Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice hotel close to Christmas Markets

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: Clean, comfortable beds, updated rooms, bathrooms very clean and nice. Location good, close to market. A 20 minute walk from train station.
Location: Christmas market close! Also take time to walk around the old city wall.
We stayed here for only one night. We loved Rothenberg so much we stayed after check out. The hotel stored our luggage so we could do more site seeing .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great little hotel

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: We had a wonderful meal in the hotel restaurant.
Cons: The timber floors outside the room can be a bit noisy with other guests passing.
Location: Right in the heart of the old city. Must do the Nightwatchman walking tour, starting 8pm infront of the town hall. Brilliant!
Whilst it can be a little awkward to find if driving in, this is a real gem. Renovated in the last few years, all facilities are modern and clean. The staff are brilliant, even helping carry our heavy bags in from the parking garage and up the stairs to our room. Breakfast is substantial with cereals, yoghurts, breads, meats, cheeses, eggs and sausages. Beds were very comfortable, bathroom floor is heated, and the windows open for fresh air if needed. We had a great 2 night stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from NJ

Excellent location in the center of Rothenburg

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: Location, amenities, price, parking at the hotel
Cons: Towels could be a bit thicker.
Location: Explore all the Rothenburg has to offer. Driving in and out of the center of town can be difficult, so this is ideal for exploring on foot.
Finding a reasonable deal in the middle of Rothenburg can be a challenge. The Gasthof Sonne certainly firs the bill and offers a great location for exploring the beautiful town. The complimentary breakfast is ample, the staff friendly and helpful. The rooms have all necessary features. It is recommended to ask for a room overlooking the fronting pedestrian street as these seem a bit bigger. Comfortable and convenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan, US

Nice hotel in the heart of Rothenburg

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: Location in Rothenburg, friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: Location was hard to drive to, but not much to be done considering the construction of the town
Location: Shopping, sight-seeing
Spent a nice mostly passing through but was able to spend a few hours walking around
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago Burbs

great location

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: The sun theme was nicely executed throughout the hotel. The included breakfast was top notch. The food service folk were exceptional.
Cons: There is nothing we can think of.
Location: Too much for a good summary. It's just incredibly beautiful and fun!! A great combo of shopping, walking tour, free musical events and history.
It was located close to the town square where a lot of "action" happens. Rothenburg has an unequaled charm of anywhere that we have been and it was nice to stay in a place that was equal to the charm of the city. Sooooo much to do and see here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overnight in Rothenberg

Posted Apr 28, 2016
Pros: Location, cleanliness and priced right.
Location: Walk the wall and see the Night Watchman Tour.
Visited Rothenberg on an overnight for no other reason than to see the sights. Beautiful interesting city. Hotel location was excellent, centrally located, 5 minute walk to the main square. Price was right, rooms were clean and we enjoyed a very nice meal in the restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cumming, GA

Location and style

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Pros: Location and room
Cons: lacks elevator.
Location: Nearly centered in the city by the old square/market. Rampart, churches and museums are within a 3 minute walk.
Inside the old city wall 30m from square and market place; excellent location. Typical German breakfast included. Triple room was excellent, not large but most functional. Bath was above norm with great shower. Modern, updated, chic. Staff was multilingual and most helpful with recommendations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely stay in Rothenburg

Posted Dec 22, 2015
My husband and I stayed at the Gasthof zur Sonne for one night. The hotel staff was very helpful, walking to where we had parked our rental car to show us how to find the hotel garage. The room was clean and cozy, bathroom looked recently updated. Breakfast was incredible with a selection of hot breakfast, fresh rolls, fruits, juice, cereal, joghurt... Hotel is located very close to the main square where we visited the lovely Christmas market. We are planning to come back in the future and stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Forest Lake, MN

Very nice. close to everything and walk to.

Posted Oct 10, 2015
Pros: Close to everything
Cons: ?
Location: Just perfect for seeing Rothenburg.
Enjoyed our stay. 3rd floor but ok for us. Very nice breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Posted Oct 4, 2015
The location of this hotel is great as it is literally a block away from the main square. They also have a pretty decent selection at breakfast. As for the room quality, it was not as I expected for the price we paid. We were on the second floor and the walls were thin so we can hear our neighbor's conversation and as our room was on the second floor on the main Street where the entrance of the hotel was, I didnt sleep very well due to the noise.