, hotel that you would expect to find in the 1940s--totally not Big box hotel feel. Breakfast was delicious as well.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Hotels
A beautiful hotel. Location is centre of old town. Everything is an easy walk