Ratings based on 197 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great little hotel

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: We had a wonderful meal in the hotel restaurant.
Cons: The timber floors outside the room can be a bit noisy with other guests passing.
Location: Right in the heart of the old city. Must do the Nightwatchman walking tour, starting 8pm infront of the town hall. Brilliant!
Whilst it can be a little awkward to find if driving in, this is a real gem. Renovated in the last few years, all facilities are modern and clean. The staff are brilliant, even helping carry our heavy bags in from the parking garage and up the stairs to our room. Breakfast is substantial with cereals, yoghurts, breads, meats, cheeses, eggs and sausages. Beds were very comfortable, bathroom floor is heated, and the windows open for fresh air if needed. We had a great 2 night stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Excellent location in the center of Rothenburg

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: Location, amenities, price, parking at the hotel
Cons: Towels could be a bit thicker.
Location: Explore all the Rothenburg has to offer. Driving in and out of the center of town can be difficult, so this is ideal for exploring on foot.
Finding a reasonable deal in the middle of Rothenburg can be a challenge. The Gasthof Sonne certainly firs the bill and offers a great location for exploring the beautiful town. The complimentary breakfast is ample, the staff friendly and helpful. The rooms have all necessary features. It is recommended to ask for a room overlooking the fronting pedestrian street as these seem a bit bigger. Comfortable and convenient.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

Altstadt Rothenburg

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel in Rothenburg ob der Tauber's Altstadt--the old town, inside the city walls, and on the main street in from the train station. Like most German hotels, the rooms aren't air conditioned, so open windows are the way to cool down at night. However, the hotel overlooks a pedestrian zone, so unless you are trying to go to sleep before the restaurant closes, street noise shouldn't be a problem. The only other drawback, likely shared with most or all of the Altstadt hotels is the lack of an elevator and the fact that the rooms are all on the first (American second) floor or higher. Our travel group loved our stay, and would definitely book again.
3 out of 5
by Oscar

Correcto pendiente de reforma

Posted Aug 25, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel muy bien ubicado a dos minutos andando de la plaza más famosa de Rothemburg. Hotel sin ascensor y le falta una reforma. Pese a ello está limpio y es ideal para estar una noche o dos.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan, US

Nice hotel in the heart of Rothenburg

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: Location in Rothenburg, friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: Location was hard to drive to, but not much to be done considering the construction of the town
Location: Shopping, sight-seeing
Spent a nice mostly passing through but was able to spend a few hours walking around
5 out of 5
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 7, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Zentral gelegen; veraltete Zimmereinrichtung

Posted Aug 4, 2016 on Hotels
Eher kühler Empfang. Wenig Zeit für meine Anliegen. Zimmer sind in die Jahre gekommen. WR die Nacht davor im Radisson in Nürnberg. Beide haben 3***. Im vergleich ist die Sonne eine Alphütte.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 香港

一般的酒店

Posted Jul 31, 2016
有點舊,沒有電梯,要搬行李有些辛苦。 位置較佳,離市中心景點較近。洗漱用品不太足夠,幸好自己有帶備。 早餐選擇不多,只能吃飽。
5 out of 5
by Roger from Katrineholm

Rothenburg

Posted Jul 30, 2016 on Hotels
Underbar liten stad, verkligen värd ett besök. Höjer man blicken mot stadens tak är chansen stor att få se levande storkar.
5 out of 5
by Gert from Kolmården

Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Hotels
Fint läge i en vacker stad